We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
129
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza oven compost loo fairy lights shared facilities rope swing stream running log burner large deck private kitchen busy life outdoor furniture carpenters arms keeping warm great place for children idyllic holiday communal campfire buggy ride
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We returned home yesterday after a 5 day stay at Hidden Valley Yurts. What a lovely place for a relaxing holiday where children can be children. They played with the other children and enjoyed being wet and muddy in the stream or the woods. The rope swings were a big hit! We stayed in yurt one which had it's own kitchen and a compost toilet. We had everything we needed and it was lovely to find our shopping delivery had been packed away in the cupboards and fridge by Amanda. The yurt was so cosy with the wood burner, candles and fairy lights on in the evenings whilst we played board games together. We would highly recommend yurting !

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 5hailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts and Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for this review - we know how important a family holiday is and it means such a lot to us to know that we helped you to have one. Welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just got back from the most amazing holiday - Amanda and Peter have created a very special place where I recharged my batteries and the children entertained themselves either in the stream and wood or quietly playing board games, coming back to the yurt for food and drinks and to watch me tackle my first of several bar-b-ques! The yurts are comfy and there's plenty of space to relax on the decking. As previous reviewers have mentioned the yurts are spaced for privacy but the kitchen area is brilliant to mingle - everyone got on so well - adults and children alike. In fact that was one of the things which really made this holiday so much fun. Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly, relaxing, fantastic! My family feels together again and for that I thank you. We will be back!!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Cwtch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts and Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us such lovely feedback. We hope Hidden Valley Yurts is always a lovely place to holiday but it is the case that some weeks the magic seems to be even more special - and this was certainly one of them - and the extra ingredient has to be the guests! I really do have the best job in the world! Hope we get to meet you again. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have just come back from a lovely Monday to Friday holiday at Hidden Valley Yurts. The yurt was comfortable and there was a really nice community feeling among the families staying. It was really nice to see all the children playing together in the grounds and with the games that were provided. We loved having Tilly the springer spaniel visiting us at tea times and she polished off a couple of our barbecued sausages! The facilities were very clean and tidy and it was good to not have to worry about bringing cutlery or crockery on holiday. Just two points of (hopefully) constructive criticism, a few more knives needed in the cutlery containers and perhaps clearer signs on the recycling bins as to what needed to go in the bin, bag and box (also wasn't sure if juice tetrapaks could be put in the recycling). But, thank you so much for a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts and Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for taking the trouble to leave this lovely review and also for the constructive comments - very helpful - hadn't realised the knives had got so low (what does happen to knives?) - have re-stocked now and re-written the signs for the recycling so hopefully they are clearer. Enjoy the rest of the summer and welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay. The setting is idyllic, the yurts are laid out sympathetically on the site with communal spaces to meet and talk with others and plenty of space for you to be on your own if you want.

We had a relaxing week, which is what we wanted - with plenty of things to do on site and locally. Highlights on site were the walks in the woods, wood fired pizza oven and the communal fire pit. Activities we enjoyed locally were at Wye Valley Archery and canoes on the river from Monmouth Canoe Centre. If we'd wanted to we could have spent the whole week on the site.

Amanda and Peter's attention to detail makes a huge difference - from before you arrive on site until you leave they've thought about what you want as a 'guest'.

I won't go into anymore detail - you need to book a holiday to experience the magic!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We returned from ten perfect nights and days at Hidden Valley Yurts four days ago and I still feel relaxed! We were able to stop and take stock in the beautiful countryside surrounded by trees, a stream, hills, alpacas and the farm's two lovely dogs, Spot and Tilly. This is a little spot of heaven- one where you can leave the world behind and get back to what matters.

What really made the holiday for me was the lovely welcome we got from Amanda, Peter, Sam, Harry and team. From my first enquiry to our final goodbye, we were received warmly and with huge smiles. We were treated as we were the first guests. Nothing was too much bother.

Our yurt and the whole site is maintained to a really high standard- you still feel a connection to the countryside, but everything was really clean and managed with love. The addition of the pizza oven, campfire, BBQs and chimmeneas meant outdoor cooking and campfire singing was a must!

Our daughter was able to walk Spot the dog everyday. She also helped Amanda look after the alpacas- a big highlight for her.

In summary, Hidden Valley Yurts excels on Big Welcomes, has excellent accommodation and out of this world surroundings. For me, the experience was made by the people- Thank you Amanda, Peter, Sam and Harry.

Amanda and Peter should be proud of what they do- thank you very much for one of the best holidays I've ever had.

Room tip: All yurts are lovely. I am glad we chose one near the communal space- this helped us make new friends.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews