We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location spoiled by poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning location spoiled by poor customer service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have visited & stayed in Dunkeld on many occasions,first time staying at the Hilton.
Stayed two nights 19th & 20th July 2014 attending a family wedding & while the weekend overall was a great success,the check in experience was very poor & dining experience on first night was unsatisfactory.
We were given three different check in times on Sat afternoon all of which came & went withouit our room being ready.Meanwhile dinner on Sat night took nearly three hours.
Clearly the Hilton are charging top dollar but do not have adequate staff to cover busy periods.
Be warned!

Room Tip: The General Wade where we stayed is apart from the main building & quieter with lovely views tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank born2rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear born2rain

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay with us.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the service issues you experienced during your stay with us I have taken up the issues with the restaurant and Reception teams to ensure we work to improve our service and streamline it for the guests experience.
I very much appreciate all feedback as it is a great tool to improve our business.
If you would like to visit us again here in Dunkeld, please do contact me directly and I would be delighted to look after you

Kind Regards
Angus Mackay
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    757
    411
    222
    93
See reviews for
413
1,300
29
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent service from all staff from Reception to Dining Room. Everyone very efficient and keen to please. Bathroom, in our room, was in need of some attention. Relatives, in another room, had lovely refurbished bathroom. Excellent location beside the a Rover Tay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriDea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear BriDea21
Thanks for the “fantastic service” review, good to read a good time was had by all. Unsure of your booking details with regards to your bathroom but we are continually working hard to upgrade our hotel.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely location, beautiful hotel, if a little tired at the edges. Hard to believe its so close to the A9 in this secluded spot be the Tay. The staff were (almost without exception) very welcoming and helpful and I think we had one of the nicest rooms in the hotel as it only overlooked the gardens and river (some rooms seem to overlook the car park, some a mix of both). The pool was nice and clean (and mostly quiet). Some disturbance from guests on the patio area late evenings and couldn't close the window due to having no air-con and it being such a hot spell of weather, but all in all a relaxing stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Donna
We are the hidden gem in the middle of Perthshire which we like to tell everyone about and thank you for your review. We are sorry for your disturbance due to the hot weather and have a number of fans for guest bedrooms when the weather is hot in our Scottish summers. We do hope we can welcome you back again for another relaxing break.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Third stay at this hotel. Having read some of the negative reviews we almost cancelled our booking. We are glad we didn't. Admittedly the decor is a bit worn but you don't expect an antique to look like a brand new item. This isn't a central London hotel it is a bit of Scottish history. Slow down, unwind and enjoy the ambience. The staff are charming and helpful, couldn't do enough for us. Admittedly our main course at dinner took a while to arrive one night but was sorted out when prompted. There was a wedding here one night of our two night stay. The hotel was very busy but the weddings are held in a separate dedicated marquee well away from the main building. However there was a fair amount of traffic through the main hotel as people went to the hotel bar.
Breakfast is a gem. More than you could possibly eat. We asked for omlettes one morning which were cooked to order and were very good. Overall a great place to stay, stunning location and lovely people. A bit like a well loved old relative, you ignore the idiosyncracies.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the carpark. At the front they overlook the lawns and the river so are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Chris K
Thank you for your wonderful review we are pleased you chose Dunkeld for your short break for the third time and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. We do hope you will choose us for a fourth time and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

weekend away with the wife. Very pleasant scottish hotel. Nice enough meal (but not amazing) as part of the deal but breakfast was the winner. Very nice staff, nice pool and well worth the cash.
Would happily go back here.
We enjoyed a very nice walk into Dunkeld the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falvey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Falvey001
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us it’s an enormous delight for us that you enjoyed a great holiday at our hotel. Hope we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a stunning setting; Highland Perthshire at its absolute best. The hotel is cosy and welcoming. We were there for a family wedding and stayed four nights. The staff are first class but the decor tired, dirty in places (dining room carpet) and service is slow to snail-like in the dining room. We waited one hour for my three year old to get cheese on toast! The hotel is a wedding and group tours production line, which it manages Ok but it's not the place for a romantic weekend. Disappointing but probably saved by the gorgeous location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Martin 0
Thanks for your review; it’s certainly unacceptable for you to receive slow service and experience cleanliness issues whilst staying in our hotel. We are sincerely sorry for the delays you received and these issues will be addressed with our Head Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you for the positive feedback to our team members. Our hotel clientele is a mix of leisure and business guests and if you wish to return on a weekend whilst there are no weddings or groups please do not hesitate to contact myself and we will be able to inform you of this information.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just back having stayed here for a family meal (with an overnight stay and a spa treatment thrown in!)
The staff are brilliant and so helpful. I would like to give a special mention for Denise at the spa who gave me a lovely relaxing facial. I recommend the spa break deal as for me it was cheaper than the dinner bed-and-breakfast deal.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanMacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Holiday Heather
Denise has asked me to thank you for your lovely feedback and overall we are thrilled you had a wonderful family stay, we do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Susan Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
10.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,858 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
746 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate, on the banks of the River Tay in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There lots to do both within the resort and the local area, making this a memorable getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The newly refurbished hotel has 98 guest rooms, Health Club with 17m indoor pool and spa. On the Estate, try your hand at clay pigeon shooting, quadbking or just enjoy one of the many tranquil woodland walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing