We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday lunch - must visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday lunch - must visit!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I visited St Pierre in a group of six couples. We booked in advance to secure a table after a recommendation from my mother in law. Starters consisted of cold meats, prawn cocktail, salad and soup. All very tasty. The mains of a self serve Carvery was absolutely delicious. Pork and beef was sliced fresh as you chose with chicken and fish also available. The veg, potatoes, Yorkshire puds and gravy all beautifully cooked. The deserts and cheeses were in short supply as we were there for the tail end of lunch (table booked from 2pm) but still very tasty. We had to prompt for coffee at the end but all in all it was really enjoyable with polite and helpful staff. I would recommend a visit for anyone looking to fill their boots at a really good Sunday lunch and will definitely be visiting again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    433
    209
    77
    28
See reviews for
195
480
29
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Biggest credit goes to the cleaners in this hotel. My acute observations could not find a single cobweb or dust anywhere. If the manager of the hotel reads this then please relay this to your cleaning staff. I stayed here for the 60 field vets army reunion. Food was also excellent as was the customer service from bar and waitresses. Its not a cheap place to stay at, but the quality of the stay is certainly reflected in the high standard of our stay. Nice views of the surrounding countryside, and a golf course. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craig230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Glad you enjoye your stay. Look forward to seeing you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a very nice stay here for 3 nights. We were in a Lakeside suite which worked really well - the two children were on the sofabed in one large room (with their own tv), and the adults were in the adjoining bedroom. There was a sunny balcony accessed from both rooms. The bathroom was dated, as mentioned in previous reviews. It was a few minutes walk from the main buildings, but fine. Dinner in Zest and Morgans was good and included in our rate - childrens menu rather limited though (and even pasta seemed to come with chips, even if chips not ordered). The service from all the staff we met was excellent - very helpful, proactive and friendly. There is lots to do around the area.

As a footnote, it's a shame the website is so uninformative about the layout of the hotel and rooms. We spoke to Reservations to try to get more information but must have got through to the central Marriott call centre as it was evident the person spoken to had never visited the place. We were almost put off before we got there, which would have been a real shame as it's difficult to find hotels with the right accommodation for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azure2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a friends Wedding Reception & decided to also book a room. I have to say it was stunning! We stayed in the courtyard where each room is named after a flower. I think our room had recently been refurbished, stunning. Very spacious, amazing bathroom. Had everything we needed, even an iron & board! The bed was so comfortable, which says a lot as I normally don't sleep well in hotels as I like my own bed, but no problems here.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. And I like the fact that they have a chef cooking eggs to order rather than leaving them under a hot lamp.
The only downside is the price of the drinks! But that can be forgiven as it's not something that we do every day, and the quality more than made up for that. Thank You.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky2011xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for the great feedback. Glad all went well; hope you enjoyed the wedding too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The old 14th century manor that stands in the centre of the resort looks fairly attractive from the outside but unfortunately that is where it ends. The addition of various buildings from the 1980s makes the whole place look like a badly designed cheap caravan park. Our King Room in one of the newer wings was small and dark with very low ceilings and a desperately tiny bathroom. It is very dated and is in bad need of refurbishment. When we arrived, the drive signposted "reception and check-in" was coned off (because of a wedding we later found out) but there was no sign informing arriving guest of what to do. In the end we had to park in the golf club carpark and try to locate the reception area on foot. Staff training is poor. Attempting to order coffee in the lobby was shambolic as a confused young lady had no idea where to get it from and implied that we had to pay cash as we may not have sufficient credit with reception to cover the £3.30 charge. Dinner in the Morgan's Restaurant was good though and breakfast had a reasonably good selection of both hot and cold items. Golf might be good here but the hotel is nowhere near the four star it claims to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Executive Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are sorry for any confusion caused to you with the courtyard area being blocked off. We take on board your feedback and will be looking into additional signage for such occasions. When you next stay with us we would like to recommend our Courtyard Rooms which are the converted stables and overlook the 14th Centry Manor house and which we feel confident you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a double - not the best rooms - very tired bathrooms and quite small. Spa is ok, but definitely been to better - prices are ridiculous for location/ambience. £38 for a 25 min massage rivals my central London therapists prices. Also only lasted 20min. My husband enjoyed the golf and considered it to be a fairly good course. Food at Morgans is ok, definitely not fine dining as they attempt to be. Although steak was very good, rest was average. Wine selection is ok.
Breakfast variety is very good - hot breakfast, various egg options, cereals, fruit, baked goods.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful (especially the reception staff).
This could be a great place with some updating and an improvement in the dinner fare.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a suite, the doubles are small and don't have great views. Think the lakeside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

16 golfers visited the resort for a birthday weekend, several of us celebrating birthdays from 60 - 80. A few days before arriving we were informed that we couldn't use the Mathern Course unless we had winter wheeled trolleys as the course was so wet. Access from green to tee was horrendous! Most of us didn't so we were "upgraded" to the Old Course, which we now had to play twice. Our initial round should have been at 11am, but because we were "upgraded" we couldn't play until 2.30 - 3.00pm. It was past 8.00pm when our last group finished their round in the dark and so, by the time we had showered etc. we were not eating until 9.30. Too late for us! The menu was particularly limited as we had a "special" deal -this made us feel like second class citizens - and even though we had spoken to the staff earlier in the day we were offered only one other choice of dish. Disappointing! The staff in the restaurant were quite pleasant, taking orders for drinks and offering us water at the table, for which we were presented with a bill for 6 bottles of water! Tapped!
Access to our room was not a pleasant experience as we had to walk outside through the rain to what I would call the annexe. The immediate impression here was not good as the stair carpet needed cleaning! We then travelled down to the basement! An unusual experience. The room itself was clean fresh, but its aspect was disappointing and the bathroom was small.
Bar prices were initially expensive and whatever drink one requested the most expensive version of that was supplied. We got wise to this eventually. Some of the waitresses serving snacks from the bar could, at times, be quite off hand.
All in all, not a pleasant experience.
Thankfully, we had good company, so,the whole weekend was not a total disaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
11.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing