We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time there; really good experience, helpful vounteers.”

Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #1 of 4 Nature & Parks in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve covers 98 hectares near Dunkeld. From early April to late August, the star attraction is a pair of breeding ospreys, which nest just 150 metres from our observation hide. Interactive displays help bring the story of Loch of the Lowes to life. Get closer to the ospreys with binoculars, telescopes and live video footage. Spot red squirrels, woodpeckers and other woodland birds from viewing windows. Our gift shop offers a range of wildlife-related gifts and souvenirs. Hot and cold drinks and light refreshments are available.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“First time there; really good experience, helpful vounteers.”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I've known of the Loch for years and never got there. Nice to see the nest occupied once again, the male on the nest when I was there. Visible from a hide but even with binoculars it's difficult to see nest detail, so the camera feed into the Centre showed the bird, the eggs, really well. Swaying a bit in the wind but obviously well constructed.
A big glass windows and lots of feeders brought in loads of small birds, finches, t*ts (censored by Tripadvisors, the prats!) , siskins, redpolls, bramblings, yellowhammer, woodpecker ...
WIthin five minutes of arrival up hopped a red squirrel. Demolished a few nuts, had a quick tour of the area, and away again.
You can spend ages in the woods and see a fraction of what was right there before our very eyes.
They run a small cafe! i.e. a self-service tea and biscuits off a shelf in a corner! You go for the birdlife not the cuisine, but they'll help twitchers keep body and soul together if staying a long time.
Wile we were there a school group and some college students came through. Loads of volunteers telling visitors pretty much anything they needed to know. Well done the Scottish WIldlife Trust: a great day out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerekG154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    55
    6
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lady of the Loch”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The famous lady has returned to her nest at loch of the lowes for 22nd year, we saw both her and mate flying & on the nest, Some eggs laid which caused great excitement, staff at centre very helpful and willing to tell her story & point out birds/wildlife etc.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinaG064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lady of the Lowes”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was a must see for us as Solly's mum is "twitcher" and fanatical about Lady and sending updates via text! I must admit that I do love wildlife and birds anyway but I may not have chosen this attraction because we were only there for few days; but very glad that we went. There are a number of hides that do great views over both loch and, obviously, the Osprey(s) nest. Lady has, latterly, a new lover ;-) and if the panda's at Edinburgh Zoo had visibility of the webcam they would have seen firsthand how to fulfill carnal cravings! The hides also have both binoculars and telescope zoomed in on nest. The centre itself also has binoculars and various books on birds if you're unsure of what you're looking at (and there is plenty of activity from main centre window). Great value for money and fantastic to see nature up close.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lolly_Solly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic nature reserve”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

For a few years we've been following the story of 'Lady', the osprey who surprised everyone last year by once again making the trek to her nest at Loch of the Lowes so thought we would make a visit to the nature reserve to see the site 'for real' and not just via the webcam. We knew it was too early to see any osprey activity but were still keen to go to the reserve while we were on holiday in the area. The visitor centre is well laid out with lots of information, a live webcam link to the nest and plenty of really knowledgeable and friendly staff. There is good access around the site but disabled visitors may find access to the hides a little difficult. The hides were clean and well-equiped with binoculars and scopes for visitors to use and plenty of seating. Inside the visitor centre seating was provided overlooking the numerous bird feeders and it was fascinating to see so many birds - and a red squirrel! There were lots of bird books and information sheets avaialable and if you couldn't make a positive identification for yourself then the staff were on hand to advise you. I would certainly recommend the reserve to anyone interested in our wildlife, whether a novice bird watcher or a 'fully-fledged twitcher'!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank scotlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Osprey Heaven”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Brilliant little bird watching spot. Always someone there willing to help/share knowledge! Could sit here for days. Nice little visitor centre too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank suzie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Loch of the Lowes Visitor Centre and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing