We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster but....”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disaster but....”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked in...fine. Room very nice. Bar.....ordered Stella but it was playing up and fizzing so he substituted Tennants (URGH) .... (Shelby -also behind the bar - was very helpful tho) ... No hot chocolate available ... Things went REALLY bad much later on when I slept on a couch in the foyer due to a room key that didn't open and no night staff HOWEVER the manager was sooooo apologetic and really couldn't have done enough. He ensured me that this was a one off THEREFORE please consider the other reviews cos the location is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Unfortunately i can see you felt this stay with us was not good
i apologise. We will take your comments on board and try to learn for any criticism given.

Looking forward to welcome you back .
Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    245
    85
    36
    47
See reviews for
117
425
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights food was good and management were excellent. Booked a murder mystery weekend Good value for the money. Already booked to go back again in a few month this time for the cowal games in August. This time I look forward to eating in the other restraint rio

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robsterobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return.

Warm regards.

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been to Dunoon many time and have always wanted to stay in The Argyll but never again. After the very good welcome it went down hill. We waited in the lounge till the room was ready we managed to get a drink but waited at least 15 minutes for the cake (that was after 3 times of asking) when I ask for coffee and cake I expect it to arrive together. The room was OK but not very well maintained, the door hit one of the beds when opened. On the Saturday night the noise from the pub opposite kept me awake till 3am. I know this is not the fault of the hotel but we could have been warned. On the Sunday although it was raining, after breakfast we went for a walk till 1.30. on our return we decided to have another go at coffee in the lounge(no cake this time) the lounge was so cold we drank the coffee quickly(when we noticed the open door and commented we were informed, from a none Scot that Scottish people are hardy) We then back to our room for a rest as we had had very little sleep, only to be ousted a 3pm for the room to be cleaned. My friend and I decided to have a good look round. It would have been a comical sight to see two 60+ ladies sprawled on the floor looking through the railings on the top floor at the sea and rain. I could write pages on the neglected paint work,dirty windows, huge cobweb, etc. but the worsted thing was that we were made to feel as though we were an inconvenience. The only good thing about the holiday was the Rio. Here you were treated as if they were really please to see you and the food was great. This hotel is not what I except from a Best Western as I have stayed in many in the USA

Room Tip: Don't have a room without a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,


I am so sorry to read of your experience; however I have to thank you for highlighting the areas in which we have disappointed you.
strengthen the service we can provide to our guest. I do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not the standard experience our guests have, as I am sure you can see we have a very high number of positive reviews.

Kind regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel, very clean and well appointed rooms. Checked in to this hotel having had a very bad experience in another local hotel. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Food is excellent especially in their new Italian restaurant. Would definitely recommend a stay and will return again to this lovely area due to this stay. Well Done!

Room Tip: Stayed in 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woody1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel...great choice of food...very helpful manager and pleasant staff..rio restaurant well worth a visit...rooms are very clean and furnished to a high standard,all at a very reasonable price...will definitely return again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim7659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,


Warm greetings and thank you having chosen BEST WESTERN ARGYLL Dunoon as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members. We are also pleased to receive your valuable feedback .

Looking forward to welcome you back .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Tribute weekend had a great time at the hotel rooms first class service very good food good Karina very nice and helpful nothing any bother will definitely be back very good value for money looking forward to out next weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Party of five for lunch....pushed two tables togeather despite booking in advance..lights were turned off..no diet coke either draft or cans..tap water was DISGUSTING...clearly been left out...soda water was flat so sent that back. slow service...waiter said he didnt work here usually so couldnt understand the menu. Food was decent but took 30 mins to come..no one bothered clearing the table so we didnt get to order desert..waiter had to be asked several times for the bill...couldnt get the chip and pin to work..manager came and also couldnt get it to work...shambles...paid cash and left. Will never go back to this dump. Horrible

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to read of your experience; however I have to thank you for highlighting the areas in which we have disappointed you.

i have spoken to my MOD about your concern. We take on board all of the points you have raised and would like to reassure you that we will use the feedback to strengthen the service we can provide to our guest. I do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not the standard experience our guests have, as I am sure you can see we have a very high number of positive reviews. We pride ourselves on extremely high standards food and delivery of service.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing