We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

just home for a 2 day break,very enjoyable,we did not have evening meal so cant comment there,but breakfast very enjoyable,hot and plentiful.....we were not interested in outdoor sports fishing,shooting,4x4 etc,but if you are plenty of choice,health spa very clean, lovely river walk into Dunkeld along river bank takes approx 20 mins,we enjoyed very quiet and peaceful,but you need transport as not a lot happens in the village,well worth a visit all staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It’s with great gratification to read that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated the quality of food and service our team members provided. We would love to welcome you again at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    747
    401
    215
    91
See reviews for
406
1,279
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed during the festive period and the Christmas decorations along with the log fire were gorgeous. Dinner and breakfast were more than adequate. The staff were very friendly. We upgraded to a lovely room that had a boat as the bed base. The double shower was fantastic.

The only real negatives were that the furnishings in the hotel were looking a bit tired and dog eared.
All in all this was a pleasant two night stay, although the hotel is nothing compared to how it was twenty years ago when it was much more upmarket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for your post Christmas review and are delighted you had an enjoyable festive period, it’s a wonderful time of year at Hilton Dunkeld to celebrate with friends and family. Your comments are appreciated and hope to see you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a last minute over nighter and so glad we did. Beautifully located, right on the banks of the gorgeous River Tay. On the drive up you pass a 1400 year old cathedral, fantastically enormous trees and it feels like your driving into someone's stately home. As for the hotel itself, it is an old building with some modern touches here and there, but it is still old. We stayed in a small suite a short walk up the hill from the main hotel and found it totally charming. William Morris wallpaper, tartan tub chairs and old-style fixtures and fittings all added to it's charm. It may have been a little dusty here and there, but our bed was spotlessly crisp and tea/coffee making facilities clean. The gym, pool, sauna and steam room are exactly as you would expect from any Hilton, functional and clean. As for checking in and out, we experienced no problems whatsoever...really quick and efficient. We benefitted from having a gorgeously sunny day and ate a snack on the terrace overlooking the Tay, bliss. Wide selection for breakfast, excellent...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4yle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Your feedback is appreciated and we are pleased you choose Hilton Dunkeld for your last minute break, I have ensure your praise has been shared with all our team members and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had also experienced this hotel 20 years ago but did not expect to see the same curtains and carpets etc this week. The ancient leather dining room chairs were peeling with age and the small double bed proved a painful experience --- so much so that we were glad to escape after one night, having initially booked for three.

Dinner was just adequate although £25 for a bottle of Chardonnay was absurd in such a poor establishment; the restaurant and reception staff were helpful and understanding. There was no point in debating with the manager although I'm astonished that a Group the size of Hilton have run this place into the ground, leaving their staff a sinking ship.

Give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms approached via a damp musty smelling corridor; cant say for the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASutherland186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and you were disappointed with our hotel, we are not a modern hotel but one with charm and character which was built in 1900 and we continually have an ongoing room care and maintenance programme within Hilton Dunkeld. Your praise to the team members has been passed on and we always welcome guest’s feedback.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Still sat in my hotel room and am so cross, I feel the need to post my review already as nothing will compensate for the appalling service. Arrive, having worked late, check in abrupt, so jokingly said, "this isn't one of the rooms on the ground floor overlooking the car park is it, as I hate the lack of privacy and people walking past your room and looking in", the response was, "no ma'am it doesn't overlook the car park, but I can't remember what it does look over" guess what, it was ground floor overlooking the car park, not even a net curtain to attempt privacy, mine was a disabled room, so shower only, but no one had bothered to check if that was ok. Had some more work to do, but the desk didn't have a chair, no answer from front desk, so I walked there and had to queue behind other guests complaining about their rooms. Said to the guy, so my room does overlook the car park then, and he just stared at me! Then asked for a chair, "yes ma'am" gave up and went back to the room, ordered room service, told it would be 30 minutes, turned up after 55, fish curry with side of vegetables, only no rathia, mango as described and the fish still had grey ugly soggy skin on, had to pick it all off, popadom s were burnt and veg extremely soggy, carrots, beans and asparagus all bent over they were so overlooked. Tried to log into the Internet, but just got clock whirring away, service was incredibly slow, reluctantly rang the front desk again to be told very shirtily, "shall I get someone to do it for you" no thanks I am very capable of logging on to the Internet, is there a problem with your Internet? "no ma'am you can't expect city speeds here" I don't expect city speeds, but in the last 80 minutes I've only been able to answer 4 emails.
I usually insist on this hotel because the surroundings and drive here completely de-stress me and make me calm, this time I'm fuming, shocking service all round, it's half ten and guests are still walking past my window!

Room Tip: Insist you are not on the ground floor overlooking the car park at the rear, check there is a bath i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy1f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am unsure if you asked to speak to a senior member of staff whilst you were at Dunkeld as we would have liked to make your experience better. We certainly do not want guests to be sitting in their rooms discontented with the services we are providing. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact myself.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Such a beautiful location and hotel but the service is appalling and sometimes even unfriendly (waiting for hours for your room, dinner table and room service - without being offered any tea/ coffee in between as an apology) and the whole hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment (moldy treatment rooms, bed sheets missing, twin beds put together without fixture & spider webs all over windows - all in a Suite!).
Not impressed but hopeful someone will re-train the ENTIRE staff (except for the lovely old man carrying our luggage) and get it up to Hilton standards - soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TutuTeaTime25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay in August 2013. We have made a number of changes to our hotel since you stayed last year including staffing levels and decoration. We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was very dubious after reading some of the reviews below. I needn't have worried. This is a good hotel made GREAT by its location. I have never seen such a stunning approach or setting for a hotel in my life, and I've stayed in some nice hotels! The hotel itself is absolutely fine. yes there are shabby parts (any plans, hilton, to upgrade? )such as the corridors and stairwells. but you don't eat and sleep in the corridors and stairwells. ..but the rest of the hotel was more than fine for the price paid. This is not savoy or ritz prices now is it? The dining room was lovely (more about the dinner later) as were the lounges/seating areas. very old style country house with big fireplaces (not lit obviously at this time of year)the bedroom was nice..old fashioned decor, by which I mean 80s faux regency stripes and lampshades to match, but it was actually fine, and above all,immaculate!
The pool area was also fine with magnificent views.
The only slight criticism, which other reviewers have mentioned, is the dinner. not really good value, but it was ok. just ok though.
The staff at this hotel are fantastic. cheerful and polite and friendly. They must know the hotel has glitches but they overcome them. All in all I would most definitely stay here again without hesitation. The setting alone. .which cannot be overstated. ..is worth staying for at any price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARblue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, it’s extremely pleasing to read you appreciated the magnificent hotel and scenery we are surrounded in and our hotel and team members whilst visiting Dunkeld. We hope we can welcome you back to Hilton Dunkeld again very soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing