We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I, stayed at the hotel on sunday 25th may for 1 night. We booked a junior suite, and arrived late evening, around 11pm. The staff were very welcoming. We arrived to our suite to find the lights appeared not to work. A quick call to reception & they were over within a couple of minutes, advising the lamps should be turned on in a set order and then the lights would work. Not a major problem but arriving late, was something we could have done without. The porter was very helpful and sympathetic. My partner then ordered room service, and that arrived promptly. Lovely check out time at 12pm, and breakfast was good. Lovely location, plenty of parking. On another note, the bed was so so comfy and very big, had a fab nights sleep! Bathroom, little grubby and in need of an update.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emwee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback. Delighted that we were able to sort out the problem with the lights in your room. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    433
    209
    77
    28
See reviews for
195
480
29
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an interesting hotel that really exists to provide bedrooms for groups of people playing golf. The staff are lovely and were very helpful at every turn. However the hotel itself is tired and run down looking. We were shown 3 rooms and all looked like a 1970s sitcom.

The food was reasonable but we ate in the bistro rather than the fine dining as the food and service were better. We felt the main dining room lacked leadership.

The gym and swimming pool were clean and well looked after.

Unfortunately they ran out of gluten free bread on one of our days which was a problem for my wife.

Overall, excellent staff let down by the decor and maintenance of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longdistancecyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your constructive feedback, which will be passed to the relevant department Managers for review and action where necessary. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. The weather was wonderful and the venue very attractive with a beautiful little chaple. The hotel rooms off the main building have no air con and do get very hot in good weather but the rooms are very nice standard 4 star hotel rooms. Try and get a room on the ground floor if your in the main building as these were cooler.
This is a golf resort first and a hotel second. Many golfers in our party loved this place. As a non golfer it was a nice hotel which is a little tired in places, but then it is what it says it is a golf resort, so don't let my thoughts on the hotel in general disuade you.
Best part was how cheap the pitchers of pimms were! Just £10!?! Amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofoffice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the great feedback. Hope the nice weather continues, so that everyone can try the Pimms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hubby and I stayed at the beautiful Marriott St Pierre, in the Wye Valley for one night, as part of a work tour of England and Wales. It was the last of four, and had a lot to live up to after a great hotel in Cheshire immediately preceding it.

It didn't let us down!

Deapite a worrying start, where my request for a room close to the main amenities, to suit my hip problem, was not noted, as promised, but the reception staff put it right by offering a free upgrade to one of their little cottage bedrooms.. It was lovely. The weather was beautiful and to be honest, anywhere looks pretty in the sunshine, but the St Pierre is a place apart. Grade 2 listed, stunning grounds containing 2 golf courses, a pond and manicured lawns. It was idyllic.

We opted to eat outside our room in the sun, and ordered room extensive room service menu, which delivered even more than it promised. A lovely fresh prawn and crayfish salad, beetroot humus, crispy gnocchi in blue cheese sauce and soft lamb, all arrived hot and cooked superbly - the best room service food ever!

Hubby was there to work, and so it fell to me to make the most of the morning sun, but we also managed breakfast before he did. Again, fabulous breakfast menu. All the usual suspects, but with lovely salmon fritatta and steak and eggs. Perfect, with a great choice of accompanying fruit juices including pink grapefruit and tomato. Delicious.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, lovely rooms, comfy beds and small but perfectly formed bathroom, spotlessly clean and just ideal for a short stay. I didn't see them, but hubby said the conference facilities were superb. Beautifully designed and perfect for meetings large or small.

I hope we'll be back next year, and wish it was a bit nearer home in Edinburgh. Well done Marriott and well done the lovely staff of this beautiful part of Cymru,

Room Tip: The only thing to disappoint in any way is the lack of walk in showers, which is difficult for peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Delighted you had a good stay with us. Make sure you both get to relax next time you're here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first time at the St Pierre and the welcome and service were fabulous. The look of the main hotel is beautiful. We had booked a Junior Suite and were slightly surprised at how far away from the main building we were, would be an issue if weather was bad. Suites were large and comfortable but could do with a bit of a face lift, bathroom in particular .

Breakfasts were excellent and ate twice in the bistro at the evenings which was ok, not brilliant.

Would certainly put it as a " must go back "

Room Tip: Suites in village location very quiet but not good if weather poor, closer or in hotel would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is our 5th time now and yet again, an excellent stay.
This is our daughters favourite hotel, the staff put her on the VIP list and treated her like royalty wherever she went.
We stayed in a junior suite in the courtyard( ground level) only moan was you could hear all the traffic above us.
The breakfast was amazing as always!
A special thanks to Oana who arranged everything for us and made it a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had booked a standard double room on a special offer and expected to be put in a cupboard somewhere.
The room we were allocated was lovely room with wonderful veiws over the golf course. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had.
Love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.9 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#5 of 18 in Newport
5,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing