We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with great views”
Review of Hunters Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Quay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great views”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in Castle room with its fantastic views across the Firth of Clyde. The room was large and well furnished with a big 4 poster bed and comfortable sofa and chairs. The large bathroom was well equipped.
We enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfasts each morning but it was a shame that the hotel didn't do evening meals.
The family who run the hotel were friendly and helpful and we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    44
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
47
124
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights last week. It was my first trip to Scotland and we picked this hotel due to its location and convenient distance to places like Loch Lomond.

The hotel itself is about 100 yards from the Dunnon ferry dock which is very convenient after a long drive like ours (from Suffolk!). In terms of its proximity to Dunnon town centre, it's probably a good 30 minute walk along the coastline which is very pretty.

Although the hotel is certainly not luxury, the things you want from a short stay are all present and correct:
- friendly and knowledgeable staff
- good breakfast
- powerful and warm showers
- clean and tidy rooms
- comfy bed

The interior could do with a little upgrading but this didn't really bother us as the place had character. The only (minor) complaints we might have are:
- no restaurant
- the distance to the town centre
- the weird TV menu(!)

Otherwise, we were very satisfied with our stay and particular thanks to Stephen & Maria for their hospitality!

In terms of eating, Ghillies (next door) is pretty decent and further afield... definitely try Creggans Inn (30 mins drive) and the Coylet Inn (20 mins drive). Fyne Ales are also delicious and the brewery is about 35 mins away.

Will be returning if we head back to Scotland in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 'corner' rooms. Sadly we had the smallest room in the hotel due to it bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very pleasant booking experience over the phone, was a last minute booking for a funeral, made to feel very welcome, we arrived to meet friends who were staying at the hotel the night before and we were asked did we want to check in early at 10am as our room was ready instead of after the funeral which was very thoughtful. We stayed in The Thistle Room which is a very large space, nicely decorated, four poster bed, warm, clean. Good value. Fabulous views. In the morning we were fed a great full breakfast and as we looked out the window on to the shore we saw a seal swim by - thanks to the staff we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine-Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I am just back from a two night stay at the Hunters Quay hotel with my mum and we had a wonderful time. The room we were given was very large and comfortable with outstanding views across the water. The room was immaculately clean and the bed linen and towels were like brand new.

We travelled with our dog and Francois was so helpful calling restaurants/pubs in the area to find a dog friendly one and was always available to provide advice of local amenities and walks in the area. On Saturday evening Francois and Maria provided all guests with a complimentary glass of French wine and nibbles in the bar area which allowed all of the guests to relax and chat with each other and the owners while overlooking the beautiful scenery. It was a very nice touch! Also, Francois allowed us to bring our dog down to the bar and mingle with the other guests, which proved the hotel is truly dog friendly. It was a great alternative to a self catering chalet when you have a dog and we will definitely be returning!

Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Emma

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the 'Hunters Quay Hotel' on numerous occassions, I felt that after our last visit I was inspired to write a review!
The hotel is located in the pretty town of Dunoon & is literally a few steps away from the western ferries, providing easy access to many destinations.
The 'Hunters Quay' is set in an elevated position, with far reaching views across the Clyde. The hotel is a traditional build & the finish of the decorative interiors is of a very high standard, with many original features renovated beautifully!
Breakfast is a pleasure, watching the ferries come & go through the large picture windows & depending upon the time of year, you can observe the weather of all seasons whilst eating breakfast!! Breakfast comprises of the usual choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit & juices, varying breads to toast, with butter & jams & for a heartier appetite a full Scottish breakfast.
A traditionally furnished lounge with bar is available to sit & watch the world go by - again with wonderful far reaching views, it's a delight.
We have stayed in many of the hotels bedroom's but on our last visit we had room 4, which is sea facing, again with over large windows, high ceilings & furnished very tastefully. There is an ensuite bathroom which is modern, contemporary & very clean. Tea/coffee making facilities are available.
Housekeeping is first class & 'Margaret' who has been at the hotel ever since we've been visiting, is a delight, her standards are very high & it's always reassuring to find everything so clean & welcoming.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Francois & Maria, who were most hospitable. They were always available & extremely welcoming and were able to offer advice with regards to local attractions, restaurants etc, if required.
If you're planning a visit to Scotland & you're looking for something individual & full of charm, then try the Hunters Quay, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. To sumise it's a beautiful small hotel set in a picturesque location with easy access to many places & stunning scenery. You'll be guaranteed a warm welcome, a little bit of luxury in a relaxing environment!
We traveled as a family of 4, with our 2 daughters & I would recommend that the hotel is suitable for all - "Enjoy"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

On arrival at Hunters quay Hotel we were greeted by Francois and Maria, the Hotel is immaculate and we were privileged to stay in two rooms both over looking the beautiful Holy Loch we were made to feel very much at home and Francois recommended some lovely restaurants to eat in. The breakfast set us up for a busy day touring the magnificent Trossach region, our room was out of this world with fantastic views across the estuary.
Nothing was too much trouble for Francois and Maria and they made our stay so enjoyable.
Thank you Francois and Maria, we definitely would recommend this Hotel in Dunoon.
We will be back!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hunters Quay Hotel was a lovely experience, one of the best on our trip to Scotland, the hotel is a real treasure with warm and friendly hospitality from the staff Francois and Maria, they were so welcoming and catered for our every need, including a lovey breakfast each morning - overlooking the excellent views of the Clyde with the Western Ferry coming and going, even in the morning mist it was great to just be there. We walked in the historic Puck's Glen, a must for keen walkers, close to the ancient Benmore Forest. The lounge of the Hotel is relaxing and a great place to enjoy lovely company and a refreshing drink. Bedroom was out of this world with again great views of the Clyde and the Ferry. Very comfortable and inviting place to stay. Highly recommend. - Jacqui and David Booth - Ironbank Australia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Hotel

Property: Hunters Quay Hotel
Address: 247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and marvel at our spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde, Holy Loch, Loch Long and hills beyond. Set in an acre of mature gardens, this beautiful Victorian villa offers luxurious, spacious, individually styled bedrooms. The warmest of welcomes, with the friendly attentive service of the French owner and his local staff ensure a delightful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Quay Dunoon
Hotel Hunters Quay
Hunters Quay Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing