We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite the Same” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Not Quite the Same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was 5 years since we had stayed at the Glenmorag and not a great deal had changed. It was still a shaky, ancient, Victorian pile; much extended and rambling but giving magnificent views from our sea-view window.
Externally, the frontage has been given a lick of paint but a tidy away of the many cigarette butts left on the drive would improve it. Do smokers behave in this way in their own homes?
Internally, our bedroom appeared recently decorated and was spacious, clean and comfortable with ample stowage. The en-suite bathroom would have benefitted from improved illumination but everything worked, even if the shower head over the bath, fed by a mixer tap, needed some caution.
The public rooms also appeared recently decorated and in good order. At no location could I find the dirty conditions as described by a recent contributor. (Neither is Dunoon "run-down" as described - just suffering from the same recession as every other town and city which has closed shops and cafes. Compared to many, it's doing pretty well and worth exploring.)
The staff were invariably pleasant, helpful and efficient.
So far, all was satisfactory but the real let-down was the restaurant. At breakfast, a limited range of cereals, fruit juice and tea or coffee were self-service. Hot breakfasts were waiter service and of generally good quality, quickly served. No complaints there but dinners were a different matter. Starters and main courses were produced from the cheapest ingredients in which portion control played a major part and vegetables were boiled until taste and texture was gone. "Home made" soups? - Only if your home happened to be a factory in an industrial estate, I suspect. Fish Cakes! How often can these appear on a menu in various guises over a five day period? Salads without variety or colour and topped with a slice of corned beef!
Desserts were generally satisfactory and the one satisfactory item on the menu.
I am well aware that the Glenmorag is a budget hotel and haute cuisine with expensive ingredients cannot be expected but well-prepared and cooked food in reasonable quantities with some variety most certainly can. It is not impossible to find this at a Hart Hotel; a trip to the Garve Hotel, also one of the Hart Group, would make this clear and I recommend such a trip for the management and kitchen team at the Glenmorag.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteamingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    151
    119
    47
    49
See reviews for
46
218
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We travelled to the Glenmorag Hotel with David Urquhart. We have a wonderful weekend. The hotels position overlooks the sea. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The food was good, staff were friendly and helpful. We were entertained every night and will definately come back in the future. People have complained about the need for refurbishment, but this did not detract from the hotel's appeal, it was full of character.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are only £5 extra for the weekend. We were a group of 3 so we had a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanScotland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is definitely past its best. It needs upgrading, decorating and updating. Everything is very worn, dirty and past its best. It is in a lovely position overlooking the Firth of Clyde but is in a terrible state of repair. The food is terrible, the only plus point is that the staff do their best under difficult circumstances. We stayed for 4 nights and had trouble getting any hot water from the shower, and some of our party didn't get any hot water at all! Dunoon itself is very, very run down and not worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. But rooms overlooking the Clyde at least have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_simpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

swindon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were on a 5 day coach tour with David Urquhart and it was excellent value for money. The staff were fantastic. Only about half a dozen who were the waiters, bar staff, reception and probably a lot more besides. Nothing was too much trouble. It took a day or so to realize that Peter and Atilla were actually twins and not one person who was everywhere at once.

The rooms were a good size and clean. My bed and pillows were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water. The food was very good, particularly breakfast. The hotel is very big and would have been a splendid building in its heyday. I hope that Hart Hotels (Urquhart) can invest in this hotel. So much needs to be upgraded.

One point of concern was that coaches park at the side of the hotel and were parked over the fire escape area for the dining room. We would have struggled to get out along the side of the coaches.

We had 4 drinks vouchers each and the drinks were a good price. The entertainment was good and all styles of dancing were covered so that everyone could get up on the dance floor. The Scottish dancer was lovely

Overall it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the small supplement for a room with a view, which is wonderful, especially at night with all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Did a 5 day coach trip with David Urquart. The hotel is very tired looking and squeaky floorboards a pain especially if you had a room on the first floor!! I had seen reviews of the hotel before we arrived so knew what to expect. On the plus side the food was very good and the staff brilliant!! Entertainment was good as were the drink prices. I would recommend paying a bit extra for sea view. We went into Dunoon which is small and a bit run down. Excellent coffee shop though.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is owned by the coach tour company David Urquhart and is ok for overnight accommodation. It has not been refurbished since before the War (probably WW1) but the staff are friendly and the food is filling. We had no reason to complain. And it made for a cheep holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank whatsinaname2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is set high up on a hill overlooking the Firth and Dunoon. Our room was at the front with a beautiful view but was badly in need of redecoration with wallpaper peeling off, stained carpet and old furniture. The beds and bathroom were clean but quite a bit of dust gathered on furniture. Only 1 small lift for this large hotel and no telephone in the room. A budget hotel, you get what you pay for...
The chef/cook needs to learn how to cook potatoes which is strange considering they could cook the meat no problem?
On the plus side the shower over bath has good pressure and plenty hot water. The staff are all very nice.

Room Tip: if your booking a room here ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kate f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing