We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we were heading up north to Elgin we broke our journey by staying at this hotel. We got a last minute deal which was brilliant, lovely location just off the main road. We were made very welcome on arrival ,room nice and clean ,food good and it had a homely atmosphere as we travel quite regularly up to Elgin we will be using it again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the amazing review we are elated your first stay was impressionable and we will see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
There are newer reviews for Dunkeld House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friend and I were on a 10 day bus tour and this was a hotel stop for one night.
The grounds were lovely and the gardens were pretty. The rooms were adequate.
Meals were ok - both at night and in the morning - the tables were large round tables. The service at night was slow and the bills offered up for the drinks were all lumped together and caused some anxiety for people trying to figure out what they owed.
The breakfast was late and not the best of what we had of all the places we had been.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are sorry to read your experience at our hotel was not memorable for the correct reasons and your views have been shared with the management team to improve the billing process for large groups. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and gardens we are situated in and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Expectations aside this isn't your usual Hilton.

The communal areas are deep red shabby carpet and some of the fixtures have seen better days but to be honest this is part of its charm. It's dilapidated but not dirty. Some of the stairwells though could be rectified with a few hundred quid of paint.

The driveway is 1 mile long and the hotel is right out in the forest on the river, the location is exceptional.

There are loads of walks and cycle route 77 passes through the hotel grounds and is signposted. Bikes can be rented for £20 per day from the gym staff but book in advance. We negotiated £20 for two so do try and barter. The routes will easily fill a few days from the hotel.

The food particularly breakfast was excellent and the service as usual superb. The main evening menu is limited to around 10 dishes and they do it in a pick two or pick three set cost option.

The room wifi was free which is amazing and is a nice tough which makes you want to go back, so many hotels forget this. I think this is because this is a leisure not business hotel.

One amazing perk is the dram of free whiskey or sherry to welcome you back every evening, just help yourself or the staff will pour it for you. It does warm you up and it does get cold here. We stayed in May and the hills still had plenty of snow.

In essence this place is an amazing retreat with no mobile signal and in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. You won't be disappointed

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of our hotel, we are happy to read you enjoyed your leisure stay with us and our team members delivered exceptional service. We have a broad range of activities on our estate and we are please to read you enjoyed this during your short break. We thank you for choosing Hilton Dunkeld for your holiday and hope to see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent service, fantastic walks. We arrived and received the keys to our suite. We were extremely satisfied with all the facilities and the size and cleanliness of our rooms. The furniture and decor was amazing. The staff at the dining room were excellent. The food was good. We had breakfast delivered to our room. The food was very good and still hot ample amounts and also ample amounts of coffee. We would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We wish to thank you for publishing your review on Tripadvisor and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Your thanks has been shared with all our team and we would love for you to come and stay again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very smart hotel , very quiet and in lovely surroundings the only issue we had with the hotel was the cleanliness of the bathroom and the following morning the buffet breakfast in which it appeared everything had been cooked to death

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review we are pleased you chose Hilton Dunkeld for your short stay and overall enjoyed it. We are apologetic for the inconveniences you encountered and this has been relayed to our Head Housekeeper and Chef to which they will address. Hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Title says it all really. You may need this if you elect to eat in the restaurant.

Glacial food and drinks service, cold food (returned for more microwaves to be applied), and the complete no-show of one of our party's main course despite numerous requests. (eventually arrived after the rest of us had finished / given up).

Unfair to blame the PBI but the senior managers here present a target-rich environment for retraining / sacking.

As a gesture, the food manger took something off the bill, but if we only wanted to save money we could have repaired to the local chipper.


On the bright side - I don't have any more sixtieth birthdays ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We apologise for your disappointment on your recent birthday stay and your experience is certainly not the standard of food and service which our team members and management want to deliver. I do not have enough details on your stay to comment on what went wrong but please be assured your feedback has been share with our Food and Beverage Manager and Head Chef.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 6 times in 4 years and have previously left good reviews. This time I felt a bit let down. I had decided to treat myself for a big birthday and booked the Atholl Suite. I like travelling solo and getting away from the stress of everyday life and fancied doing this in style. The suite has a bathroom with shower over the bath, and an open plan bedroom, living room and dining area. There are big windows with uninterrupted views of the river. At £199 p/n B&B I would have expected a safe, mini-bar, fancy toiletries, and coffee pod machine, but the amenities were just the same as the standard rooms. I did get a bathrobe and slippers. The decor was nice but the windows need a clean.

I had a lovely walk in the beautiful grounds, and a swim and sauna in the leisure centre, then planned to have soak in the bath, put my pjs on, and chill out in the suite. I decided to have room service dinner and breakfast, as I never feel that comfortable eating solo in a restaurant.

Why the disappointment? Various things spoiled my birthday treat. I'd arrived early, left my bag and gone for a walk as the room wasn't ready. When I checked in later my bag had been put in my room, along with someone else's! I took it straight away to reception were a panicked staff member was already looking for it. On asking her if she was happy that the contents were as she left them, the young male receptionist said something a bit sarcastic along the lines of 'and so they should be'. I felt uncomfortable about a situation not of my making.

I didn't get my soak in the bath, the water pressure was dreadful and I barely managed to get a shower, there's no point putting in a big fancy shower head for a such a weak and intermittent flow of water.

I paid a £5 tray charge for my room service dinner, but was charged a £10 tray charge for room service breakfast, just for one person. When I queried this on check out, the same young male receptionist said 'it's the tray charge because it's early', I had breakfast at 8.30, which seems like a normal time to me. He also told me that there was no mini bus to the station available, and handed me a card for a local taxi firm. As there was no queue at reception I felt he could have called for me, I felt a bit like I'd paid my bill and the hotel had washed their hands of me. My interactions with this receptionist were not good at all. I ended up rushing to the station, which was quite stressful.

Not sure if I'll be going back to what was my favourite hotel, it feel's a bit like the magic has gone.

Room Tip: Atoll suite could be better
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review and we are sincerely sorry certain aspects of your stay were not the standards you have come to expect from Hilton Dunkeld. There is certainly issues which you have highlighted which the relevant departmental managers can assist and retraining can be carried out to ensure the problems do not arise again. The £10.00 tray charge for breakfast is standard if it is one or two persons irrelevant of timings and each room service at other times of the day carries a £5.00 tray charge. We do hope you will reconsider returning in the future as we would appreciate the opportunity of making it right on your next stay.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,991 reviews
15.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing