We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
243
210
83
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
210
83
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverview restaurantvegan menubeer gardena river view roomvenison burgerdog friendly hotellounge areafamily weddingtop floorhotel barscottish hotelbanks of the riverno liftshort stayfood was lovelyroom was largethe main street
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were a large group of 20 people who had the Hogmanay Dinner, followed by the ceilidh. The restaurant was well set out for us , in 2 tables of 10. The Food was very good, although the venison went back because it was cold. Service was good but the drinks service a little slow.
Once dinner was finished we were allowed to move the tables to allow us to see the Ceilidh dancing. This meant our group could stay put but still join in with the dancing. The staff were very helpful and A good night was had by all.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank moreholidays001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello moreholidays001,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Great to hear your hogmanay was enjoyed by you and your party and a good night was had by all.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld. It won't be long before we start to open our outdoor pavilion on the Tay. Come and see us then.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

What a wonderful time was had by all for the New Year Bash.
Our room (twin) was very spacious and though the shower could be more powerful (the hotel is an old building) it was clean and there was plently space with shelves for our toiletries (I have found large more modern hotels lack this easy solution to keep your things off the floor). We requested more hand towels and this was supplied very quickly. We had a room that overlooked the River which was picturesque. My only complaint is that the lightening could have been better.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. They all worked hard to ensure that everyone had what they required and always with a smile on their face. It was their New Year too but they ensured we all had a good time. What I particularly liked was the fact that the Manager Alan did not hesitate to assist. If plates needed clearing, food served etc he did it.
The live band played for over 3 hours without a break, having us all join in with ceiladh dancing and singing. They were superb. There was a quiz for the people who had stayed for the New Year Bash on the 1st and a good laugh was had by all. A superb prize for 1 night stay for 2 was won. (sadly not by me)
The food was exceptional, piping hot, pleasanly presented and extremely tasty. Yes there was things missing from the table ie butter knives but who cares. Is it really important.
The hotel is a bit tired but the staff more than make up for it. It is in a lovely location with fantastic views across the River Tay. It is closing for 3 weeks to have a massive clean etc but I have to say I found no fault. The carpet is a bit grubby but hey, you walk straight in from the street so can't expect anything else.
Overall, we had a lovely 2 night stay. Alan, your staff are a credit to you. I look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the River Tay
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank retiredWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello retired west lothian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
We always enjoy this time of year and it makes us so happy to see that we are appreciated by our lovely guests. Bringing in the new year is always a special time so why not celebrate with friends.
We hope to do the same package for 2018 and will be getting that up on the web site in the coming months so watch that space as we really do fill up quick.
Our hotel is over two hundred years old so yes you are going to see bits and areas that look a little tired. We do try our best to make you feel right at home and to offer our award winning food to the best of our abilities which is what you experienced while visiting.
Thank you again for a lovely review, We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Warmest Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived on 28th December 2017 and the restaurant and lounge were very busy with families etc having lunch. Food is very good with a vegan menu as well....rooms look a little tired but are getting an update....the hotel has friendly and helpful staff and the hotel is very dog friendly....car park across the road....hotel worth a visit

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello Gill F,
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice review for us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you thought our food was very good.
We are now open after our renovations in January. There is a complete new vegan menu with lots more dishes to choose from. Check our web site to see the full menu which is offered all day from noon till nine.
Yes, we are very dog friendly and love to get to know our fluffy guests. The fires are lit, we all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dunkeld.
Thanks again for a great review.
Warmest Regards,The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

As the title says we had a long weekend break away wih friends. The hotel was quite tired and needed a bit of t.l.c. The reception area was spacious but was dull and lacked a bit of colour which would have made it a bit better to sit the night away with a leisurely drink or two. The bar was small but decent with a choice of beers which suited me. The staff were all friendly enough and service was pretty good so no problems there. The room we had was spacious enough and the shower was ok but the dull decor was the let down again. Maybe some brighter colour around the place would make it that bit more inviting to stay in. We had dinner and the selection on the menu was ok, nothing i fancied at the time but i managed to order fish and chips from the bar which was ok. My main complaint would be the dogs, one.family came in from the rain for lunch and allowed their dog to lie on the chair, this was ignored by the barman who served them which was out of order in my opinion. Other customers have to sit here when the family have left. Conclusion......at £80 a night i would have expected better.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank neill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Hello ScottishNeill,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld.
Good to hear our staff are friendly and that we are not problematic! Good to hear you liked our choice of beers and that they suited you. Shame to hear that our decor in lounge and room is dull and that it did not suit you. Shame to hear that our vast menu was just ok and all you could find was fish and chips. For the purpose of anyone reading this response you can see our menu on our web site, its very comprehensive. Glad you pointed out the dog situation as we do not allow dogs to sit on any seat unless they are on their own blankets, even then this would be smaller dogs or old dogs and must be well behaved. This has been noted and staff have been re-trained on dealing with this, your comments are appreciated.
In January we close for three weeks. At the time we have the opportunity to refurbish and do any renovations. If you check our Facebook page you can see all that we have done to the hotel over the past 6 years.
We hope that you will pop in again on your next visit to Dunkeld,
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed one night at the Atholl Arms. The attraction was seeing that they offered a vegan menu, not just a few options but a complete menu from which we could eat anything we chose, bliss

Our room was, well, worn. The catch on the bathroom door had failed. The sash windows were missing working sashes but a few found objects kept them open enough. We enjoyed a busy view of the traffic going by, and patrons enjoying the hotel’s garden that runs down to the river edge. Hot water in the bathroom at 3:00pm was non-existent but I’m pleased to say became available later in the evening. But this is an old hotel and we accepted the quirks of the décor, paper thin walls etc

We had a drink at the hotels riverside bar. It was late afternoon on a sunny weekend afternoon; the venue was running low on supplies. Not my order but I heard a customer being told that if he wanted Guinness he’d have to walk the couple of hundred yards to the hotel bar. Stocking arrangements are clearly not smooth; the choice of (expensive) white wine was also limited unless I too took a hike to the hotel bar. Maybe the bar would have benefitted from an extra member of staff to keep the place stocked? In plentiful supply were wasps that clearly enjoyed the spilt drinks and empty glasses that were rarely collected.

We wandered down from our room for our evening meal and headed towards the dining room. Closed, private function. Instead we were directed next door to the hotels ‘Bistro’ facility.
This was a bar and up some stairs a back room. Both were punctuated by large screen TV’s, with the few punters avidly glued zombie like to whatever program was blaring out
Fine dining it was not to be.
The staff were really friendly and also apologetic and directed us to the one high table in the hotel’s entrance area. This was clearly the naughty table as we could feel the stares of the guests drifting in for the private function
Our meals arrived, the surroundings mightn’t have been the best but we were hopeful of our food
We retired to our room and studied the menu under the cloud of ‘what was that we’ve just eaten’. From the menu we were able to ascertain that various key ingredients were missing from the dishes we’d chosen. 100 yards away another venue also offered a vegan menu; I fear we’d made the wrong choice

At breakfast we gained access into the very pleasant dining room. Had we known when we booked that there was a private function in the hotel we’d have chosen a different date to stay.
The staff were really friendly and also apologetic as our cooked breakfasts took twenty+ minutes to prepare. I’m not sure as to how our server managed not to snigger as she presented on a very large plate: one sausage, half a tomato and a couple of tablespoons of mushrooms. The Atholl Arms is not big on the size of its food portions.

We left feeling slightly deflated. The hotel is clearly stretched when the weather is fine as its menu is on offer from 12:00pm through till 9:00pm. The number of covers can double if the garden tables are populated; there is also a terrace, the dining room and the Bistro. Staff are stretched to say the least.

It’s been great to see the spread in the popularity of veganism over the past few years and establishments recognising this and catering accordingly. Likewise it’s disappointing when food of any sort isn’t good and I’m afraid this applied to our visit to the Atholl Arms.
The hotel is currently up for sale; I hope the new owners make a success of it

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank vegwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello vegwit,
We are a bit surprised to see this review rearing its head in November as it is clear your visit was in May. Any issues at the time of service could have been taken care of if they had been mentioned.
Tripadvisor is a platform generally used for constructive criticism in the form of a few words that may help other guests determine their choice of venue. Like many of the reviews produced by this guest, this review has been written in great detail as if it's worthy of a journalistic article.
I could say more about your comments but feel its best to leave it here as there are always two sides to any story. Our regular guests will continue to visit and enjoy our ever changing menus.
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews