We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scottish resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scottish resort”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location on the river Tay, a mile outside charming village of Dunkeld, with grounds for walking, activities, sports facilities, this hotel includes an old aristocrat's hunting lodge. The dining room has fine food The staff was helpful, from welcoming sherry or whiskey, to answering questions. No robes or hairdriers in room. Upkeep is clearly a problem: there were areas that were shabby. There was no computer room available for internet access. A first class resort hotel in the Hilton group should do better.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the grounds rather than parking would be cheerier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at our hotel and overall enjoyed your stay and the service our team members provided. We are and old building but we do like to keep it well kept and have dedicated team members who take pride on keeping the grounds well turned out for our guests. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    736
    395
    209
    88
See reviews for
400
1,261
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent service and comfort added to the stunning woodland setting make this hotel an excellent mini break destination!Easy to walk into the town of Dunkeld and ideal spot to travel onwards into the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Beehopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and others it’s an enormous delight for us that you enjoyed a perfect holiday at our hotel.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The setting is fantastic the junior staff friendly and accomodating but the Hotel is in need of a revamp. Poor wifi, outdated decoration, rude managers particularly at breakfast where we were ordered to sit in a different room from the rest of our party (we disobeyed and had a long wait for our coffee/tea} and a very fusty feel to the lounges, The potential for this Hotel is fantastic but a lot of work needs done. Loved the food though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are extremely sorry your experience at Hilton Dunkeld was no as expected and Hilton Dunkeld is an old building built in 1900 and which retains its old world charm. We do have an ongoing program of maintenance for our rooms and public areas. We are elated you enjoyed the cuisine from our kitchen team which I have shared with them and thank you for your review.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turnerjs08
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I took a walk along the river and watched the fish jumping. Then I had a swim, Jacuzzi and sauna, and then a perfect fillet steak and béarnaise sauce and was in heaven. There are not many hotels I stay in that are so peaceful, but with lots going on too....activities galore for those with the inclination. And as I was leaving saw the deer roaming in the grounds....a perfect Scottish break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerjs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
It’s with great gratification to read that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated the quality of food and service our team members provided. We would love to welcome you again at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely!! The surroundings are beautiful, quiet and feels secluded. I had a three course meal in their restaurant and it was gorgeous!! Beautifully cooked, services was phenomenal, staff were well trained, polite and quick. Felt like a 5* restaurant. The rest of the hotel was great too, had a lovely clean room and staff were welcoming.

The spa facilities is limited, not the best I have seen and needs updating. The heated pool was not working and freezing cold (sure this will be fixed soon). I did have a massage which was amazing! The spa staff were welcoming and lovely.

One other thing is the hotel is very expensive to stay and while you are there eg the bar or lunch facilities. The village is very close to have a look around, but there is not much there and again is very expensive.

There is also activities like crazy golf, off roaring which look amazing and are within the hotel grounds. I did see they had lodges, which looked gorgeous. Ideal for families.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the great review your words of praise are appreciated by the Food and Beverage team and overjoyed your experience was five star. We did have some issues with our pool last week which have been fully resolved and do hope we can welcome you back again to Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in our trek through Scotland. Staff was wonderful and accommodating. The common rooms were inviting and staff was attentive. The grounds were beautiful with lots of walkways along the river Tay. There was archery and clay shooting. It was also close to town. Our room was your basic hotel room, but it was clean and comfortable. we did t spend a lot of time i it anyway as the grounds were so terrific. Food was also very good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123456lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, we are pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay when visiting Dunkeld, we do hope you will come back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night for dinner bed and breakfast. The staff were all charming and the setting is beautiful. However the bad points out way the good ones.
The hotel is situated on its own beside the river which is stunning. First impressions are of a very run down and dated building that requires a complete make over and upgrading. The reception area and corridors to the rooms are old, depressing and the paint work is peeling off everywhere. The carpets are filthy and the lift is a disgrace with dirty carpets lining the walls.. The hotel seems dirty due to this. We had paid extra for an upgraded room. I would not have liked to have seen the cheaper rooms as the one we had was a disgrace for the money we had paid. The decor was very dated and indeed the curtains looked like they had been hanging there since the 1970's. The bed was very rickety, hard and squeaked every time you moved. We could here the guest next door snoring all night. The brick work in the corridors reminded me of a prison block.
The dining room is tatty and the chairs are a disgrace. They are worn and many of them are ripped and very dated. The hotel could do with a good deep clean.
The dinner was fairly good but overpriced and the wine expensive. The breakfast was very poor, cold and limited in choice. The worst part of the weekend however was the £12 we had to pay for 2 vodka and and coke!!! An absolute disgrace. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in the world and never have I been charged £6 for a vodka and coke. The wine is £ 9 a glass! Daylight robbery. I have stayed in many Hilton hotels which have always been of good standard but this place is a joke. We will certainly not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanderson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
The hotel is an old building in a beautiful location which was built in 1900 which retains its old world charm; we do have an ongoing program of maintenance for our rooms and public areas. We are disappointed your expectations were not met during your recent visit to the hotel and your constructive feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental managers and they will review the offering you experienced. We are pleased on a positive note you enjoyed the service from our team members and the beautiful location we are lucky enough to be situated in.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,704 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
722 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing