We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Osborne
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
77
22
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
22
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent menunew ownersbar and dining areacrab cakesgarlic prawnspuddingcooked to perfectionwarm welcomefirth of clydevisiting dunoonstunning viewssteak piegreat value for moneyelliotpecansealwaitress
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is the first time we have had dinner here since The Osborne reopened. The food is so fresh and beautifully presented. Elliott, the chef is outstanding.
Pete is a wonderful host and we were really well looked after.
Would recommend going here over and above anywhere else.
Cant wait to return for another lovely meal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks Weelonie, really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Had beer battered fish and chips. Beautifully fresh and really light and crispy batter. Really enjoyed the food and Belhaven Grand Slam Beer. No room for pudding unfortunately! it was lovely to see 20 others visited too. Worth visiting and ignore old reviews as now under new ownership.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ALNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the Fish & Chips. Hope to see you again, Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is an old establishment situated in a great location to benefit from the view to the water which is just across a quiet road. We did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms etc but it is evident from the external appearance and from the restaurant and bar area that the new encumber shave spent money on the property to spruce it up and make it more welcoming.
Unfortunately the initial impression was not so good as we were unsure which door to go in and the waitress halted us in our tracks to quickly apologise for being busy. She managed to show us to our table before rushing off.
We thought we were lucky in securing a seat at the window with the view but this quickly steamed over possibly due to the very noisy table behind us with unruly children and adults!
Service was a bit slow although the waitress had perked up a bit by the time she got to is. Food was good but poorly presented. It was good value for money with most main courses below £10 but would have been better with a few more chips. The waiter (who may have been the owner) should maybe consider not eating or chewing him whilst serving. We would go back to try again as we have been having mixed feedback. Maybe it was just teething problems

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lorna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Lorna19. Many thanks for your review. As you say, I would really appreciate you trying us again. I was the person chewing and apologise for this as this most certainly is not in my nature as a professional. Unfortunately, with regard to the condensation on the windows, we have had a huge amount of plaster work done internally and as the building dries out this seems to be where the water seems to be settling. I am surprised that you found our food poorly presented and would be interested in knowing what you had? Please feel free to talk to me on your next visit if you have any other issues. Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The newly refurbished Osborne is well worth a visit. The food is excellent and the staff very pleasant. The waitress Janie could not have been more helpful. The views are stunning, this place is highly recommended and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thanks MarkL for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in our lovely pub/restaurant. Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have eaten in the newly reopened Osborne and we would like to congratulate Pete ,Elliot &Janie on the fantastic new restaurant . The previous comment is someone who is a nit picker and will find fault any where. The food and service are great and nothing is any trouble to the staff
P

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello Sandra W. Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you back with us again shortly. Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews