We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dreadful hotel, we walked out and didn't stay”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We arrived in Dunoon for a spur of the moment break and were looking for somewhere to stay. It was pouring with rain and this is one of the first hotels you see as you come off the ferry. We decided to go in for lunch and then check in.

We ordered lentil soup (which wasn't cheap). It arrived in a tiny bowl with a HALF a breakfast roll that wasn't fresh. We commented to the waiter that for the price they were charging couldn't we at least have a full roll as and he replied "Aye everyone complains about that" So everyone complains but they dont actually do anything about it? This made us think that it wasn't worth booking in too. I certainly wouldn't give more money to a company not interested in its customers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willow29Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

we stayed for 6 nights at the Great Western Argyll in Dunoon,the hotel was clean & tidy & our room 117 was very spacious-the food could do with improving esp the vegi option which there was only one. But at nite you had kids outside the hotel kicking balls up at the hotel also near by flats then the pub'the crown' started up with loud music esp when live band then they all fell out of the pubs nearby & all gathered outside the hotel on the seats near the bandstand which we over looked so never got any sleep till after 3 then up at 7 to get ready for brekie so came home to get a good nights sleep. Dunoon & surrounding area's are beautifull but that is the BIGGEST fault in the hotel. The night staff did go out to the kids etc but they did'nt tk any notice so think the police should be more involved but we never saw them one night out there & we would have seen & heard them.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessextracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

stayed at the argyll with my hubby as i was here on a tour in glasgow and the hotel was recommended to me by my sister but after checking some of the reviews on tripadvisor i was a bit concerned...............
but when we booked our booking was taken over the phone in a very proffesional manner by one of the staff members
when we got to the hotel it is situated in the town center and the building itself has got a lot of history and is beautiful.
in my opinion the rooms were of a very high standards and food was amazing
had a really nice stay and will definatlely come back if ever back in scotland
ms poojs (us)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend and really enjoyed staying at the Argyll Hotel. The Hotel is situated in he town centre with local buses, taxi and the Cal Mac Ferry all within walking distance. The rooms are very clean, spacious, relaxing, warm and with lovely seaviews. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating and they helped take our luggage to our rooms. The breakfast area is very spacious with a good traditiional scottish breakfast, evening meals were also exceptional. I would recommend any visitors to have a meal in the Hotel's Rio restuarant, which serves italian and spanish food. There was some noisey loiters outside the pub opposite the hotel, but once the hotel manager was informed they police was called and the crowd where moved along.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful, relaxing, luxurious stay, your own getaway in dunoon. We will deifinately be back and wish to thank the staff for all there kindness.

If you do travel to dunoon, I would recommend visiting Benmore gardens, inveraray if you have a car. Otherwise, the geln fairy walk way is a lovely afternoon stroll.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlsRallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I spent three nights here and totally satisfied with pretty room, good service, delicous meal (expacially breakfast) and friendly staff. It brought to me comfortable and relaxation feelings. I'll come back here, surely.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Arrived at hotel very friendly receptionist Ruby. Had a nice meal in the restaurant although badgered by a foreign waiter who made us feel uncomfortable asking about our room number and if we were staying at the hotel. After dinner decided to have a stroll when said foreign waiter aproached us in the street asking how we were going to pay for our wine!! We reiterated we were staying at the hotel and went back in to pay "then, and there" our bar bill !

We noticed that directly over the road a very noisy bar. This was only 7.30pm. I had read a few reviews on tripadvisor but still didnt cotton on. However, we soon found out what the reviews meant. The extremely loud noise, cars roaring around, people screeming outside the chippie and leaving the bar went on until 5.10am! Actually it only stopped when the police intervened.

The continental breakfast area was made up of a few cereals and some juices only. The hot breakfast was cold with pre cooked poached eggs. Chef appeared to be deaf because every time Mary took someones order we could hear it being shouted thru to the kitchen.

This is a hotel to visit in the day for a drink, light bite to take in the view and then leave to be where you get a good nite's sleep.

Must commend Careena too.

I think the hotel has found its 'niche' by hosting Fawlty Towers weekend. However, why pay actors when you have in house staff to host the proceedings at a fraction of the cost.

Be warned!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Argyll Hotel for one of their Murder Mystery Weekends. I must say we had a fabulous time. I have been to a event like this before and they only had the event on the Saturday night, however at the Argyll it was over the Friday & Saturday night and to pass the time during the day the ran a treasure trail which was great. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff and the food was great with plenty of it to. We will defo be going back to one of their other themes and I recommend you do to.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
716 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £63 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing