We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunters Quay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne(Dunoon)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
186
51
21
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
51
21
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunters quaybeautiful hotelanne mariecooked breakfastoriginal featuresferry terminalon arrivaldining roomthree nightslast minute bookinglarge roomother guestssea viewlog firehigh standardevening mealoverlooking the water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We booked for 4 nights and when we arrived we were accused of cancelling 2 nights as we walked in the door. Having assured the "Receptionist" ( from now on I shall refer to her as Sybil (from Fawlty Towers) that we had not cancelled, we were shown to our room. Room Number 3 is small, the bathroom is tiny - do not book this room! We had booked dinner for the first night. On arrival we were told that there was no chef and we would be the only people dining - she would have to cook for us! The dinner that night was very ordinary and cost us £92. The first night, the toilet blocked and would not flush. When we told Sybil she said that it was our fault - we had to leave 5 minutes before flushing the toilet. This, in spite of the fact there were plumbers on the premises on the first evening and the 2nd morning. The rest of the week we dined in other places in Dunoon - mainly because all the doors to the restaurant and lounge were closed each night.
This hotel is absolutely stunning and could be such a fabulous place to stay but was totally ruined by the sheer lack of customer service and understanding. Throughout the week, there no more than 3 couples staying - this, in the middle of July and with the Tall Ships arriving on the Clyde each day. One of the other couples staying had the same treatment from Sybil, telling them that they had booked 3 nights but cancelled to 2.
On check -out, we were again accused of changing our booking and at this point I asked to see the owner. He was utterley charming and could not believe the problems we had encountered. He offered us a free night in the best room in the hotel. There is no way we will be returning to Hunters Quay - this hotel is on the road to closure!
There are obviously problems at Hunters Quay, but if you book the right room and eat elsewhere, then it would be a fabulous place to stay in Argyll. Situated next to the only ferry service still operating from Inverclyde, it is in an ideal spot to stay.

Room Tip: Do not book Room 3
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RydalDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersQuayHotel, Owner at Hunters Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

I am most surprised by this review, as our Manager, Maria is appreciated by our guests. After investigation regarding the reservation, I did discover that the clients were originally offered a choice between the room they stayed in (no. 3) and room no. 2 which is a large twin bedded room. They chose to reserve room no. 3. Admittedly room 3 is not a very big double room, and we did apologise about the problems with the plumbing, and it was dealt with the same day. The building is over 150 years old, and although the plumbing has of course been modernised, the water circuit is a little sluggish, patience is required before re-flushing. I am most surprised by the suggestion that our Manager accused a guest of it being their fault!


The comment about dinner is totally unjustified, the chef was working that night, and made the guests his usual high standard of food. Indeed, this is the very first negative comment we have received since our new chef started, we have had nothing but compliments regarding his cooking!

The dining room was available for dinner on all the nights this client stayed with us, the menu being visible at reception where they took their keys every night. All it required was a simple request 'we'd like to have dinner tonight' and of course we would have been more than happy to reserve them a table.

To resume, if these guests had simply asked to be moved or made any comments about being unhappy with the room or anything else - AT THE TIME (and not when they checked out!) we would of course have been more than happy to move them to another room. They did ask for a room on the first floor because of mobility problems, and room no 2 was available during the whole of their stay. They did not ask, they said nothing until check-out time when of course it was too late to put anything to rights for them. I regret their negative experience, but I repeat, if something is wrong, please say so and ask for something better, if what we have offered is not suitable for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is a small hotel with 10 rooms but our room very spacious with a great sea view. The hotel is spotlessand our room was was well decorated, very clean and nicely furnished. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to provide a great service. The breakfast service offered a good variety and the cooked breakfast was freshly cooked and very generous portions, the black pudding was the best I have ever tasted. We were booked in for dinner for 2 nights and my only quibble was that it was the same menu on both nights and as there were only 4 choices it was a bit limited. Having said that, the dinner on both nights was freshly cooked to order, tasty and nicely presented.
It was our first viist to Dunoon and we enjoyed the gardens at Benmore and the views from Tighnabruaich. We will be back and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We could not have been made more welcome stayed one night, went away for three nights and came back for a couple more nights. we left our car at the hotel which was a bonus. and our room was ready sooner than it should have been.
Will go back again.

Room Tip: a front view over the clyde
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herdy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Position on the waterfront in Marine Parade provides excellent panoramic views.
We stayed in a large well furnished room on the first floor with a large bay window overlooking the water.
Hotel includes a cosy lounge/bar area. Owner & staff are very friendly and courteous.
A hearty Breakfast was included with food of a high quality.
This establishment compares very favourably with four & five star accommodation we have enjoyed throughout Scotland during our 2 week stay.
We are from Australia and while this is our first visit to Scotland we have travelled widely through the USA & Canada and parts of Europe as well as our own country.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask to be shown all available rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntersQuayHotel, Manager at Hunters Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Many thanks for your very nice review. It was lovely having you with us, hope the rest of your trip goes well. Come back and see us next time you are in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just returned from a long weekend in the Hunters Quay hotel. Room was huge, very tastefully furnished and with really outstanding views. Staff and owners were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Not cheap by Dunoon standards but good value nontheless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews