We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a golfing trip with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good for a golfing trip with friends”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As a group of eight golfers, living in different parts of the UK, this hotel suited us all. We enjoyed playing the two different courses though the Mathern Course was not in such good condition as the Old Course. Unfortunately one of our group was unable to play golf and was very disappointed to find the swimming pool closed, we were not told of this until we arrived. On arrival we wanted a sandwich for lunch but were told by the reception staff that the only place where we could eat was the Zest restaurant. We had a long wait and there was little atmosphere. We later discovered that the Trophy bar did in fact serve food and was where golfers tended to gather, so were at a loss as to why we had been told otherwise. Our rooms were ready on arrival but on returning to them after golf none of the key cards worked and we had several long walks to reception to sort this out. Our rooms were in the cottages by the lake, a lovely setting.
The food in the main restaurant was ok, the fried eggs at breakfast were cooked in half a centimetre of oil which was very unappetising.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Village" are a walk away from the main hotel building but a lovely setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Have noted your constructive comments for action. Many thanks. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    435
    209
    77
    29
See reviews for
195
481
29
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a mini trip to wales, as I had never been to Chepsow and I wanted to see the roman excavations at Caerleon and caerwent.
The hotel is great, as you would expect from a Marriott.
We stay at Marriott because we love the beds. A good nights sleep is almost guaranteed. We were given a room in the lakeside village, which surprisingly has no air conditioning of fan in the bathroom. Consequently if you have a shower the windows in the bedroom steam up and the room smells slightly damp. We noticed this on arrival but opening all the windows and the front door soon made the room fresh.
If you need a dark room to sleep soundly bring a bit of scotch tape and cardboard! The light coming through the glass in the front door is annoying. It took a long time to get to sleep as it was so light in the room.
We had lunch and dinner in Zest. We just wanted a light lunch to get to Chepstow castle and to look around the town. The service was very pleasant and the local lady that served us could not have been more helpful.
Coming back from Chepstow I had a quick dip in the pool and sampled the sauna and steam rooms. very refreshing and not overcrowded. The Gym was busy.

In the evening we were tired and wanted a quick bite before going to bed so we were back in Zest.
Prices are not the cheapest but you are in a very upmarket location.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice to satisfy every taste.

One thing I did notice was that most of the customer facing staff were not local. Perhaps it was just in the restaurants and the reception but it is noticeable. All the staff regarding of their nationality are pleasant and knowledgeable.
The receptionist on check out suggested we visit Caldicot Castle a few miles south, on our way to Caerleon. It was a lovely experience. Entry is free, the castle is interesting and they have a nice cafe.
I am not a golfer, but I will be back at the St Pierre for a longer break and to explore the area further.

Room Tip: Check if the room has air conditioning - not all do. Rooms in the Village are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. There's lots more to see locally, so we hope to see you again before too long. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the St Pierre two weeks ago for one night. First impressions of the hotel is really good when you drive through the arch. Check in was quick and easy. We did not have a room in the main hotel however the room was clean comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent.Plenty of choice and freshly prepared eggs of your choice. Fresh fruit and good choice if you require continental breakfast. Grounds were stunning and great place for golfers. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for the fabulous feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope we see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were excellent. Everything worked, very easy and comfortable stay.
The rooms we stayed in were good but just needed bringing up to date. We were there for 2 weeks in a suite with kitchenette and felt really comfortable. Great beds, good gym and pool area, easy parking and access.
Would recommend this place and have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ladderinthebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your extended visit with us. Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arranged a birthday treat for my partner via Your Golf Travel for a one night golf break. Played the Old course on the first afternoon. It was very very busy and the round took nearly 5 hours. We were a 2 ball and the problem we found was that slower groups would just not let us through. I think a lot of golfers seemed to be on society days and obviously not regular golfers and not aware of course etiquette.
The hotel room was really quaint and overlooked the courtyard. It was well appointed but again had to pay for Internet access!!! Dinner in the Morgan restaurant was spoiled by the slow service, almost as slow as the golf round. It took an hour and a quarter before the main course was served. The food however was delicious and staff very polite.
The following day we played the. Mathern course which was nowhere near as busy so much more enjoyable. Not as long as the Old course but still a good test of golf.
Only gave it 4 stars because of the slow play and slow service at dinner. If you are not bothered by this it would rate 5 star

Room Tip: Room overlooking courtyard very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback; hope the slow golf and slow service in the restaurant won't deter you from visiting with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfair Caereinion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here just the one night, in a room that was easy accessible, from the courtyard , for my disability ,,at first when i approached the doorway to the room i thought it might be small and comfortable, how wrong can one person be.
The rooms were large and very well equipped, and some what over the top for one person staying in it, two bathrooms and bed you could sleep a family in, and so comfortable, it felt like my own bed at home, and the whole place was so quiet, even when people were leaving the bar at two in the morning i heard nothing.
The whole place had a lovely feel to it, and i would have no problems staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thankyou for the wonderful feedback. Hope it won't be long before you visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ok...firstly, we came here 24 years ago on our honeymoon and stayed in Rose Cottage which was great. So...what was it like to return for a three night stay using Marriott Reward Points as a Gold Elite member?

Check In: asked if we wanted newspaper and/or wake up call. Only needed newspaper, no wake up and was told we had a golf view room. Also told breakfast was extra at £10 per person (should be free for Gold Elite members) and so passed on breakfast! (£60 for three nights!!)

Room: was in an annex to the main building (Room 325). attic style room, with a sloping wall to one side with a window (broken and only opens a small way). 4'6" bed (smaller than a 6' bed I get at Marriott Courtyard), one armchair (get a sofa at Marriott Courtyard), sliding wardrobe doors where if you need to iron your clothes you have to take out anything you have hung up first to get the ironing board out. Biscuits with the tea/coffee are the cheapest (Walkers shortbread at the Courtyard). Bathroom tiny. Basically, the room was suited to a single golfer rather than a couple on a 3 night break.

Complex: Dined in Zest the first night and food ok but £40 for a pizza and fish and chips and 2 drinks, with par-fried chips with the fish and raw peppers on the pizza was not exactly country club style. Could hear the chef and kitchen staff shouting throughout the evening (another guest complained about this). Employees were fine but drinks were expensive, with a 175ml glass of Pinot Grigio and a pint of Becks coming in at over £10.

Wake Up Calls: On morning after checking in we received a wake up call at 07:00!! did not request one and so told reception employee to make sure this would not happen again....for our next two mornings we received a wake up call at 07:00!!!

Other guests: Know you cannot control other guests but when you appear to be based in a part of the hotel with coach party guests, they were banging around the corridor at 01:00 and swapping rooms/getting their fill, it again is not what you would expect.

Checkout: Was going to be charged for newspapers but when mentioned I was a Gold Elite member these were then removed from the bill. Asked if breakfast was an extra for Gold Elite was told it was not and so we could have had 3 days of breakfasts!! Reception employees seem not to know what Marriott's regular guests are allowed (employees at the Marriott Courtyard I go to regularly know exactly what my profile is, serve me by name, and provide service above and beyond what is expected from their brand, with a room twice the size of that at St. Pierre).

Overall: was it worth 75,000 points...no, in a word. We have stayed at the Marriott Victoria and Albert in Manchester and had a great room, class service and great food. Did this match it?....no, room poor, food average, requests not met, employee knowledge of guests poor. Not what we expected.

By the way...I am also a Diamond HiltonHonors member and stayed at the Cardiff Hilton the night before the St. Pierre...we were met by name, put in a penthouse junior suite, use of the executive lounge with free drinks and food, free breakfast for us both and valet parking (for a charge)...the service was way and above that of the St. Pierre.

Am awaiting Bill Marriott's feedback e-mail so we can feedback directly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judyteen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Executive Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We were so sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us and would very much like the opportunity to speak with you personally with regards to this. If you are able, would you be so kind as to call the Executive Office at St Pierre directly on 01291 635219.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.9 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#5 of 18 in Newport
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing