We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Penallt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Right next to the beautiful Tay, in walking distance of the town centre - a lovely evening walk. Fantastic trees in the grounds. Everything you would expect from a Hilton. Staff attentive and helpful. Only gripe was being invited (on screen) to pay for Internet access!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted you overall had a delightful stay with us and enjoyed the level of service our team members delivered. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the hotel and if you wish to purchase the full speed access there is an option to do so on the home screen. Hope you will choose our hotel again in the near future for another short stay.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    747
    403
    215
    92
See reviews for
406
1,282
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a total of 27nights on business and feel I must write a review. I spend a huge amount of my time in various hotels around the country and can say that my stay here and the service I received was above and beyond any other hotel I have used in the last 2 years.

The hotel has a warmth about it and is a building of characer and my room was always kept clean with fresh towels and clean bedding. With huge grounds to explore and set in amazing quiet location this is the perfect setting to explore this area of Perthshire and beyond, unfortunately I had to work.

What really puts this hotel above the rest is all of the staff. From the first day I arrived they did all they could to help and support me through my stay. They helped make a long time away from home an enjoyable stay and always greeted me with a smile and a friendly greeting no matter how busy they were. Anything I needed or asked for was catered for and I found the food to be of an extremely high standard.

If your looking for a clean hotel with character, not just white paint and lights that most hotels are. Somewhere that is set in a great location with great food then you have found it. Add to that some amazing and friendly staff and you have the perfect hotel.

I certainly will be using this hotel again when in this area and will also be visiting again on holiday to take in the amazing landscapes that make perthshire the amazing area it is.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We wish to thank you for publishing your first class review on Tripadvisor and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your long stay with us. It’s our aim to ensure all our guests leave feeling relaxed and looked after with our team members delivering professional and personal service. We do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is located in Dunkeld, just off the A9. It is less than an hour's drive from Edinburgh. The hotel grounds are large and impressive. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes walking along the banks of the Tay and past the Cathedral - simply stunning walk. The front lawn of the hotel runs down towards the river and is a great place to sit and enjoy a drink,

We had a standard room which was absolutely fine. In the more modern extension it had a comfortable bed, a sofa and the usual facilities. We had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals. The restaurant is quite large but it was busy and there was a good atmosphere and the service was very attentive.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it very relaxing and wished we had stayed longer. The only slight downside is that some of the furniture in the public areas and aspects of the pool area was a bit tired - a mini refurb would work wonders.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edinburghguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your short break and very happy to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, it’s great to read our team members delivered excellent service and we do hope to see you again soon at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we were heading up north to Elgin we broke our journey by staying at this hotel. We got a last minute deal which was brilliant, lovely location just off the main road. We were made very welcome on arrival ,room nice and clean ,food good and it had a homely atmosphere as we travel quite regularly up to Elgin we will be using it again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the amazing review we are elated your first stay was impressionable and we will see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My friend and I were on a 10 day bus tour and this was a hotel stop for one night.
The grounds were lovely and the gardens were pretty. The rooms were adequate.
Meals were ok - both at night and in the morning - the tables were large round tables. The service at night was slow and the bills offered up for the drinks were all lumped together and caused some anxiety for people trying to figure out what they owed.
The breakfast was late and not the best of what we had of all the places we had been.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are sorry to read your experience at our hotel was not memorable for the correct reasons and your views have been shared with the management team to improve the billing process for large groups. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and gardens we are situated in and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widemouth Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Expectations aside this isn't your usual Hilton.

The communal areas are deep red shabby carpet and some of the fixtures have seen better days but to be honest this is part of its charm. It's dilapidated but not dirty. Some of the stairwells though could be rectified with a few hundred quid of paint.

The driveway is 1 mile long and the hotel is right out in the forest on the river, the location is exceptional.

There are loads of walks and cycle route 77 passes through the hotel grounds and is signposted. Bikes can be rented for £20 per day from the gym staff but book in advance. We negotiated £20 for two so do try and barter. The routes will easily fill a few days from the hotel.

The food particularly breakfast was excellent and the service as usual superb. The main evening menu is limited to around 10 dishes and they do it in a pick two or pick three set cost option.

The room wifi was free which is amazing and is a nice tough which makes you want to go back, so many hotels forget this. I think this is because this is a leisure not business hotel.

One amazing perk is the dram of free whiskey or sherry to welcome you back every evening, just help yourself or the staff will pour it for you. It does warm you up and it does get cold here. We stayed in May and the hills still had plenty of snow.

In essence this place is an amazing retreat with no mobile signal and in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. You won't be disappointed

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of our hotel, we are happy to read you enjoyed your leisure stay with us and our team members delivered exceptional service. We have a broad range of activities on our estate and we are please to read you enjoyed this during your short break. We thank you for choosing Hilton Dunkeld for your holiday and hope to see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent service, fantastic walks. We arrived and received the keys to our suite. We were extremely satisfied with all the facilities and the size and cleanliness of our rooms. The furniture and decor was amazing. The staff at the dining room were excellent. The food was good. We had breakfast delivered to our room. The food was very good and still hot ample amounts and also ample amounts of coffee. We would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We wish to thank you for publishing your review on Tripadvisor and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Your thanks has been shared with all our team and we would love for you to come and stay again soon.
Kind Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing