We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribute weekend”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tribute weekend”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Six of us had a great weekend in Dunoon but we had a few problems at the hotel, on the Friday night we had a 1hr 20minute wait for our first course to arrive and then a mix up with the main course, when we complained Dev explained that they were having problems in the kitchen that night and apologised for the long delay, he also gave us a complementary bottle of wine as a good will gesture. If booking go for a sea view as there is a carry out on the main road and it is extremely noisy between 2am and 3am on the Friday and Saturday night we stayed but that is not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view to avoid noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am also grateful to you for your candid feedback. A big thank you for your kind words regarding I made it a priority to share your feedback and let them know of the good service they had provided you. It is refreshing to know that even though you had one bad experience it did not reflect on the staff as a whole which is very encouraging.

I hope you will not let this one unpleasant altercation play on your mind next time you visit Dunoon as I can assure you that this is not the norm here Argyll Hotel. Team Argyll will make every effort to change what wasn’t right during your stay this time.

We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    248
    87
    36
    48
See reviews for
121
429
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the Divas through the decades weekend in March. Both of us had stayed here before. As soon as we checked in, Corinna and Gary made us feel so welcome and were laughing and joking with us. We asked for an ice bucket and glasses for our room and these were brought up within minutes. Johnny was also very helpful and obliging throughout our stay. The food in the hotel is great and plenty of it. The girl singing the Diva songs was fantastic. All the staff are very friendly and nothing is ever any bother to them. Dev was present the 2nd day of our stay and again was very friendly with the guests ensuring they were all having a good time and if there was anything else they needed. This is the 3rd time I've been to this hotel with the same staff and I will definitely be returning. Great hotel, great staff, great prices and an overall great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return.

Warm regards.
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were on a weekend deal and found the staff in this hotel extremely friendly and helpful. The room was at the back looking onto the street and although noisy on the Saturday night, this was not the hotels fault. We found the food provided on the deal of exceptional quality and anything we purchased ourselves food or drink was reasonably priced. The room was also exceptionally clean and the bed was comfortable. Thank you to all the staff especially Janis who was very entertaining.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haze4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Clean and nicely presented hotel, all our rooms where clean and very well presented. Food/drink good and reasonably priced. The management and staff were very accommodating with our groups needs for a secure place to secure our bikes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyHibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.


Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon, and stay with us.

Regards,
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a long drive from home. The key card to our room wouldn't work ( oops ). Not a problem, the general manager ( Dev ) instantly changed our room to a lovely one with views of the Clyde. We honestly had excellent and friendly service from all involved at this hotel. The on site Rio Ristorante is well worth a mention and we strongly recommend a visit or two during your stay. The food was wonderful and the service was friendly and professional. Ronny the restaurant manager and his team were a lovely people and they made us feel so welcome. All food a drinks purchased at the Argyll were very reasonably priced. If you want a very clean, friendly, reasonably priced and well managed hotel, go to the Argyll, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Been outside this hotel in many occasions. First time I have stayed here and was well impressed. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. From the reception to the restaurant cannot be faulted. The menu choice was very good and the food up to a good standard. Only minor grumble that the WiFi wasn't very good on the third floor

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had a lovely short break in this great hotel . The staff were really helpful and pleasant . The food and drink is execellant and really good value . The Rio itallian and Tapas restuarant is well worth a visit you would be mad to miss it

Room Tip: ask for the Tower Room it has great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing