We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spill The Beans Cafe

Spill The Beans Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Wooden tables with cast iron bases' painted chairs and a warm welcome.We pride ourselves in making great tea and coffee with all our staff being trained in how to make the perfect froth to grace the best triple scored coffee. Tea has been chosen to compliment the local water conditions.A fantastic selection of cakes, from light crisp and chewy meringues to light Victoria Sponges to Macaroons and Apple Pies with pastry to die for.... all made in our small but busy kitchen.We invite walkers in and if your best friend is a dog bring them too ...we have an outdoor area which is smoke free so at last we can sit outside and be able to assured that the table next to you will not be smoking. Closed on Tuesdays. Though we will be open throughout the year.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprising little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

After a day walking the Birnam and Dunkeld woodland trails with our dog, we finished in Dunkeld and saw the 'A' board with the tick indicating dogs welcome. We were shown to the outside area and our dog was given a bowl of water and made very welcome. I was given the tea 'menu' which contained 16 (sad I know, I counted) lovely interesting collection and my parter who has a sweet tooth was really impressed with the choice of wonderful home made cakes. We visited on a further occasion during our stay and were greeted as old friends.

All I can say is this is a gem and I wish there were more places like this for afternoon tea or whatever time of day you wanted something fresh and tasty.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank girlsweekend12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    100
    44
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot in middle of Dunkeld”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

After spending the morning at Potties next door painting a ceramic pig, (don't ask!), I was ready for a light lunch. This is a cafe, no more no less. Modern setting. Great lunch choices of soups (lentil & veg on offer that day), toasted sandwiches, jacket potatoes, cakes, etc and a good choice of coffees and a very large range of teas if you fancy something more than a breakfast tea. They also have what I call 'none tea teas' - fruit flavours, etc and serve their teas in nice pots with the leaves in a central part so you don't have to strain them. Service is professional. Very busy when we visited. Also convenient for centre of town

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Found the cafe as we were walking to the Cathedral. We were given a lovely warm welcome and asked if we wished to sit inside or outside. We sat indoors but the walled area outside looked equally appealing.
The toasties are served with a nice salad portion attractively presented. Coffee comes accompanied with a glass of iced water and small flower in a dish. The cakes are delicious.
The cafe is bright clean and attractive with first class service

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank terreges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Welcoming service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Even though we only wanted a coffee one afternoon, we were made very welcome and it was served beautifully, with a glass of water on the side. We've been here before and enjoyed the food. Children and dogs are made welcome. It is spotlessly clean.

There is a lovely selection of cold drinks, albeit none, as far as I could see, local. Perhaps in the future local (Scottish) fruit juices could be featured? That said, I look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice cafe in a perfect setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The cafe is located about 50 yards from the Cathedral - yes you have guessed it - in Cathedral Street Dunkeld Perthshire, Scotland. The Cafe is very clean and the staff are very helpful. Through the back is a small courtyard with about 6 tables, which is perfect for a sit in the sun and a coffee and scones. Reasonable price with excellent service!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AilFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spill The Beans Cafe also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Spill The Beans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing