We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit!”

Riverview Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Riverview Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We ate in the Riverside as we were staying at the hotel. Really glad we did. The local produce is well cooked and presented. Really enjoyable dinner.

1  Thank Al_Dunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you both enjoyed your meal at the Riverview.
You may be interested to know on the first Thursday of every month we offer a tasting menu. Always 4-5 courses, as local and seasonal as we can get, interesting new dishes, always 28 pounds.
All the information is on our web site and our facebook page.
Thanks again for a nice review and we all hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

On the basis of the favourable reports on this site my wife and I booked a table in the restaurant to celebrate an anniversary but the moment we walked through the entrance to the hotel I could sense its decomposition; it is a dingy hotel suited to those who wear tee shirts, grubby jeans, and dirty trainers. The entire ambience was dismal and depressive. To advertise the restaurant as having a river view is a 'con' although a small area of it can be seen but do not expect to be excited. The decor of the joint was drab and uninteresting. The dining tables were without coverings although had a dingy cheap ornament holding one yellow weed like flower. When the meal arrived it had no resemblance to that exhibited in the hotel's brochure; it was akin to a dog's excrement and tasted as awful; its appalling flavour remained in my mouth until I was able to get something else to eat. We were the only diners in the restaurant yet it was a Saturday evening. The meal was inevitably abandoned when we politely paid the bill and did a quick exit. We headed to the nearby Hilton and enjoyed better food and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening listening to pleasurable music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank delparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Well, what is one expected to say to this. There is always someone with a vindictive motive and I guess we are this weeks target.
Just s few things to clear up for our guests that may be looking for some clarification here.
We do not have a hotel brochure with pictures of food.
We have been full every weekend for the last few months.
Please feel free to wear t shirts and grubby jeans, we love you as you are.
We cut our own flowers from the garden every day so our guests can enjoy them.
Our award winning meals have been recently reviewed by many critics including a famous TV chef who said his meal was the best he had had in a while. Check out face book, he’s on there!
Mr Delparc, it sounds like you have high standards that we clearly cannot match. To say you enjoyed the Hilton and then to find out you called it a plughole is rather astonishing.
I really hope that you find happiness that leads to contentment without degradation of every establishment you enter into.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

very good range of fresh local food, well chosen menu, good river views and good fresh cooked breakfasts also

1  Thank Salesman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your meal in the RiverView. Our award winning team work hard to offer great service and fabulous food using local produce wherever possible.
I hope you can make it back soon maybe for our slow food dinner next month. Always the first Thursday of the month, 4-5 courses and special rates if you would like to stay over. It will be our slow food anniversary in September so I am sure there will be some extra delights on the menu.
Thanks again for a lovely review.
Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A great meal is to had at this pleasant restaurant. Our party was warmly welcomed and seated quickly.
None of us wanted a starter so we just ordered main courses. not long after taking the order a tray of complimentary dips and breads arrived as well as a large jug of minted lemon water, My steak was perfect and the mushroom and whisky sauce that came with it was also good. The other members of our group had chicken and duck dishes which were also faultless.the deserts were just as good. a very pleasant dining experience that will be repeated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mick362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We work hard as a team to offer the best Perthshire can provide, changing our menus with the seasons. This week we had our slow food dinner, always a Thursday, 28 pounds a head, 5 course tasting menu with optional wine suggestions. Thought this might be if interest to you. All the information is on our web site.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the RiverView on your next trip up north.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had outstanding meals when I stayed.There were 14 people in our party but the service was spot on and very efficient.A lot of us were veggies so there were more meals put on the menu for the weekend we stayed which was a fantastic touch.The veggie dishes were delicious with a lot of imagination put into them.
Can't really speak highly enough of the food,the non veggies had excellent dishes too.
Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Hello Colin,
I am so glad you enjoyed your party and that the service was all that you would expect from us. Never, ever a problem adding extra vegetarian dishes, we are a creative and well trained bunch here in this kitchen and all dishes are approved by the vegetarian society.
Our celeriac salad is a favourite with many guests with some adding a veggie burger mixed through it, totally vegan. We are very aware of peoples dietary needs/ choices and believe we offer something for everyone. So glad you all enjoyed it and Happy birthday!
It's always a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm Regards,
The Atholl Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverview Restaurant also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing