We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a place! Six beautifully decorated and furnished yurts in a pretty, peaceful hideaway in Monmouthshire.

The owners, Amanda and Peter gave a very warm welcome and have thought about their guests' every needs. You park in the car park on one side of the valley where your belongings are transferred into a trailer attached to a jeep which transports you down the valley , over the stream to the door of your circular home from home. You can walk in and out of the site across a foot bridge too.

Each yurt has a kingsize bed, a single day bed and five single futon chair beds. There are blankets, cushions and pillows too, but you will need to take your own duvet or sleeping bag to stay nice and warm at night. If you forget you can hire duvets from the owners.
The log burner in each yurt is very efficient, heating the whole yurt evenly and is already stacked when you arrive so all you have to do is put a match to it and off you go. The chimney means that there is no smoke at all in the yurt. There’s plenty of wood to keep you going for your stay. It's worth taking a couple of old newspapers to help you get the fires started on subsequent nights.

Yurt 1 is nearest the stream and the entrance / exit to the campsite. It has its own kitchen which is well equipped with a gas cooker / hob, kettle, plug sockets, crockery, cutlery, glassware, pans, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a few herbs and spices, washing up bowl, washing up liquid, scourer, tea towel and a massive American style fridge freezer. Yurt 1 and 2 have compost toilets nearby with plenty of toilet roll plus sawdust so there is no unpleasant smell.

The main shared kitchen has two electric ovens / hobs, two large fridge freezers, two kettles, plenty of crockery, cutlery, glassware, pans, a cafetiere etc...and lots of cupboard space labelled for each yurt. It has all the other bits and pieces mentioned in Yurt 1's kitchen. It is raised up with a large part covered decked area, and has tables and chairs for dining, some sun loungers, a swing for relaxing in the sun plus board games, and a craft area with paints and canvas. There are more blankets dotted around with a hole in the middle so you can throw them over you as a poncho as the evening cools off.

This is where the two flushing toilets are located too, plus a good quality power shower cubicle, and a cubicle with a bath with a shower over it too. The owners supply showergel, liquid soap, and a few other toiletries in case you forget anything. I even saw suncream! The hand towel by the sink is changed everyday, as are the bathmats in the shower and bath cubicles and toilet roll is replenished daily. There are a couple of travel hairdryers by the showers and a place to plug your straighteners in so no excuse not to look glamourous during your glamping experience!

Tesco can deliver all the supplies you need so there is very little you need to bring with you.
There are campfire areas with plenty of wood to burn, a pizza oven and barbeque plus each yurt has it’s own deck, fire pit / chimnea and wood store - what more could you need for a balmy summer evening. But if the weather isn't too good, at least you know the kitchens are under cover and your yurt will be nice and cosy.

Such thought has gone into this lovely place! I can’t recommend it highly enough. Go and see for yourself – you’re sure to feel your blood pressure lower and your everyday stresses melt away the moment you arrive!

Room Tip: All the yurts are lovely. Yurt 1 has it's own kitchen. Yurt 6 is furthest away from the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaTwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we loved having you all as guests - hens with happiness - you completely proved our policy of not having an outright ban on hen parties was right - we hope the wedding day is perfect and that we see you again. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

As I sit here with a bit of a storm on the go outside, I'm thinking back to our great holiday at Hidden Valley in August. I took four children (two of my own) aged 9 to 11 and stayed in Yurt 1. This was more spacious than yurts we stayed in before, so felt pretty luxurious. The 'private' kitchen was great fun, although made a little less private by the presence of Eric the mouse who nibbled on various foodstuffs until everything was secured in the big fridge! The water in the kitchen is unfiltered but we have friends locally who drink from their own springs and we drink their water so we were not concerned and there were no problems. The yurt site is fantastic, and it was lovely to leave the children playing while I explored some of the footpaths. We went on walks together as well and the children loved making their way down the stream, all getting wet and shrieking with laughter. We went out a few times, to Puzzlewood and Clearwater Caves and thoroughly enjoyed the locations, though the prices were a little steep. We also visited Monmouth and went to the swimming pool (not terribly inspiring) and had a wonderful wander around the unspoilt Raglan Castle at Usk - a magical afternoon.
Advice if you stay at Hidden Valley Yurts - really don't take too much, marshmallows, wellies and spare clothes are the most important! Amanda and Peter were really helpful and I was so glad to take up Amanda's suggestion of a massage. Sheer luxury on a holiday with children was lying in the yurt enjoying a relaxing massage while they happily played outside. My friend, who rented another yurt in the same week, also had a massage and we were both happily glazed for a few hours afterwards!
If I go to Hidden Valley again - and I hope I do - I wouldn't change a single thing!

Room Tip: Yurt 1 is slightly bigger and has its own kitchen, although the shared kitchen was excellent too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Sorry for the delay in responding - I've only just mastered how to leave a response! Thank you for the great review - we loved having you here and really hope to see you all again. It's such a joy for us to see children having fun 'being children'. Welcome back anytime. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have just returned from one of the most fabulous, relaxing and unique weekend breaks we have ever experienced.

We had heard of yurt holidays (in the same breath as 'glamping' and 'cool camping' ) and were eager to try it out for ourselves. Although it has to be said that neither of us are on keen camp-site holidays; too many people , too commercial, etc. Not for us.

However, Hidden Valley Yurts offers a choice of 6 authentic Monoglian Yurts dotted around a sloping, undulating field within a small secret valley in the beautiful Monmouthshire countryside on the borders of south Wales..

Our yurt was beautifully decorated in an eclectic style: Ethnic Mongolian painted woodwork and furniture, colourful rugs and throws with snuggly blankets and cushions, coir matting on the floor and a beautiful 'crown' roof window light. All the yurts have an internal woodburning fire with a safety screen - and we just had to light ours (even though it was a balmy weekend) just to see how it looked - and it was lovely and warm - and despite my reservations at first there was no smoke in the yurt at all.

There were solar powered fairy lights strung all around the yurt sides, a solar reading light as well as one real electric light. We had lanterns for night lights and the whole effect was beautiful, atmospheric and very romantic.

All six yurts were occupied during our stay but we never once felt any intrusion on our privacy. We ate supper and played cards on 'our' deck, lit the chimenea and sat in front of the warmth surrounded by night lights with the moon shining down on us. We could just about see the camp fire lit by some of the other guests (a bunch of cool twenty-something New Zealanders) and hear a group of parents and children enjoying supper in the tented 'dining area' whilst they cooked their home made (or rather yurt made) pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven, but at no time did it feel like an intrusion. In fact it added to the relaxed and friendly atmopsphere.

Sharing the spacious, well equipped outdoor kitchen was fun, easy and everyone seemend mindful of each other's space. Each yurt has it's own fridge and cupboard and there are shared items kindly left by the owners - herbs and spices, flour for the breadmaker/pizza dough maker, a variety of teas and condiments. With two ovens, two kettles, a dishwasher and plenty of work surfaces there was never a feeling of being in anyone's way. Crockery and cutlery was abundant and of good quality and the Aga roasting dish, good solid pans and smart espresso machine was much appreciated.

The communal eating area is a large deck in front of the kitchen which is partially covered (and decorated with guest-made bunting). There are enough tables for all, a swing seat and some smart wooden steamer chairs for sun bathing.

The showers/bath and loos were spotless and the solar heated water (backed up by an immersion heater) was hot and plentiful. Going to the loo was eco-friendly too - the Welsh spring water used for flushing contributed to an elaborate eco system which led to a completely hidden septic tank which in turn fed a reed bed - resulting in clear water...impressive!

Moving on...

The 'hidden valley' has a lovely ford to splash in and a stream where the children of the other guests had a duck race (yes...we watched and wished we had plastic ducks too!).

At one end of the 'field' is a fairy garden with a miniature tipi...just big enough to keep out non-believing grown-ups and let children and fairies in. One of the little girls (age 5) told us that if you didn't believe in fairies you only saw goblins. We believed her.... and I'm sure i saw... no I can't tell you!

The owners of Hidden Valley Yurts - Amanda and Peter - have thought of everything. They (and their very helpful teenage sons Harry and Sam) are on hand if you need them (which we didnt) and discrete enough to let everyone get on with have a blissful, utterly peaceful, relaxing break.

Will we return? Would we recommend Hidden Valley Yurts? Absolutely yes!

Room Tip: All the yurts are lovely but if you want privacy ask for yurt 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Myself and a friend took our children and their friends, ages 10 to 12 to stay here, it was exactly as described on the website, totally relaxing, you can do as much or as little as you like, we enjoyed walking, playing in the stream, alpaca whispering, playing board games, making pizza's, toasting marshmallows, swinging on the rope swings, sitting around the campfire, making fire,walking to the pub for the best chips ever and playing cards chillin in the yurt. Talking and listening to the children laugh without tv and games console distractions was awesome. Can't wait to go back next year, thanks guys for everything. Mandy, Christine, Caleb, Sam, Rachel, Libby and Eve

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

As a frequent visitor to Hidden Valley Yurts, I cannot over-emphasise what a wonderful place it is for a relaxing break with friends or family.

The farm is easily accessible from main roads but, once you're there, is totally isolated from the noise of the outside world.

The owners are the perfect hosts; always available but never intrusive. On arrival, you are immediately made to feel genuinely welcome and get the sense that you are staying in a place that is very much loved. This does, of course, then make you feel at home straight away.

The site is wonderfully located in a beautiful valley and has exactly the right balance between being able to enjoy the rugged outdoors whilst still having plenty of hot water, proper cooking facilities, plenty of fridge space and electricity throughout.

There are no roads nearby so, after a brief lecture on keeping away from the stream, the site is very safe for kids to run around in as much as they please. There are plenty of games for them to play and woods to explore.

The yurts themselves are spacious and well decorated with comfortable beds. Each has its own wood-burning stove and is very cozy should the nights get cold.

There is plenty to do within half and hour's drive - cycling, horse riding, canoeing or just visiting a cider farm and supermarkets nearby should you run out of supplies. There is a pub in the village, although it is a fair walk, all up hill.

This isn't 'glamping' in the sense that high heels are definitely out of the question and there is a steep hill between the car park and the site. There is no TV and no wireless internet. However, it is an excellent way of enjoying the benefits of camping (peace and quiet, natural surroundings etc) without any of the downsides, and always as a guest of extremely kind and cheerful hosts.

Room Tip: Yurts 1 and 6 are best for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IamSancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
9 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
7.6 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
231 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
313 reviews
6.7 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Yurts

Address: Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Chepstow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Yurts Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing