We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Bolton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Food at dinner poor. Entertainment not entertaining. Nobody in our party wanted Scottish folk singing all night and to be honest found the singer difficult to understand. When complaining about dinner was told to put it on the comment sheet!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    159
    123
    51
    50
See reviews for
47
227
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights last weekend, and I have to say it offered great value for money, however we did eat in the hotel on the Friday night and the food is very basic however if you only take B&B it is great the breakfast is fine, and yes it is in need of a refurb but the hotel is spotless and the staff are first class, as is the bar prices, we will be back. John and Katie Jedburgh.

Room Tip: we were in room 75
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, the beds were terrible and the food was poor. Service was very poor( we overheard one poor man being given a public dressing down because he sat at the wrong table, no one else was using it and he was on his own) this made us feel uncomfortable. The bar prices were good but as none of our party were drinkers it didn't compensate for the lack of facilities. The entrance to the hotel is up a very steep hill and our tour coach had to reverse up. We were on a coach trip with David Urghart and even though the trip was reasonably priced we felt the hotel could have been prensented better, the dining room felt like a canteen, the food was below average and the lounge/bar were like an old fashioned working mans club.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The hotel is in desperate need of an update of furniture and decor the food is very poor very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Great views from the hotel but unfortunately the food is as bad as it gets

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank 7242tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just got back from staying in Dunoon at the Glenmorag Hotel. After reading the reviews on Trip advisor i became worried before i left for my trip.Whilst there i found my stay both enjoyable and comfortable the staff could not have done enough for us the Clyde View is a must when you book your room and the cheap drink was a great asset. Loved it there would recommend it highly

Room Tip: Book a room on the second floor with a Clyde view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldwidetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night DBB stay at the Glenmorag Hotel.
The hotel has seen better days...but with some money spent on it it could be really impressive.
We are in our 40's and were the youngest guests there. Most other guest come from David Urquhart Bus Tours and are probably 65+. There is a '30 bob' (£1.50) bar...but it didn't open until 5pm and the hotel is a bit away from the town centre. The walk would probably be fine on a nice day...but the weather was really bad while we were away.
The rooms were clean, the food was basic but fine and the staff were pleasant & hardworking. The entertainment was also more suited to the older guest, and there was no music in the bar. All in all we got what we paid for.
Don't think we'd go back...but if you're older than 60 you would probably love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leslee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing