We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and everything else”
Review of Hunters Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Quay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and everything else”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The host welcomed us and carried our bags to our room. The room was huge and extremely well equipped and comfortable with amazing views from the large bay window and the second window. The owner was very helpful and could not do enough for us. We did stay in his best room and it was well worth it. The architecture of the hotel was truly beautiful. Luckily we had good weather so the scenery outside matched the beauty inside. I would only ever stay at this hotel if I manage to go to Dunoon again. The breakfast was cooked to order and also tasty but the evening meal was a joy to behold. The portions of expensive items such as scallops were very generous. They were the best I have ever had and I am well travelled.

Room Tip: I can only advise the most expensive but a word with the owner will tell you all you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    44
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
125
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Westayed for one night in a lovely room overlooking the quayside with fantastic views. The room was spacious,clean and the bed was particularly comfortable. The gardens are pleasant and the rest of the hotel was tastefully decorated and created a relaxing atmosphere.
When we returned from our evening out we were asked what time we would like breakfast and having been advised that 9am would be convenient we retired to bed. When we arrived at the breakfast room at 9am we discovered that there were no free tables and a family group apparently present for a wedding appeared to be occupying all the seating. We were asked to take a seat to wait for a space but offered to return at 9.45, which the staff were pleased to accept. Upon our return we found the wedding group remained installed and and showed no intention of retiring to the lounge or other seating. We had to wai t for seats to be brought for a free table and when the breakfast finally arrived it was well cooked and tasty. We felt the staff could not be held responsible for the bad manners of the other guests, but it would have been better if we could have been offered seating in the evening dining room or other location, and if the proprietor had been presnt to make such decisions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated and appointed. With fantastic views of the Cowal Peninsula, you can imagine it in the days when it was a private house of a rich Glaswegian industrialist.
But there is no customer service, we were told to order dinner in advance at a time to suit them, breakfast too was at a set hour. This contradicted information in the bedroom folder.
The host, receptionist, waitress, barmaid was one person, no other staff seemed to exist. She has little idea of her job. The food at both meals was excellent but the dining room was deserted.

One really feels the hotel has seen far better days in terms of management and service. I fear they will not survive. What a pity.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelaide81Broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A family of five we stayed here to recover from a full-on wedding party the night before. The double room we had, overlooking the quay was so comfortable, so spacious, clean, relaxing and a perfect place to recover. The service friendly, accommodating. And breakfast completely delicious, beautifully cooked and served, could not ask for more. A real bit of luxury.
The only criticism would be breakfast service which was a bit slow, but actually was not a problem for us as we were not in any hurry, and very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Lovely views at the front of the house overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is let down by its staff and poor service. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has stunning views out to the quay and over the sea, however, the service was terrible throughout our stay - almost laughable at times. My Granny used to be the manageress at the Royal Marine Hotel, where we used to always stay when visiting Dunoon. However, we decided we'd have a change and stay at the more 'upmarket' Hunter's Quay Hotel. The attitude of staff really put a dampener on our stay. There was only one member of staff who was dressed casually and wasn't very welcoming. We were asked to order our evening meal as soon as we arrived at lunch time. We asked if we could order later on, but were told we couldn't, without being given a reason. On our return to the hotel in the evening we ordered a bottle of champagne to have before dinner which was put down beside us without anyone asking what the occasion was or offering to open it for us. Hours after placing our order and just before we went through to the dining room (our table was booked for 7.30 but they weren't ready for us until 8pm) my sister was told there was no vegetable soup available. No vegetable soup?! Surely a chef could knock up a vegetable soup in minutes? I could! On entering he dining room it turned out we were the only table dining that evening. The starters of scallops and crab salad followed by mains of steak and lamb were delicious. Sadly the deserts looked and tasted shop bought and my cheese and oatcakes consisted of crackers and bland piece of brie and cheddar. Surely they could have tried to mask the poor quality cheese with some grapes/celery/apple and some chutney...At one point the manager of the hotel came through with a bottle of red wine we'd ordered but he said nothing and again did not offer to pour our wine or ask how our meal was. We were being pushed to order coffee with our deserts but asked if we could have them after our meal in the lounge, to which we were told last coffee orders were at 9.pm so we had to order them then. Following all this we were curtly told at 11.30pm hat the lounge was closed and drinks would no longer be served, leaving no option but to go to bed! It was almost unbelievable. Despite all this, all our rooms were clean and comfortable with great sea views. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannahburnsfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

First thing that hits you is the sickly sweet smell of those "Yankee Candles'" in the entry. Horrid!
Stayed in the top Dunoon side room which was spacious and comfortable. View was ok through a single window. Customer service was a scream! From the morning check-in, we were asked if we were staying in for dinner..we declined to weigh up our options further. Aftre a Comfortable sleep we enjoyed a pleasant breakfast where we were again asked if we would be staying for dinner that night! ( the Fawlty Towers moment). We felt as if we were pressured to eat there and so agreed and were promptly provided with the menu to select our evening meal whilst still munching on our toast! Very weird.
Excitedly the waitress/hostess returned to the kitchen shouting " Charles, we have a dinner tonight!?"
Dinner experience was interesting as my son and I sat alone in the formal dining room with the largest mirror I have ever seen. We sat twiddling our thumbs waiting for someone to offer drinks etc for at least 10 minutes. Food was ok but not fantastic. Very expensive.
Rooms were tidy and clean, however, found a pair of male black Y Fronts behind the wardrobe( obviously flung to their final resting place in a moment of passion...not mine!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilda63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Hunters Quay Hotel stands out on many different levels and we have stayed here on a number of occasions now. The building retains some of the grandeur of old and sits idealy situated across from the Western Ferry Terminal. With breathtaking views at sunset and sunrise you would be advised to ask for front facing rooms. The rooms are large, well furnished and very comfortable. The Owners have done a great job here and put boundless energy and enthusiasm into looking after their guests. Breakfast is a hearty affair and cooked as required, the eggs done perfectly each time. The Hunters Quay Hotel has managed to retain some of the personal touches you would expect from a four star establishment and made our weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a terminal facing room and if you are going into town get the bus, it practically stops outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FigandFiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
950 reviews
2.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Hotel

Property: Hunters Quay Hotel
Address: 247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and marvel at our spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde, Holy Loch, Loch Long and hills beyond. Set in an acre of mature gardens, this beautiful Victorian villa offers luxurious, spacious, individually styled bedrooms. The warmest of welcomes, with the friendly attentive service of the French owner and his local staff ensure a delightful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Quay Dunoon
Hotel Hunters Quay
Hunters Quay Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing