We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
A picture book location yet just a few minutes from the A9
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A picture book location yet just a few minutes from the A9
Relaxed dining Comfortable beds - downstairs double with en suite shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
A picture book location yet just a few minutes from the A9
Relaxed dining
Comfortable beds - downstairs double with en suite shower
Help yourself - a selection of drinks are available
Take in the views
A winter wonderland
A few minutes walk from the River Braan
Relax in the garden
Ideal for sending a postcard to friends
See other visitors from your bedroom window
Swallows inspect Shian's new sign
The view from our upstairs bedroom
Private Bathroom for upstairs double room
Upstairs Double (with private bathroom)
Relax, read or watch television in your own sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
olga l
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The accommodation was extremely comfortable, though the room was small. The big welcome from our hosts more than made up for this; their home is in an idyllic country setting and very well appointed. The breakfast was excellent and served in the lovely dining room. We would certainly stay again if we were going to stay in that area.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gps G
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming, bright and comfortable, deidicted and freindly hosts”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Adrian and Sheila are attentive and considerate hosts who have hopitality down to a fine art! The house is well appointed in the middle of pasture fields and spectacular rivers and woodland (Glen Baan ) with many nearby walks and makes a great base for visitng Perthshire Amber, the Dougle Maclean Festival. We would deinitley visit again. Highly recommended

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“B & B experience at it's best”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

After attending a wedding in Dunkeld we stayed the night with Sheila and Adrian at their B & B. This couple go that extra mile to make their guests welcome . Their house is warm and homely, the bed so comfortable and an en-suite in pristine condition. Sheila's breakfast was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. There is ample parking and the views from around the house are stunning. If you are looking for accommodation in this area we would have no hesitation in recommending Shian.
Stella and Bob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything overall
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resock
ooo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“piccolo con brio”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A warm welcome and a fantastic breakfast.!A pitty the lower room is pratically by the road, and you can't see that on the foto, and the bathroom is really very basic and very small.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: la campagna intorno
Liked least: lo spazio ristretto e l'impossibilita di chiudere a chiave per mancanza di serratura
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray S
1 review
“Must be the finest B/B in Scotland”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed with Adrian and Sheila for two nights and it was as if we were family, wonderful decor and superb food, tranquil and peaceful area, would recommend to any anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is not a thing to like least about this rental.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233greenm...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“what a lovely place and fantastic owners adrian and shiela”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely stay at Shian Cottage, Adrian and Sheila couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable , a lovely setting with buzzards and swallows all around , would recomend to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015_Trav...
Garbsen, Germany
2 reviews
“my perfect start”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed at Shian Cottage in July 2015. On my way from Edinburgh up north I got a little lost and it got late (I did not have a place to stay yet) when I saw a beautiful drawn bed & breakfast sign indicating that there was still a vacancy. Since it was quite late I hesitated a little but knocked nonetheless. I had a very, very warm welcome by Adrian and found the perfect start on my trip through Scotland.
After having chosen a beautiful room overlooking a green, I enjoyed a very good red wine and conversation with Adrian, which Sheila joined a little later. In the morning I could choose from a great variety of food, going of cause for the English breakfast, which was just what you would wish for. Adrian helped me with my further travels. His recommendation brought me for example to the beautiful place of Dunkeld which I would probably have missed if it wasn't for Adrians tip. All in all it was the perfect start to my highly enjoyable trip through Scotland.
So, summing it up: Sheila and Adrian have a beautiful house. Their hospitality is genuine. The rooms and bath are kept perfectly. The breakfast is very good. 5 stars without a doubt!

To you Adrian and Sheila. Thank you very much and all the best!!!

Christine

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing