We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property”
Review of Hunters Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely restored property with great views across the Clyde. Stayed with my inlaws and booked two double standard rooms, on arrival we were upgraded to 2 superior rooms with sea views which we were thrilled about as the website had advised that no superior rooms were available on booking. Both rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished and clean. We were offered tea & coffee on arrival which was most welcome after our long drive in the rain. We ate in the restuarant on the first night (Sat) the menu had 3 choices for each course which was fine and the meal was delicious, however on the Sunday evening when we asked to look at the menu we were told that the chef doesn't work on a Sunday which we thought was a bit strange. So we were forced to make a trip out in the pouring rain to eat elsewhere. The next evening we asked to see the menu again, the menu was the same as the Saturday night, which was rather disappointing as this was our anniversary, we ate out again as we didn't really want to eat the same thing again as we didn't like the other choices on the menu. Under the circumstances this hotel should be classed as an excellent B&B which sometimes provides food, which is a shame as this could be a fabulous hotel if it improved the restaurant. The breakfasts were good, although nothing special. The rates we were charged were also the most expensive in Dunoon which would have been well deserved had the restaurant been up to scratch. Also a good 30-40 minute walk outside of Dunoon centre, a lovely walk along the promenade, although not good if the weather is bad.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front and side are superior rooms which are large and have fantastic views. Standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    44
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
127
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the enchanting Hunters Quay hotel in Dunoon. Maria and the staff were so helpful in assisting us with finding transport to local events, reserving our next hotel, and preparing delicious meals in their dining room. Jean-Laurent, the owner, particularly went out of his way to optimize our experience and we can't wait to stay with them again when we visit Argyll!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llf1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

After our disaster at the Port Sonachon Hotel to arrive at this hotel was like entering the Kingdom of Heaven! Great welcome wonderful rooms great views the owner could not do enough for us. Highly recommened would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends, large clean rooms well serviced with good amenities. The breakfast was beautifully cooked. the staff were well organised and friendly. This is one hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We arrived wet, cold and depressed and were immediately offered coffee and a warm welcome. We spent 2 days in the hotel with a group of friends and could not fault the service, quality of food or standard of the rooms. We will definitely use the hotel again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great location, and an impressive B&B. Loads of staff, you never see the same person twice. Lovely room and ensuite. Perfect location for exploring. Breakfast was an event in itself. Not sure I every did get the marmalade!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillmanHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed for one night recently. The hotel is wonderfully located on the sea front right next to the small ferry terminal. Our room was superb with brilliant views overlooking the sea from the big bay window. The hotel itself was bright and clean. The staff were friendly and polite. We decided to book our evening meal in the hotel. The menu, although small was excellent. The only thing we didn't realise was that the hotel was about a half hour walk from the centre of Dunoon. Although the walk was along the seafront and we were able to enjoy the views. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the most expensive but it's big and the view is excellent. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcb156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
961 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Hotel

Property: Hunters Quay Hotel
Address: 247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and marvel at our spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde, Holy Loch, Loch Long and hills beyond. Set in an acre of mature gardens, this beautiful Victorian villa offers luxurious, spacious, individually styled bedrooms. The warmest of welcomes, with the friendly attentive service of the French owner and his local staff ensure a delightful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Quay Dunoon
Hotel Hunters Quay
Hunters Quay Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing