We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great location and Great Service”
Review of The Osborne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Osborne
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great location and Great Service”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is the first time we have had dinner here since The Osborne reopened. The food is so fresh and beautifully presented. Elliott, the chef is outstanding.
Pete is a wonderful host and we were really well looked after.
Would recommend going here over and above anywhere else.
Cant wait to return for another lovely meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks Weelonie, really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    19
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
38
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Had beer battered fish and chips. Beautifully fresh and really light and crispy batter. Really enjoyed the food and Belhaven Grand Slam Beer. No room for pudding unfortunately! it was lovely to see 20 others visited too. Worth visiting and ignore old reviews as now under new ownership.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the Fish & Chips. Hope to see you again, Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is an old establishment situated in a great location to benefit from the view to the water which is just across a quiet road. We did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms etc but it is evident from the external appearance and from the restaurant and bar area that the new encumber shave spent money on the property to spruce it up and make it more welcoming.
Unfortunately the initial impression was not so good as we were unsure which door to go in and the waitress halted us in our tracks to quickly apologise for being busy. She managed to show us to our table before rushing off.
We thought we were lucky in securing a seat at the window with the view but this quickly steamed over possibly due to the very noisy table behind us with unruly children and adults!
Service was a bit slow although the waitress had perked up a bit by the time she got to is. Food was good but poorly presented. It was good value for money with most main courses below £10 but would have been better with a few more chips. The waiter (who may have been the owner) should maybe consider not eating or chewing him whilst serving. We would go back to try again as we have been having mixed feedback. Maybe it was just teething problems

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Lorna19. Many thanks for your review. As you say, I would really appreciate you trying us again. I was the person chewing and apologise for this as this most certainly is not in my nature as a professional. Unfortunately, with regard to the condensation on the windows, we have had a huge amount of plaster work done internally and as the building dries out this seems to be where the water seems to be settling. I am surprised that you found our food poorly presented and would be interested in knowing what you had? Please feel free to talk to me on your next visit if you have any other issues. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The newly refurbished Osborne is well worth a visit. The food is excellent and the staff very pleasant. The waitress Janie could not have been more helpful. The views are stunning, this place is highly recommended and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks MarkL for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in our lovely pub/restaurant. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have eaten in the newly reopened Osborne and we would like to congratulate Pete ,Elliot &Janie on the fantastic new restaurant . The previous comment is someone who is a nit picker and will find fault any where. The food and service are great and nothing is any trouble to the staff
P

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello Sandra W. Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you back with us again shortly. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had lunch here on Friday 31st January. I was disappointed with the attitude of the lady who is front of house along with Peter. Just pointed to our table with a pen, then pointed to where our wet coats should be hung up. Peter is a different kettle of fish altogher. Very pleasant and welcoming and truly delighted to see a regular from his last place of employment.

The place was cold and I was frozen during the time I was there.

Food is good enough, but just above pub grub, to be honest.

Icing on the cake was the lady/waitress/co-host, walking past with a tea towel in her hand and wiping her mouth with it. Don't know if this towel was intended to wipe glasses or carry hot plates. Whatever, it was rather off putting!

I'll probably give this establishment another try. Maybe things will improve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Joy M. I'm sorry that you found our bar/restaurant disappointing & "freezing"! If you had mentioned this to me at the time, I could have re-located your table nearer the radiators or near the log burner in the lounge. I have talked to the waitress involved and she has apologised for pointing to the table with her pen, however she was very busy at the time. I do hope you'll come back and see us as we are slowly ironing out any teething troubles. Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us visited the newly furnished, reopened Osborne this afternoon ( 23 Jan) and, under new management, it was a delightful experience - nice food, warm welcome, good service and magnificent view across the Firth of Clyde. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawIj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and that hopefully all the hard work renovating this beautiful old building are paying off. We really hope to see you again. Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne

Property: The Osborne
Address: 44 Shore Road | Innellan, Dunoon PA23 7TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the River Clyde our Bar/Restaurant has fantastic panoramic views of the River and all it's traffic. Our conservatory is the main dining area with a lounge and bar behind. We also have licensed outside seating to the front and side for the "Exceptional" Scottish Summers. Come and join us for friendship & fun and sample some of our excellent, fresh, home cooked food, great beer & spirit selection. B&B rooms are now available. We have 3 double rooms and a single. For bookings and room rates please call on the telephone number on our home page. Web site to follow very shortly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Osborne Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing