We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, thanks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great lunch, thanks!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We both had smoked haddock with mash and peas from the extensive lunch menu. One of the best poached haddocks we've ever had, and believe me we've had a few!
There is very pleasant seating in the bar and in two adjacent dining areas.
We didn't have time to explore the castle, so we'll be back soon!

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pinkertonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcvc, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal here with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us again soon!

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    77
    59
    30
    32
See reviews for
40
91
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nearly qualifies as "shabby chic" but not quite; the decor needs a facelift together with other facets of the hotel.Service is usually very good and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. Food is very good and very reasonably priced. It's good that it doesn't belong to a chain - family run establishments are few and far between. Client base is fairly eclectic. Hotel location is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcvc, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your evening meal with us.

I am pleased that the Beaufort being a family run business was to your liking. We always believe that not being part of a chain is a huge asset to our customers, as they get an all round better service.

Myself and all the staff here would be thrilled if you were to stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Beaufort for one night to allow us to take a bus from Chepstow to Tintern Abbey. The hotel was centrally located, within walking distance of the train station and the bus stop that will take you to Tintern. The staff were kind enough to let us put our bags in our room before check in time so that we could carry on with our sightseeing that day. The room was comfortable although it was fairly warm on the summer day when we stayed (a portable fan would have been nice). Breakfast was not included, but they did have a coffee/tea maker in the room. The neighborhood was quiet and we had a good night's sleep; the patrons of the restaurant downstairs (older gentlemen who were drinking wine and singing various tunes--a real treat!) packed up and left well before bedtime. Ceilings were very low in doorways (typical of an old European building), so be careful to watch your head!

Room Tip: No A/C, so stay on the lowest floor possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcvc, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards to the warmth of your room, a portable fan can be requested at reception as we all know that during the height of an unusually hot summer the rooms can get very warm indeed.

We look forward to you returning to stay with us again soon in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a one night stay in this hotel when visiting the area. It is located right in the middle of Chepstow and has parking facilities in the rear which was great. The room was clean but a little dated. Breakfast was delicious.Staff were friendly and the atmosphere in the bar was good.
if you are in the area I would give this a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcvc, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you our staff friendly and efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Superb stay at Beaufort, clean rooms, staff friendly and looked after our party execellently. This is our second stay and we have already booked for next year. The food is delicious and breakfast is spot on. This is a family break we do every year and we enjoy our stay at the Beaufort. Best wishes , the Mcclean family .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcvc, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience with us and I would like to thank you for your kind words.

We all look forward to seeing you in July next year!

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Beaufort Hotel with friends recently for one night. The rooms are basic and a bit dated but clean and perfectly adequate for what we needed.

Not sure it would be suitable for a romantic weekend away, but that's not what we were looking for!

The food is of a good standard and the sea bass special was very nice indeed. My friends had more usual pub food, and that looked good as well. The bar staff were all friendly and the service fast and efficient. Drink prices were reasonable and we were offered tasters of drinks we had not tried before.

Readers of my reviews will know I judge a hotel by its breakfast and the Beaufort did not let me down. The bacon was cooked properly (with crispy bits) and the rest was very nicely cooked. It wasn't a massive serving but was plenty with the included toast and set me off well for a long day.

It was the second time I had stayed at the Beaufort and I wouldn't hesitate staying again should I be in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank manoman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside418, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear you had a memorable experience both staying and dining with us, and you thought our team were friendly and efficent.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chef.

Myself and all the team here look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed in annex room at rear. On ground floor so had to close blind otherwise passers by were looking in. Wifi did not work in the Annex - when mentioned to staff I was told I could sit in the bar, but wanted peace and quiet so not an option. Rooms need freshening up, shower certainly not a power one. Could hear every movement from upstairs. Breakfast was alright, evening meal seemed to be from a packet. Car park is small and narrow but if you arrive after 5.00 pm there is a public car park behind the hotel you can use. Not well signposted so took two or three loops round the town to get to the car park.

Room Tip: Don't go in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside418, Manager at Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am astonished by the comments made by this guest as they do not seem justified in the slightest.

Our annex is always a delight for customers who stay with us as its a large room with a personal entrance separate to all other rooms in our hotel.

It seems that this guest certainly didnt dine with us or the comment our food looked 'out of a packet' would not have been made. Our food is fresh and made to order and certainly does not come out of a packet. Considering they didnt eat an evening meal I feel they have no grounds on which to comment on our food.
As so many previous reviews have shown, our food is held in the highest regards by guests and locals alike.
Our chef has been with us for over 16 years and we have diners travelling from miles afar to continually dine with us because of the high standard that he and his team continue to deliver time and time again.

We have 13 car parking spaces and although we operate on a first come first served basis, there are many alternatives that our team can offer our guests that travel by car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
4.7 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow

Property: Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Address: Beaufort Square, Chepstow NP16 5EP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing