We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dunoon stay”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“dunoon stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

01-09-2114 just had a4 day 3 night stay at the glenmorag hotel in dunoon with david urquhart travel. The hotel is looking a little tired but the rooms were clean andclean towels every day. Food was basic but very nice. The two full day trips were excellent . I would recommend this trip to anybody.g

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    165
    128
    53
    53
See reviews for
51
234
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the positives. Room on top floor with sea view recommended. Staff friendly & helpful. Bed was clean. Only had to stay one night!!
Shabby, run down, very past it's best hotel. Threadbare carpets stained. Chipped furniture, curtains hanging off rails. Shower curtain black with mildew. Didn't bother to try the shower as friends who's room was on the 2nd floor had just a trickle of water! No chance of a decent shower another floor up. No toiletries provided just a cheap very small bar of soap. Toilet seat fell off toilet. Light over wash hand basin kept going out! I could go on & on. Wasn't a cheap stay, original price was over £100 per night, got a better? deal nearer the time for £85 (extra for sea view). Feel sorry for people on bus tours as they are a captivated audience.
Shame could be a lovely hotel with a massive investment.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank 20annag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel, we were greated by the receptionist who was pleasant enough. When entering our room we were shocked to find a terrible view over looking staff smoking area and an overgrown wall of trees. The shower was like standing under a dripping tap, the bath Matt was black with mould, our TV has no signal and was grainy on all visible channels. When we checked our reservations on laterooms.com we found that we had actually booked a room with a sea view!!! When we confronted the receptionists who said they would move us to another room on our final night. When we were given the keys to our new room we found that we had a view... Not of the sea as promises but a painted roof top copy of the view! When we complained again. They made the excuse that no notes were left to move us to another room and that they didn't know we wanted a sea view. On settling the bill, they offered a 20 pound discount from our 164 pound bill! The only regret to this complaint was that the staff were so forthcoming it makes me feel guilty. There is major managment cayos in this hotel! Lack of training and standardisation! Paying for a discounted room should not mean we get the low grade rooms! The food isn't great either. It's a real shame, the building as a whole has a great quirky feeling with decor dating back to the 1950s. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dykea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Very, very dirty. And they dont bother themselves even to clean the floor. The rooms under the bar are so noisy - you hear every word of sonds downstairs and can not sleep. Everything is broken. Toasts at breakfast are cold and coffie is transparent... Hotel is on a hill and you can not climb there with luggage without a car.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaBagirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Grand hotel, but very old and in need of some love.
Polite staff; nice breakfast, room comfortable but bathroom a little tired (brown grouting between tiles for example), stain glass window outside lift on level 1 is actually smashed and cracked in other places.
Would stay again for the games, not for the hotel as such.
Pleasant 25 min walk to the Dunoon stadium.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This place was probably okay back about 20 years ago. But now its damp, dirty and rundown. Thankfully we only stayed for one night, i dont think you could stay for any longer. The hotel has wallpaper hanging off everywhere you look and smells of damp, the rooms aren't much better!! Our bathroom was filthy and the shower curtain was turning black with mould, tile were stuck to wall with dirt. I wouldn't Recommend anyone to stay here!! Hotels from hell doesnt have a look in with this place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank louloun22lvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Bank holiday break with David Urquhart travel, on arrival we were allocated room 12 our friends were next door in room 14 on inspection our room looked ok until we looked in the bathroom bath but no shower, there was a shower curtain and you could see where the shower had been, we went next door to our friends room, bath with shower attached,we went to reception, we were told some of the rooms have had the showers removed because of problems with them, must be because its easier and cheaper than getting them fixed I think, anyway we asked to be moved because we needed a shower, we got moved to room 88, a 3rd floor room with a shower, room ok, clean bedding and towels, fab views of the Clyde which we had paid extra for but worth it ,time to try the shower, iffy to say the least red hot one minute freezing cold the next so had to be careful when using it.
On the food side meagre portions served at dinner, the soup for starters was the best part of dinner, breakfast was just ok although it was cold by the time it reached the table, one morning I waited 20 minutes for a cup after asking 3 times.
The trips out were good we loved Oban ,we went to the green hut by the ferry terminal for sea food would recommend, the only let down was the driver, not at all friendly and no information on what we were passing on the trips, we had to look out for signs like loch eck caravan site to know you were passing by anything.
On the plus side bar prices were ok £3.10 for bitter and lager, £3.20 for a v&t, we stayed in the hotel in the evening because it was a long walk into Dunoon from the hotel and there did not seem much in Dunoon to warrant a walk, its also a very steep hill to walk up to the hotel from the road.
Would we go there again we all agreed the answer is no.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Clyde view,3rd floor a good choice. Wifi in the bar and reception area none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing