We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice wee break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice wee break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I were gifted this weekend from our friends and fellow rugby players of Brechin BRUCE for organising a few wee trips for the lads. This was our first visit and we were both very impressed by the standard of accommodation (We were in the Wade House) of this lovely stately house. We were on DBB Basis and the food was really nice (Apart from the severely overcooked sausages at breakfast). The setting of the hotel is truly stunning with mature woodland on the banks of the River Tay which was a pleasure to have a walk along after our Dinner. The Leisure facilities were of a very high standard with the sauna and pool being very clean. There was plenty to do for anyone that fancies busying themselves whether it be 4 x 4 driving, clay pigeon shooting, tennis or any of the other things on offer. We would certainly recommend the hotel for anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we meet your expectations. Furthermore we wish to thank you for your kind words regarding the food in our restaurant as it’s the main goal of our Head Chef to spoil our guests. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Dunkeld in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    739
    395
    210
    88
See reviews for
403
1,263
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here, having passed through Dunkeld many times but never stopping. What a lovely hotel. The Duchess Suite was jaw dropping, the setting, the staff I couldn't fault any of it. We went clay pigeon shooting and rode quads, fantastic. We had only one small glitch, we had ordered a bottle of champagne to be in our room on arrival, however it wasn't there and having asked three times, we eventually got it three hours later and "on the house". That did soften the blow. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have children, I would suggest one of the lodges, away from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for the five stars you have given us and the gratitude shown to our team members which of course we have shared with them. We are extremely sorry for the service delays with your Champagne and hope to see you back again at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in Jedburgh visiting family and decided to extend our Scottish break to include Dunkeld, selecting the Hilton Dunkeld House as our base. The hotel is in a beautiful setting by the river Tay. We arrived to the sound of bagpipes which I think was for the wedding party, not us. The checking in went very smoothly and we were offered an upgrade (£10 per night) which gave us a view to the front, although with the forest setting I think all the views would be good from all rooms. We had dinner in the hotel which was well presented. The menu was varied, I started with the haggis, followed by the cod and ended with a fruit compote all of which was cooked and presented to perfection. The service was good, with the serving staff being very attentive.
Breakfast was equally as good with a wide and varied selection to suit all tastes.
The lounges were well appointed for that getting away feeling and the whole experience was very enjoyable and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_Traveller-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to fellow travellers and are elated you had a wonderful stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dunkeld in the future.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

just home for a 2 day break,very enjoyable,we did not have evening meal so cant comment there,but breakfast very enjoyable,hot and plentiful.....we were not interested in outdoor sports fishing,shooting,4x4 etc,but if you are plenty of choice,health spa very clean, lovely river walk into Dunkeld along river bank takes approx 20 mins,we enjoyed very quiet and peaceful,but you need transport as not a lot happens in the village,well worth a visit all staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It’s with great gratification to read that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated the quality of food and service our team members provided. We would love to welcome you again at Hilton Dunkeld.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed during the festive period and the Christmas decorations along with the log fire were gorgeous. Dinner and breakfast were more than adequate. The staff were very friendly. We upgraded to a lovely room that had a boat as the bed base. The double shower was fantastic.

The only real negatives were that the furnishings in the hotel were looking a bit tired and dog eared.
All in all this was a pleasant two night stay, although the hotel is nothing compared to how it was twenty years ago when it was much more upmarket.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We thank you for your post Christmas review and are delighted you had an enjoyable festive period, it’s a wonderful time of year at Hilton Dunkeld to celebrate with friends and family. Your comments are appreciated and hope to see you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a last minute over nighter and so glad we did. Beautifully located, right on the banks of the gorgeous River Tay. On the drive up you pass a 1400 year old cathedral, fantastically enormous trees and it feels like your driving into someone's stately home. As for the hotel itself, it is an old building with some modern touches here and there, but it is still old. We stayed in a small suite a short walk up the hill from the main hotel and found it totally charming. William Morris wallpaper, tartan tub chairs and old-style fixtures and fittings all added to it's charm. It may have been a little dusty here and there, but our bed was spotlessly crisp and tea/coffee making facilities clean. The gym, pool, sauna and steam room are exactly as you would expect from any Hilton, functional and clean. As for checking in and out, we experienced no problems whatsoever...really quick and efficient. We benefitted from having a gorgeously sunny day and ate a snack on the terrace overlooking the Tay, bliss. Wide selection for breakfast, excellent...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4yle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Your feedback is appreciated and we are pleased you choose Hilton Dunkeld for your last minute break, I have ensure your praise has been shared with all our team members and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had also experienced this hotel 20 years ago but did not expect to see the same curtains and carpets etc this week. The ancient leather dining room chairs were peeling with age and the small double bed proved a painful experience --- so much so that we were glad to escape after one night, having initially booked for three.

Dinner was just adequate although £25 for a bottle of Chardonnay was absurd in such a poor establishment; the restaurant and reception staff were helpful and understanding. There was no point in debating with the manager although I'm astonished that a Group the size of Hilton have run this place into the ground, leaving their staff a sinking ship.

Give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms approached via a damp musty smelling corridor; cant say for the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASutherland186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and you were disappointed with our hotel, we are not a modern hotel but one with charm and character which was built in 1900 and we continually have an ongoing room care and maintenance programme within Hilton Dunkeld. Your praise to the team members has been passed on and we always welcome guest’s feedback.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing