We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply AMAZING place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A simply AMAZING place!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

.. I would go so far as to say magical! This was my first time camping of any description, and "wisely" I choose to be 7.5 months pregnant when I did (!?) So I was a little bit scared about what the experience would be like! I needn’t have worried at all! From the first moment of being met by the owners son Sam and driven by quad bike and trailer to the yurts with all our luggage to the last moment of being driven back the same way by Peter it was nothing short of 100% perfect! A real escape and back to nature experience. The yurts are simply awesome, no other word for them! Although essentially “just tents” lined in wool and covered in waterproof canvas, they don’t feel like that inside or outside, they feel very substantial and like a real home. Our first look in was met with a “wow!” from both me and my husband, they are large, cosy and beautifully and thoughtfully furnished by Amanda and Peter with Mongolian furniture and lots of blankets, ponchos and cushions. There was a king size bed, a day bed / sofa and 2 single futons, the king size bed was so comfortable I slept better here than at home! As you can see from the photos the yurts are circular with a sky light in the middle, and I particularly loved this, falling asleep looking at the stars, and waking in the morning to see sunlight streaming in (although bring an eye mask, for extra snoozing potential as it gets light at 5am at the moment!) The wood burner is brilliant, within 20 mins the yurt is toasty warm, and there are instructions and plenty of wood provided so its very easy to use, and seeing the smoke billow from the chimney makes them look so cosy too! We stayed in Yurt 6 which has its own compost loo (which is essential to me at the moment as a pregnant woman I need to wee about once every second!) Again I was worried what using this would be like, but its great! The compost / ash mix you sprinkle on after you have been negates any and all smells, and it was so convieniant to step out the yurt and up a few steps to use, it has a solar powered light too, so even for night time trips it was easy. There is also a field kitchen for Yurt 6 which had everything you need – we cooked nearly every meal here between the kitchen and the BBQ on the deck!! It has a fridge and 2 ring burner, kettle and all the crockery, kitchen utensils and crockery / glasses etc you would need. And of course above all there facilities you have all the shared ones which are a min walk away. We used the oven one night to make pizzas! Yurt 6 is lovely and private and self contained and we liked being both part of the campsite and separate  There is a large deck around the yurt with steamer lounge chairs, a bench and tale and chairs, great for sitting and soaking in the countryside, and listening to the lambs! There is a BBQ and a chimnea on the deck, so we sat out late at night with the chimnea going, toasting marshmallows and chatting!

The shared facilities are great, super clean and fresh looking, 2 flushing loos, and a shower room, and a big room with a corner bat hand shower in, lots of toiletries too in case you had forgotten anything, hand towels and floor mats changed daily and immaculate. The kitchen has 2 ovens and all the mod cons you could need, coffee machines, toasters etc, so it really is a Glamping experience! There is a massive deck outside this kitchen with lots of tables and chairs and rockers, and the campfire area just outside, a wood burning pizza oven, and a tented table and chairs area in case of rain, its all SO well done, with every attention to detail, including a herb garden for you to use for your cooking.

To get to your car you walk over a little one man bridge and up through a flower meadow, so it really is a hidden valley, and a shame to leave it and go back outside to “normal life” We didn’t do any of the walk around the fields, but it is a HUGE place, with so much to do and explore, we will be back with our little one to do just that.

Lastly and not least at all the owners Peter and Amanda and their sons are wonderful, checking in to see you are ok and have everything you need, but not intrusive, lovely warm, friendly and always available either around the yurts or by phone if you did need anything (although its all so well thought out and planned we didn’t and I cant imagine anyone would!) And I have to mention Tilly the springer spaniel, i deny anyone to not fall in love with her, she would be waiting for us to come back by car from a day out and “lead us” back to our yurt! Always ready for a game of fetch or a run around, she is gorgeous!!

We planned lots of days out, but found it hard to leave the yurt, I can’t really explain how relaxing and awesome it is, you will have to just go yourself!!! A real break away from the everyday world, and a chance to re charge yourself and remind yourself how much pleasure they can be in the simply appreciation of nature and being with the people you love :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley Down
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend at Hidden Valley Yurts last weekend. The site is wonderful. If you have young kids who love the outdoors they will be in their element as there are acres of woodland with hidden camps, a stream running through the campsite with rope swings ready for fantatsic adventuroues. However we went just the two of us for some time alone (our kids are way beyond the camp building stage).

The weekend was bright but chilly, but inside the Yurt - with the log burning stove burning away - it was very cosy. The Yurts are well furnished, well stocked with firewood and kindling, and have plenty of beds for a small family.

Amanda and Peter are very welcoming. We were greeted with fresh flowers in the Yurt and Amanda was very friendly.

Although the campsite has very good cooking facilities, we confined our cooking to breakfast. Very nice too it was eating on the sun deck in the April sunshine (even if it was chilly). There are plenty of local pubs that serve very good food and the whole community seemed very warm and welcoming. The bathroom facilities are very good, with 2 flushing loos, modern bath and large modern shower in the centrl block, and two yurts having their own composite toilets and kitchen.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

What an amazing place! Such lovely owners, couldn't do any more for us! Such a great weekend, lots of fun, rubber duck races, great kitchen facilities, perfect and cosy yurts! Lovely country pub nearby which was a nice walk. Lovely setting for the yurts. Will definitely be returning! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have had a fantastic Easter weekend in Yurt 4. The children felt free- racing rubber ducks and paper boats in the river, decorating boiled eggs, having an Easter Egg hunt, making a teepee, playing on the rope swing, following the alpacas, building a dam in the river, hunting for pigs in the woods, playing with Tilly, having a barbecue, baking pizzas in the stone oven, doing mud face paints, decorating the fairy ring, roasting marshmallows on the bonfire, making new friends, decorating bunting, learning new skills and above all getting very muddy!!! Great fun. Thanks Amanda and Peter. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for the great review - we loved having you here and hope all our 2013 guests are as nice - seeing all the children rushing around having fun gives us a real buzz. See you in July (when it's bound to be warmer...surely!). Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at Hidden Valley yurts on the 26th October. The facilities were excellent and everything was clean and tidy. The yurt itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed walking around the farm through the alpaca fields and the views were amazing. The local pub the carpenters arms was great for food and we enjoyed an evening meal there. Warm clothes and wellies were a must at this time of year, we are looking forward to going back in the summer. Thank you Amanda, Peter and of course Tilly the dog for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolly097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Have just got back from a lovely weekend here!
We have never stayed in a yurt before, so it was a wonderful experience! The yurts were lovely! The kitchen was fantastic and shower was nice and hot! We loved walking around the farm. It was a really relaxing break. Amanda and Peter were incredibly helpful and friendly and really made such an effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable! Would recommend this to anybody who fancies a relaxing, fun, outdoor break! We would definitely come again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My fiance flew over from the States and after not seeing each other for a long time, we wanted a nice get away together for a few nights. The Yurt was the perfect place. Amanda and Peter are great people and were so flexible with our needs. This place rocked - we had Sally Kay come by to our Yurt and gave us an indian head massage each - AMAZING!! Very nice lady. We had the log fire going all night with our fairy lights and lanterns inside, it was so romantic. The kitchen and bathroom facilites were great - everything you need for a fab glamping experience!! Have recommended to many friends already and we will definitely visit again. Thanks for a great break... Claire & Chris

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
6.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
6.3 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
9.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.7 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Yurts

Property: Hidden Valley Yurts
Address: Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Chepstow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Yurts Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing