We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We're just back from a weekend at Glenmorag Hotel, with David Urquhart Travel, room, bathroom & bedding clean, however had to complain about the kettle leaking, replaced immediately. Meals excellent and portions adequate. Value for money. Did notice the hotel decor a bit tired and in need of re-vamp, staff very polite and helpfull, bar prices not too bad on par with our local pubs, the entertainment varied from not very good on the first night, to excellent on the last night. Would certainly go again. There is however a big problem with squeaking floorboards in the rooms and hallways on the 2nd floor, caused a bit of disturbance late evenings when guests making their way back to rooms after the entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myallmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    157
    119
    48
    50
See reviews for
46
221
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
motherwell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

just had a great weekend away here with our 2 aunties with d u travel. management and staff cant do enough for you.the hotel is a bit dated but rooms are clean and the food was really good.the entertainment was good all weekend as well..hope to go back when the weather is a wee bit better..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just back from a coach holiday with David Urquhart stayed here 20th-24th Jan. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite, Food was good although dining room could of done with the heating on as it was cold. Good value for money, hotel room was clean and comfortable and the view from the room was stunning overlooking the River Clyde. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: pay for a seaview room the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan_wEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I recently took a weekend break here with Urquhart Tours. I had read some bad reviews but we found it good value for money. We had a room with a Clyde view (paid extra for this but worth it). The hotel is tired and needing a revamp but the room was clean, the bed was clean and comfortable. The food was fine with good choice. The staff were lovely. Entertainment could be improved on. The bus tours were superb and our driver John Johnstone entertaining. Sitting back in a bus and letting someone else drive was great. Unforunately the weather was very wet but then again it was Scotland in December and could have been worse.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Booked mystery trip with David Urquhart 4 days / 3 nights BB/EM for my birthday we found out we were going to Glenmorag hotel week before trip , had reservations as to the trip but we had been before to Dunoon about 7 years ago . sent email direct to hotel to upgrade to Clyde view room return e-mail received confirming price and upgrade room booked. On arrival met on the coach by Frank the duty manager very friendly gave guests instructions as to Evening Meal time 6.30 pm each night breakfast 08.20 am. picked keys up from Paulina at reception who I had received the email from very nice pleasant Girl, wanted to pay for the upgrade she said was ok could pay later which i did after our evening meal . Our Room 16 Twin Beds the Clyde view very good. Bathroom needs updating but clean and tidy clean towels every day if required.food was ok The waiters were very busy serving over 80 guests at meal times but always pleasant even when some guests were getting impatient as to waiting for their meals to arrive no consideration just wanted to moan at every thing . bar prices lager £3.10p pint . no happy hour .barman very friendly . Entertainment all 3 nights Sunday night he was very good. this hotel is ok yes its old and needs updating but its clean and the staff are very friendly , only complaint was the Ballroom was very COLD which was pointed out by numerous guests over the weekend, guests were sitting with their coats on not good. Our Driver Tom was very good and kept us informed every day as to what was happening. all in all we had a nice week end most of the people we met were very friendly and good company .

Room Tip: clyde view very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to this hotel with a David Urquhart tour and we enjoyed it, ok its not the hilton or the ritz and it does need some updating but it was good value and the view from our room was amazing ,the room was clean and the beds were comfortable , the staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good and there was a choice of menu for evening meals .We would return

Room Tip: pay the extra for a clyde view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christina19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

just back from the glenmorgan hotel trvelled with david urquart coaches had a good weekend service was l good, the hotel staff couldnt do enough for us. food was good i dont understand all the bad reviews for the price we paid it was well worth it yes it is needing updated but it was clean, bed sheets spotless. clean towels every day we left on friday got back on mondat breakfast consisted of the waiter asking us if we wanted tea or coffee a pot each and toast there was fresh fruit cereal porridge fruit juice then the fry up which u could have what u want and the evening meal there was a choice of 3 starters three main meals and three puddings and we didnt wait on getting served either everything was well organised dont hink i would go back only reason being is me and hubby are bit young for bus tours but recomended for the older person there was eight of us there and all had a great weekend never seen so much water trees and mountains in my life thanks to charlie the bus driver u did a briliant job,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing