We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what a B&B should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just what a B&B should be”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Willowbrook is owned and run by Sarah who really makes you feel welcome. We had a suite for a family of 4 with its own access which was great as we were able to come and go as we pleased.

The rooms are a good size with a twin and double beds which are really comfortable. Plenty of heating should you need it.

The breakfast was superb and worth the extra as it set us up for the day.

Willowbrook is easy to find being not far from the bridge off the roundabout for Chepstow.

A lovely place to base yourself for a visit, and for a small town there appears to be lot on.

Room Tip: The family suite has its own access which is useful if you are coming and going as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
31
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this B and B in Chepstow on a Sunday night in August. Our room, #2, was clean and roomy and the bed also extremely comfortable. Sarah, the owner, was delightful, friendly and helpful. She cooked us a wonderful cooked breakfast before we left. If there was a negative it would be the noise of the traffic on the road close by, even with the windows closed. However, overall a very positive experience and we will certainly return to this cosy and friendly B and B when we are in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week and our stay was faultless. Sarah very kindly gave us a self catering room with a little kitchen which was great as we could keep costs down! Our room was lovely with fantastic views out over the fields. We were well looked after and Sarah was an absolutely hostess. We found the hotel by chance on Booking.com and I have to say I think we were extremely lucky to get somewhere this good at such a decent rate! We certainly plan to return and definitely recommend Sarah and Willowbrook to others!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Georgia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The exchange of emails when booking and seeking recommendations for a restaurant indicated that we would be very welcome at Willowbrook and when we actually met up with Sarah my view was reinforced.

This is a small, family run, Guest House just outside Chepstow, that has almost completed a 5 year programme of improvements - we missed the removal of the last palm tree, apparently, a few weeks earlier.

Dogs are welcome in certain bedrooms, these have direct access to the small garden and a view of the fields (and cows), but not allowed in the breakfast room - for perhaps understandable reasons although a slight disappointment.

The rooms have self catering facilities, for no extra charge, and our room had a "wet-room" for a bathroom - perhaps making the toilet paper a little damp?

The high point of our one night stay was the breakfast. Apart from the cereals/ fruit juice, porridge etc on offer, and the traditional full English (sorry, Welsh), Sarah also provided traditional welsh Laverbread cake on Black pudding, with bacon, fried egg and mushrooms - I had an extra sausage. The Laverbread was new to me but it tasted very nice, was very soft, and reminded me a little of haggis. Anyway, it warranted a photo which I hope to attach to this review. I was very nicely presented.

Sarah is very enthusiastic about her business and welcome suggestions and ideas - like if dogs are welcome then perhaps provide dog biscuits, a blanket or towels, or throw-over just in case the dogs cannot read and jump on the bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Symonds Yat, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our stay. Comfortable, quiet accommodation, best breakfast in two week trip, most accommodating hostess who went the extra mile to help us arrange our trip, even after we left her lovely guesthouse. Thank you, Sarah,

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here and found this B&B an excellent place to stay. We were in the room on top of the annexe. Very comfortable, clean and soacious room. The breakfasts were 5 star. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitt181, Owner at Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words. I'm so glad you both enjoyed. Wishing your family all the best with their move to the area, and if they need anymore local knowledge just ask!

Very best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I chose to stay at this Bed and Breakfast while I was on a quick trip back to Wales. Everything, from the moment I arrived to the time I left was great. I was greeted by the enthusiastic Sarah who made sure my stay would be a good one. I was placed in a self contained unit, very very clean, and with NO noise from the road. This is indeed a perfect place to stay, and I would recommend it to anyone. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
1.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
No.8 Accommodation
No.8 Accommodation
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
BroadRock
BroadRock
#1 of 14 in Chepstow
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation

Property: Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation
Address: Pwllmeyric, Chepstow NP16 6LE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbrook Guesthouse, a beautiful dwelling within the historical town of Chepstow. Willowbrook is open all year(except Christmas and New Year) offering Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation and provides the perfect location for a holiday, short break or business trip. The historic town centre is just 2 mins drive long with Chepstow Racecourse and The David Broom Equestrian Centre only 5 mins away. We are 10 mins drive from the famous Tintern Abbey and The National Diving and Activity Centre. Golfers, The Championship Old Course is just 2 mins away and we are incredibly fortunate to be surrounded by 20 fantastic courses including The Celtic Manor (Ryder Cup Hosts 2010. Cardiff, Bristol and Newport are easily accessible from the M4 motorway only 2 mins away. Willowbrook runs on a self check-in basis only. Each guest room boasts its own private entrance allowing guests to arrive at their leisure. All of our individually decorated rooms are spacious, stylish and comfortable including all amenities you would expect along with complimentary toiletries, biscuits and bottled Welsh mineral water. Our Self Catering rooms include a kitchenette whilst affording some of the most beautiful scenery within Chepstow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Guesthouse Accommodation Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing