We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot weekend”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived here, room was an attic which was fine toilet and shower lovely , only thing to spoil our first night was the room was so hot it was like a sauna , asked twice if possible could we have a fan , no problem we were told its on the way , again we phoned its on the way , when we went to reception to ask again we were told they took it to the wrong room, then told , sorry we don't have any more , other than this we had a good time , we had a barman called Ray who was very helpful , I think in this warm weather the hotel should make sure they have enough fans , especially in these attic rooms which only have a tiny window which only opens about 3 inches

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Unfortunately i can see you felt this stay with us was not as good as it should be stays and for this i apologise. We will take your comments on board and try to learn for any criticism given.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location of the hotel is ideal for the town centre and ferry terminal. Check in was really efficient, and Johnny who checked us in was really friendly and helpful.
Our room (104), was fabulous with a great 4 poster bed and amazing views over the water, there were also plenty of tea and coffee etc. Only one complaint is that it was quite noisy early morning from people in other rooms having showers, flushing toilets etc and it seemed to vibrate through our room.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and friendly waiting staff. I had the vegetarian option and the veggie sausages were some of the best I've tasted, even my non veggie partner tasted them and thought they were really good.
Will definitely stay here again if we return to Dunoon.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We got a very last minute deal via easy breaks.
Check in was quick and helpful.

We booked a table to dine in the restaurant, on arrival we were told there was no table due to a coach party, we then dined in the Rio with full restaurant menu food was nice service good.

We joined the coach party for entertainment, but at 11pm Dev the manager asked us if we required any more draught drinks and we did say no, but at 11;30 my husband had finished his lager. We asked Dev if we could order one more. He refused this request and he and I had words; his manner was quite unprofessional. I do realise that hotel workers work long and very hard shifts, however we were on a break and would have liked a little more flexibility regarding the bar;
Our second evening meal we had to eat in the bar again due to the coach party.

I will say that we had super service from young David and also Jay

Not sure if we will go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priceless_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments. Sorry that we fell below your expectations. We do strive to be the best in the area.

We wish you the best.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Would like to say for a reception to remember The Argyll Hotel in Dunoon.Amazing great food,staff, and sit back Dev will handle it all. As a master of ceremony he is outstanding and cannot do enough for you.All the staff and Dev make you feel welcome and right at home. Also many thanks to Dave who took care of getting all the guests sorted. If you need a limo for wedding ask them to contact Dougie hes a great driver and really go's extra mile. CANNOT PUT IN WORDS HOW GREAT ALL THESE PEOPLE DID.

Room Tip: Every thing is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mick1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The location is great, every staff member had a smile from the cleaner all the way up to the Manager, the room was good and the food was excellent. There was plenty of staff on hand.

No complaints here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WullieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service.

Looking forward to welcome you back .

Kind regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Couldn't of asked for a better few day away from the office. Lovely rooms, food and service.

We brought our bicycles up and although the hotel has no specific bicycle facilities they made space for us in a storage area.

The location is great and I'm positive that the sunshine helped.

I highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank JP02NED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest ,


Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return.

Warm regards.

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Its been a god few years since we last stayed in the Argyll and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms, spotlessly clean, good selection of toiletries and fast wi fi connection. We had a sea view room and we enjoyed ourselves so much we decided to stay another night. We were given a good room rate and were offered an upgraded room but there was nothing wrong with the room we had so declined and stayed put. Breakfast was good with quality produce. On leaving the hotel the manager took our bags to the car - a nice touch. Friendly and attentive staff - will definitely make a return trip later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea facing a bit more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome back .


Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing