We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The climb is worth it”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Have just come back from a David Urquhart weekend at the Glemorag, Whilst the hotel could be classed as slightly dated everything else was first class. The rooms were a good size, clean and warm with a nice ensuite. The breakfast and dinner were first class served by great resturant staff. And the entertainment at night was great with very reasonable prices in the "Thirty Bob Bar".
Only one complaint, the weekend went too fast

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but try to get a sea view, it is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tommyr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Set high above the town with great views,the Glenmorag may not be top drawer but was a very acceptable hotel on a reasonably priced coach package. Food was well cooked and reasonable choice-old fashioned puddings a speciality! Room was clean and quite large without being fancy.
Entertainment a bit mixed from below average to good depending on what night-a 30bob bar was an attraction not abused by the guests. Staff friendly and eager to please.

Room Tip: need taxi to go to town and not easy for car drivers -winter must be a nightmare on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a David Urquart holiday which had it's base at this hotel for 4 nights. We booked a room with a Clyde view and it was well worth the extra cost. The room was more than adequate and was clean. However, the bathroom was not up to the same standard and certainly requires a thorough overhaul.
The food offered an excellent choice of starters, main courses, desserts followed by tea or coffee.
The food quality was very good and hot food was served hot with quality fresh vegetables.
Breakfast was served buffet style and again an excellent choice was offered.
A £1.50 bar offered a choice of beer/lager/wines and own brands of spirits and soft drinks were priced lower.
The hotel has a large ballroom and offered adequate entertainment each evening.
The best thing about the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of all management and staff who really look after you.
The hotel really needs refurbishing but if this carried out then we should expect to pay more for our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor with Clyde view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HofIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have just come back from a very enjoyable stay at the Glenmorag Hotel in Dunoon with a David Urquhart coach holiday. The hotel is in an impressive position on a hill overlooking the water. The room we had was spacious and clean as was the public areas and I've never seen such a large ballroom in any other hotel in this category. The food was delicious with plenty of choices and the service was very good. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was excellent. All in all a very pleasant stay and I'd certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank magrob333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were booked in here for an overnight, the value for money was ok, as the room was badly in need of decorating. The food wasn't that great, I felt that the veg was over cooked and dried up. Breakfast on the other hand was better. The entertainment in the hotel was ok although the party I was with made a good night of it. The staff were very helpful and friendly which did help.

Room Tip: A room to the front and you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I really had meant to review this hotel after we returned from staying there (last year) but it wasn't done! Hopefully, my review will still be of use?
We travelled there with David Urquhart Travel on a holiday/break. Though our journey from the deep South of England was a long and arduous one (on what had been the hottest day of that year, so far!) when we arrived, we were made welcome, and our rooms allocated speedily. We travel with friends (we are two couples) and always ask for near or adjacent rooms - and this request had been met. Having paid extra for 'Clyde Views' we were not disappointed! Whilst the rooms - and indeed the whole hotel - were a little shabby and tired, the views did not let us down! The very small lift worked (more than can be said of some larger and more luxurious establishments!) and there was plenty of room to 'spread out' in the public areas.....We even discovered a little Library Room, where you could sit and admire the views, and not be assailed by the noise from the 'entertainment end' of the hotel. The bar had special '£1.50 drinks' and we were pleased to have quite a choice of 'house' varieties. Food was quite adequate, though I have read on here that some do not think thay way. It was appropriate on one evening to have a 'Scottish Menu' - something we hadn't expected (and being a Scot, I was delighted to sample home delicacies again, after being used to English food for such a long time!) Even vegetarian Haggis was available, to suit all tastes! Our waiting staff was friendly and helpful. (The rest of the staff was unfortunately NOT Scottish, and making yourself understood was sometimes a little difficult.....and it would have been so much nicer to hear a Scots' accent in a Scots' hotel.)
I think our only main niggle about anything was that our table backed onto a radiator, which was permanently ON! This being June (and quite warm, too) we felt it could have been adjusted, as we asked them to (several times.) It was not only on, it was RED HOT!!! Pretty dangerous if one moved slightly, or placed a garment, or bag, on the back of the chair. However, that's only a small minus point......The hotel looks magnificent when you look up at it from the road, or as approaching on the ferry, and must have been THE place to stay in bygone days. A good refurb would make it the more enjoyable, but, as I have previously stated about these budget hotels, you get what you pay for..........

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - it's well worth asking for the Clyde View rooms at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GULLIVERHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

just come back after a 5 day tour with david urqhuart staying at the glenmorag hotel yes it does want a bit of a makeover but overall it was really good value for the the money we paid rooms were clean beds were comfy breakfast was good evening meal was ok at least you had achoice.we booked a room with a view of the clyde it was amazing, would recommend this hotel if you want a cheap and chearfull break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheflez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
209 reviews
8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range: £59 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing