We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good few days stay”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good few days stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay with David Urquarht coach tours.I read some bad reviews before we went so was prepared for the worst,but very surprised to find a lovely room(20)overlooking the Clyde.The staff were pleasant & helpful,& for what we paid was excellent value for money.the service in the dining room was excellent & food was good with plenty of choice.Would recommend front room excellent views,so summing up an excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    157
    120
    48
    50
See reviews for
46
222
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The reviews I read before we went scared me. It is a rundown hotel but the staff were so good and very friendly. Meals were good and plentiful the soup was amazing every night , Wednesday I dont know what happened but a last minute menu change was disaster the only night all food went back . Raw onions in macaroni cheese and too hot coronation chicken . All other meals including breakfast were really good. Even a wee bingo night for those who like to play, David Urquart need to work on the inside to upgrade it though x

Room Tip: Local leisure centre in Dunoon offering pool,sauna,steam room and jacuzzi well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNFERMLINE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel looked good in the brochure but was nothing like it. It's in need of being refurbished as outdated, the mattress on the bed is needing to be thrown away.On arrival we were told where our room was and to be aware of the wasps nest next to our room, only to find dead wasps all over the bedroom floor.We kept standing on them,until we got fed up waiting for a housekeeper and picked them up ourselves. The bathroom wasn't much better, as someone has thrown silicone paste all the way round the bath, covering holes where handles had been taken off, it wasnt clean either.Couldn't shut curtains properly as they kept coming down with slightest movement, so no privacey.They seemed to be short staffed but staff were helpful and seemed to be working very hard. We stayed here for two days and nights and no one came to the room to perform any housekeeping duties.Next to the room was a small door with "boiler room" on the door.This is probably why we were kept awake all night by a rythmic low pitched humming sound.We wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy and definately wouldn't stay there again .There are many signs of very poorly executed repairs throughout the hotel.The meals we were served with were also of a very poor standard.Maybe this hotel was one to stay at in the past,maybe around the 1960,s, but it has declined in a spectacular way since the glory days.The only good thing about this hotel we can think of is the way that the waiting staff work hard to deliver a service in adverse conditions.

Room Tip: No point,the whole place is "not good".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GEORGE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to this hotel with my friend as it was recommended to us. What a let down. The room we had was on the first floor and was big enough, but very dated and tired. The bathroom was a disgrace. Black mould around the bath, floor dirty and behind the door had never been washed for years by the look of it. One couple went out and bought antiseptic wipes to clean their bathroom. Towels were quite new and clean so that was a bonus. The window in the bedroom was open and would not close and as we were facing the river the breeze just cut through us. We had a beautiful view of the river but that is really the only good thing we had.
The dining room was crowded and cramped and very cold. The food was awful and we had to eat out during the day as the evening meals were just inedible. Breakfast was cold and the toast was so thin it was like eating a wafer. Made from sandwich bread so more slices to the loaf !!
The hotel is on a very steep hill away from the town impossible for pensioners to walk up or down and this hotel caters more for pensioners. We had to take a taxi if we wanted to go out. The entertainment in the evening was ok and the drinks from the bar reasonably priced, although there was no waiter service.
We would never return to this hotel and would recommend that it be closed and refurbished, and a new chef employed.
Do not go to this hotel unless you want to lose weight.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel was comfortable and friendly but service was poor area was nice a lovely view from dining room and ballroom company was good also the entertainment weather was nice for time of year I wouldn't go back to Dunoon its not as nice as it once was I was quite disappointed in how run down the town wasI travelled with David Urquhart the holiday was good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

hotel has gone down hill since our last stay oct 2012, needs a total refurb, breakfast was fine but tiny plate, dinners were terrible very very small portions wich were served in a very cramped dinning room,had to call takeaway later, very short staffed,sorry but wont be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent a 2 night break here and I must say it was very relaxing. I cannot fault the room for cleanliness and comfort and the view was superb (room 62) the room was needing a little refurbishment though. The staff were very helpful and friendly and work hard to keep things moving sweetly. Food was good with a simple but effective choice on offer.
I would happily come back again for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing