We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Tay Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
2 reviews
“River Tay Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel appears a little old fashioned when you first arrive but that is part of the charm of staying there, I'm glad Hilton have not tried to modernize the building, reception or restaurant areas. Fantastic location on the banks of the river Tay makes a stay here very special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We thank you for your review and overjoyed you appreciated the charm of Hilton Dunkeld, we do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    765
    414
    225
    94
See reviews for
425
1,312
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Idyllic location beside the river. Public areas had a traditional Scottish feel - slightly old fashioned but in keeping with the style of the building. Bedrooms were clean, with modern bathroom and comfortable bed, but the rest on the furniture was very dated and marked, and could do with updating.

On dinner, bed and breakfast deal - food and service both excellent, and was offered a bright window seat on both occasions.

Good leisure club with pool. Lovely grounds with putting green, and opportunity for riverside walks.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyDimpleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
A huge thanks you for your review, we really appreciate you selecting Hilton Dunkeld for your short break and we’re delighted that your expectations were met and our team delivered excellent service throughout your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I called in to the Hilton Dunkeld today for afternoon tea. We were quite disappointed with the offering, particularly the service. The first person who greeted us in the dining room was very attentive, but things went downhill from then on. Our table on the terrace had bird droppings on it. No attempt was made to clean the table top even though the waiter placed the side plates next to the droppings so could not have missed them. The bread for the sandwiches was rather dry as though they had been standing for some time. The cakes and scones however were fine. We asked for Earl Grey tea. Half a pot of tea, which was not Earl Grey, was delivered. We asked for hot water to top up the tea pot and a jug of iced water was delivered. The service from both the waiter and waitress who brought the food and drink to the table was cursory to say the least. They did not seem to care about the quality of their work or of our experience. At no stage did anyone ask us if everything was OK. Altogether a very disappointing experience in a delightful setting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are extremely disappointed to read your afternoon tea experience was not satisfactory and please be assured your feedback will be used to ensure the relevant team members are trained in the relevant areas of customer service. This is certainly not the level of service we want our team members portraying and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had dinner on two nights. The first, when the restaurant was very busy, went without a hitch. On the second, service was spectacularly slow. Had I not requested to be served, I wonder if we might not still be waiting for our orders to be taken. And I would advise you to check your restaurant bill. Such a pity, as this is a pleasant hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful location and grounds, rooms were clean and comfortable, the restaurant was lovely for dinner, piano playing, great food, nice ambience. Staff were excellent for dinner, and a bit more relaxed at breakfast. Nothing bad to say about the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the first class review you have written, we are thrilled your expectations were exceeded and hope to see you again soon at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were delighted with our night at the Hilton Dunkeld. The staff were delightful and allowed our dog into the public rooms and gave her a bowl of water. The setting is fabulous and the grounds beautifully well kept.

Room Tip: We had a room in Wade's because we had the dog so it was great to be out of the main hotel and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meascott27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and you and your dog felt very welcome.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wonderful grounds and walks by the Tay. dogs welcomed to use these freely.
Decor a little tires but well maintained. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Food nicely presented and cooked & good choice. A good centre for the Trossachs at good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review and we are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we do hope you will visit us again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing