We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four of us visited the newly furnished, reopened Osborne today and, under new management, it was a delightful experience - nice ”
Review of The Osborne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Osborne
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Four of us visited the newly furnished, reopened Osborne today and, under new management, it was a delightful experience - nice ”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us visited the newly furnished, reopened Osborne this afternoon ( 23 Jan) and, under new management, it was a delightful experience - nice food, warm welcome, good service and magnificent view across the Firth of Clyde. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawIj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and that hopefully all the hard work renovating this beautiful old building are paying off. We really hope to see you again. Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    19
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Seriously seriously avoid. This place is going our of business. The owners' attitude stinks. Read the rest of the reviews, and btw anyone leaving a good review, is lying.

The place smells, its dated. it doesnt get properly cleaned. The bar is not stocked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaveh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a very unpleasant time staying recently in the Osbourne Hotel. The family room was big but not very clean, the bathroom shower had hairs in it and towels that smelled terrible. The bar had a lack of booze and tables were sitting from lunchtime the day before still with old cuttlery and napkins on them but even worse the foood was still lying over the floor. theservice was appaling as Jacqui was walking around in pyjamas not bothering to serve anyone so we waited 40mins to get a cup of tea and a further half an hour to get breakfast which we couldn't stomach. We were booked to stay a few days but left after the first night.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shaz218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Would not recommend this hotel, we were met by proprietor Jacqui sporting a black eye, atmosphere between proprietors Paul and Jacqui was very cold which made our stay uncomfortable along with heating only on 1 day out of 3 could not get the towels dried to use for showering (hotel towels)! No Barcadi, very limited choice in the bar. Hotel felt like it was being wound down. Would not advise families to stay here as public bar and very noisy. Smell throughout of wet dog, dogs barking. Crumbs and spilt juice were on our table cloth for the 3 days of our stay. Only good thing was a beautiful view. Should have known as we got the last 2 rooms and we ended up being the only people was staying.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CitySlicker0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This place is a joke .Service nil. Breakfasts on cold plates.Out of Stella/Strongbow/Bacardie/ no bread one morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALLY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay. We had a great time. Jackie and Paul were great hosts, food was great.......especially the Aberdeen Angus burgers (my hubby would have ate these for our entire stay), regulars in the para handy bar were fantastic and very friendly. We had a great time and made great friends we will certainly keep in touch with. We will return there soon. Thank you to all who made us welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The room we stayed in was great. We didn't realise, when we booked, that we were going to have a suite with king size bed, flat screen T.V, and even a sofa! We booked to stay during 'The Tall Ships' event on the Clyde. It couldn't have been better with the ships sailing right passed our huge bedroom windows - brilliant !! We enjoyed our meals during our stay and found the staff and locals very friendly. I could sit all day in the conservatory restaurant and admire the view of the islands and wildlife. The floral display outside was beautiful. There are some great walks in the hills behind the Hotel and I can recommend Innellan Golf Course.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne

Property: The Osborne
Address: 44 Shore Road | Innellan, Dunoon PA23 7TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the River Clyde our Bar/Restaurant has fantastic panoramic views of the River and all it's traffic. Our conservatory is the main dining area with a lounge and bar behind. We also have licensed outside seating to the front and side for the "Exceptional" Scottish Summers. Come and join us for friendship & fun and sample some of our excellent, fresh, home cooked food, great beer & spirit selection. B&B rooms are now available. We have 3 double rooms and a single. For bookings and room rates please call on the telephone number on our home page. Web site to follow very shortly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Osborne Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing