We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, excellent location”

Butterstone Loch Cafe and Bistro
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Visited last year for coffee and very impressed so visited again April 2012 for lunch. The service was good - a little slow but there was a large group ahead of us and it has a small kitchen. Burgers were excellent and the chips were the best I have had in ages. Very relaxing sitting looking out over the water

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Scenic location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

from a warm greeting to a "hope to see you again", this was a good visit.
would recommend the steak pie and although the wine was nothing out of the ordinary, it wasn't expensive.
set in a peaceful and scenic location "al fresco" will be great in the summer.

but please get the closer on the main entrance door fixed as the very loud bang everytime people came and went became annoying

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a gem of a cafe. There is ample parking and only about 3 miles from Dunkeld. We have been a few times and it has been excellent each time. The coffee is good (something which should be easy but often let's cafes down), the food is fresh and the service is good. The owner is often there and always checks if customers are satisfied. The children's menu is particularly good value and we wondered how the could afford to include everything for the very low price.

The only downside is that it closes over the winter.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Improvements Required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Visited this Bistro having told it is a "nice place to lunch". There is no doubt the setting in nice, overlooking a busy anglers loch. There is no distinction between cafe or bistro. It is one modern room which ie "packed full" of tables and chairs with little room between them. It was counter service, but your food was delivered by one of two staff (on a Sunday), squeezing through the furniture. She then shouted from the room to ask if everything was alright. I had fish and chips and my partner had a backed potato. Whist certain things were not to our particular taste, I felt "Bistro" did best describe the food. No doubt the cakes/ scones. etc looked great, but the main dishes fell short as did the service. The cappucino was mostly froth and I had a 3/4 full cup of latte which was warmish. We felt we couldn't complain as we had already been "forced" to shout everything was okay in earshot of the rest of the customers. Would go back for a coffee and cake, but not for a meal. Not in my top ten for local cafes despite the view.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterstone Loch Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing