We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenmorag Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
83
176
137
62
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
176
137
62
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquhartclyde viewcheap barcoach driverbus tripnightly entertainmentthe price paidcoach holidayexcellent value for moneybit datedsome tlcstaff were excellentbreakfast and dinnera wee bitvisited this hotelgreat weekendtea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay in the Glenmorag. We had a beautiful view and saw the sun rise every morning. July 2014 five day stay. Food was very good and wholesome with plenty of variety. Found staff very welcoming. Would certainly go again. Very good value.

Room Tip: Room 75 had beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went in yesterday on a day trip to Dunoon with the intention of booking for several days next month.
Grotty seating outside to accommodate smokers
Very tired and unclean reception area
Waited a while and still not approached by staff
Viewed dining room that resembled a school dinner hall
Spoke with some guests who claimed food bland and rooms as tired as public areas
Unpleasant smell of food hit you on arrival
Sunny day large grounds with no seating area to relax and enjoy the view

Glad we viewed this establishment prior to booking as now we wont

Room Tip: dont book before looking
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank outandabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ok we had read all the reviews before we went but we were on a tour so you cant pick and choose your hotels
The approach offers much which is quickly reduced on arrival and entering - the hotel is very tired and grubby - stained carpets, damaged paintwork etc - the Clyde facing rooms certainly on the 3rd floor had wonderful views: the beds were comfortable and the linen and towels and bathroom were clean: OK the furniture is old as are the tvs but reception is OK: rooms are a little on the small side: there are no hairdryers or complimentary toiletries and certainly on the 3rd floor the overbath showers were problematical in terms of water often being very hot: so ran a bath instead!
there is a very steep approach to the hotel from the road which was difficult for many of the mainly (very) senior guests who were therefore virtual prisoners in the hotel - there is little outdoor seating and this is mainly taken over by smokers: could do more here, particularly when weather is very hot (as it was during our visit)
our main bone of contention was the evening meals - OK this is basically a coach party hotel and they are serving upwards of 100 guests at one sitting - but dinner at 6.30: surely 7.00 could have been accommodated and the food choices were poor and quality very average: old fashioned menus ( soup every night:at least it was hot: or fruit juice or some odd item) - invariably frozen or tinned veg - all extremely institutional - like an old people's home (which I guess it was given the average age of the guests)
breakfast was OK - bacon was excellent and you could vary what you had from the available full english - if you want fresh fruit then stock up in town but no fridges in rooms
bar prices very fair
entertainment of a sort every night - at least they try to entertain the captive audience
staff mainly eastern european, hard working, willing and pleasant
at the end of the day you get what you pay for - this was an experience and we will laugh about it - we still had a great break in a beautiful area and were blessed with excellent weather
we did endeavour to eat out but there is little choice in Dunoon town open in the evenings and the walk in (although there are buses) deterred other residents - the Italian had no customers on a week night, the couple of pubs only had everything with chips: we did manage fab fish and chips eat in one night but there were only open till 8
Dunoon really rolls up the streets at night!

Room Tip: book Clyde view only one lift so request lower floor if stairs are an issue
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arnold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at The Glenmorag Hotel on a David Urquhart holiday for four days the bedrooms are roomy and the beds comfortable but the floors creaked and very uneven not very good for people with bad legs and feet. The views from the bedroom windows of the Clyde were lovely specially at night. As for the meals they could of been a little larger but a very good selection on the menu. The Glenmorag is in need of a good refurbishment but overall it is a very good hotel and the majority of the staff are polite and friendly. Just one hint be very careful when drawing the bedroom curtains being they can come off their tracking.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get a Clyde View room it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TourManagerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we booked this last minute and got double room with B&B for 45 for both so wasnt expecting much. it is quite run down looking from outside but our room (84) was great, clean and had tea making facilities (no wee biscuits though, had to buy them!), and no hair dryer which was a shock. This hotel, we realised, was used for a bus tour company, so therefore ALOT of seniors around, which we were initially worried about. even though we arent "young" (58 and 68), we were the youngest there:-) we decided to stay in and eat in hotel. the food was very average, 3 courses cost £14.50 each, which i thought was over priced considering to pub grub which may have been tastier and larger portion. the breakfast was lovely, no complaints there. Entertainment ---thankfully there was entertainment on under the name of Denny Dee who we had never heard of but got to give big credit to the guy, he sang, played guitar,mouth organ, threw in couple of jokes and had the whole place jumping (yes!) even the older generation among us were up line dancing etc. Definitely not the place for anyone under 60, so bear that in mind when booking. all in all we enjoyed the evening, met lovely people and the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: we paid £5 extra to get a room with a view (84) which was lovely view across the water.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P9973UCelizabeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews