We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunkeld House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinloch House(Blairgowrie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tayside Hotel(Stanley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge of Cally Hotel(Bridge of Cally)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Moness Resort(Aberfeldy)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,501)
Filter reviews
2,502 results
Traveller rating
821
855
459
252
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
855
459
252
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanks of the riverdunkeld housebeautiful locationclay pigeon shootingleisure facilitieshotel groundsleisure clubpublic areasdinner menunew ownerssalmondinner bed and breakfastdb bstandard roomafternoon teaboth nightsweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 2,502 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had an excellent stay here anyway - good food, lovely surroundings, helpful service. Made even better by the prompt return of electrical items which I inadvertently left behind in my room. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Christine
Your fabulous review is appreciated and we are delighted your lost item reached you promptly; we do hope we can welcome you back again to experience another five star stay.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel occupies an excellent location to the east of the quaint old town of Dunkeld and beside the river Tay. The main part of the hotel is an old building with lots of character. Appended to this, fairly inconspicuously, are modern rooms.

The rooms are a good size and comfortable with free (but variable) wifi. The rooms do not have safes, fridges or air-conditioning: all of which I would expect in a hotel of this class. You don't often need air-conditioning in Scotland, but it is not exactly unheard of in the summer months. It would have been welcome during our visit this July.

We stayed on a mid-week Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis for two nights. On the first night, the dinner was quite ordinary. The starters were rather disappointing, the main courses were adequate and the desserts quite pleasant, but why would there have been popcorn (why would there ever be popcorn?) on the cheesecake?. The service overall was really slow.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent and dinner that night was very good in all three courses, with good, efficient service. But then the breakfast on the following morning was disappointing, with stodgy haggis and no scrambled eggs.

It is good that the wifi is free, but it is variable and occasionally inaccessible - which is probably a bandwidth problem, so the system probably needs boosting - or something...

The staff were all very helpful at all times; although perhaps not always efficiently deployed.

From the hotel there is a lovely maybe 20 minute walk beside the river to Dunkeld, where there is the Cathedral and some nice little cafés. You can also walk along the river to the west. In the grounds are lots of splendid old trees.

You can also drive to various other places and attractions nearby, so it is a good centre and we would happily stay again sometime.

Room Tip: A room looking towards the river must be best.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Peter3101

Thank you for taking the time to leave a thorough review of your stay here with us.
Customer reviews are the best way for us as a team to learn and improve for the benefit of you the Guest.

So we welcome all feedback, I have discussed the varied service you experienced with my management team and together we will take steps to ensure we improve going forward.

Kind Regards

Angus Mackay
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

You will either love or hate this hotel, depending on what you're visiting for. The hotel and surrounding areas are absolutely stunning and would make for some fantastic long walks. There are wild stags wondering the grounds and beautiful picturesque lakes and streams. You can also hire bikes and sign up for lots of other outdoor activities. It really couldn't be more picturesque. The hotel pool, gym, bar and restaurant were also good. So if you're coming to relax, I'm sure you will love it. Being there on business made it a little trickier as I couldn't enjoy the hotels best features. It was also annoying that wifi was at an extra cost and was quite expensive, but the worst bit for me was that I could get no mobile phone signal on either of my phones, which made coordinating with others staying there really difficult. Overall, this is a stunning hotel though and if you can live without your phone, you'll love it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank littleemma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Littleemma88

I think that’s the first time we have had the same slogan as Marmite!!, Hopefully you are on the side of Love though.

As you pointed out we do suffer from low phone signal up here in Dunkeld, if you decide to visit us again please do let us know and we may be able to offer a land line.
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review

Kind Regards

Angus Mackay
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After being in hectic Glasgow for Commonwealth Games 2014, we headed to Dunkeld Hilton - what a contrast; fab location for a great Scottish Country House!
As I'm in a wheelchair we requested an accessible room, tho the adapted bathroom wasn't necessary. Tight squeeze to get in room, but lovely room with a large bay window. Once in, it was spacious enough.
Lovely breakfast, lovely dining room. Went to the pool with my nephew. Lovely, bright building with easy chairs and serve yourself tea/coffee, etc for spectators was a nice touch.
Beautiful patio and grounds by River Tay. All-in-all, a gem of a hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TMG144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Good Evening TMG144

A thank you from the team here at Dunkeld for your nice review, we are pleased you could wind down after a hectic games, as you point out our beautiful grounds are a spectacular place to relax.
We hope you come back and see us again

Kind Regards
Angus Mackay
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staff fantastic - helpful and friendly, bedroom a bit tired but perfectly adequate, bathroom very small around the wash basin area and one of the two mirror lights was not working. However, great shower and towel service. The hotel is in the most beautiful and extensive grounds on the bank of the river. Next time I will take my fishing tackle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review through our trip advisor page.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here in Dunkeld, and as you say next time bring your fishing tackle, there are a few salmon still to be caught.
My apologies that dinner was slow that evening, let me assure you that it is not the norm here at Hiltion Dunkeld

We Hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards

Angus Mackay
Deputy manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews