We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even good for non-golfers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even good for non-golfers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while on a gardening tour. Although the hotel is a mecca for golfers - you are surrounded by golf course throughout, the stay was nevertheless most comfortable. The centre of the hotel consists of picturesque old buildings alongside a working church, although our accommodation was in a large modern block to one side - rooms entirely adequate and perfectly comfortable. Breakfasts were brilliant; dinners (just for our group) were OK - same carrots and broccoli every night?) Would have been good to have fairtrade tea and coffee in the rooms. Wifi horrendously expensive in the rooms - £6 an hour! - but free in the lobby. Difficult to go for walks in the grounds because of danger of flying golf balls. Rooms quiet, despite proximity of two motorways and railway line. Superlative service throughout. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anny454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Delighted you had a good time. Thanks for the fab feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    422
    200
    75
    28
See reviews for
189
462
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed with my wife for one night last weekend and we had a great time. As a Gold Elite member, I was concerned with a review from two weeks back of a Gold member who was not so happy and gave a 2* review. I am pleased to report that from check-in to check-out the service and attention was really excellent. I was met with a personal welcome, provided with a room upgrade (lakeside lodge), offered free breakfasts, paper, late check-out etc by exceedindly courteous and knowledgable (about Gold Elite benefits) staff. It was a busy weekend with a wedding and many golfers - which may not be to all tastes - but the hotel, grounds and locality (try the Millers Arms in nearby Mathern for food and good local atmosphere) exceeded my expectations. Congratulations and thanks to the St Pierre staff for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Delighted all went well for your visit with us. Hope to see you back at St Pierre soon. Thanks for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WALES G.B
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We attended our friends wedding on the 21 st June 2014 . We had the wedding & reception at this hotel, the food was very good, the staff we pleasant ,overall everything was great & wedding was amazing, thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Hotel & golf resort was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Delighted you had a good time, hope we see you again before too long. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

As a group of eight golfers, living in different parts of the UK, this hotel suited us all. We enjoyed playing the two different courses though the Mathern Course was not in such good condition as the Old Course. Unfortunately one of our group was unable to play golf and was very disappointed to find the swimming pool closed, we were not told of this until we arrived. On arrival we wanted a sandwich for lunch but were told by the reception staff that the only place where we could eat was the Zest restaurant. We had a long wait and there was little atmosphere. We later discovered that the Trophy bar did in fact serve food and was where golfers tended to gather, so were at a loss as to why we had been told otherwise. Our rooms were ready on arrival but on returning to them after golf none of the key cards worked and we had several long walks to reception to sort this out. Our rooms were in the cottages by the lake, a lovely setting.
The food in the main restaurant was ok, the fried eggs at breakfast were cooked in half a centimetre of oil which was very unappetising.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Village" are a walk away from the main hotel building but a lovely setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Have noted your constructive comments for action. Many thanks. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a mini trip to wales, as I had never been to Chepsow and I wanted to see the roman excavations at Caerleon and caerwent.
The hotel is great, as you would expect from a Marriott.
We stay at Marriott because we love the beds. A good nights sleep is almost guaranteed. We were given a room in the lakeside village, which surprisingly has no air conditioning of fan in the bathroom. Consequently if you have a shower the windows in the bedroom steam up and the room smells slightly damp. We noticed this on arrival but opening all the windows and the front door soon made the room fresh.
If you need a dark room to sleep soundly bring a bit of scotch tape and cardboard! The light coming through the glass in the front door is annoying. It took a long time to get to sleep as it was so light in the room.
We had lunch and dinner in Zest. We just wanted a light lunch to get to Chepstow castle and to look around the town. The service was very pleasant and the local lady that served us could not have been more helpful.
Coming back from Chepstow I had a quick dip in the pool and sampled the sauna and steam rooms. very refreshing and not overcrowded. The Gym was busy.

In the evening we were tired and wanted a quick bite before going to bed so we were back in Zest.
Prices are not the cheapest but you are in a very upmarket location.

Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice to satisfy every taste.

One thing I did notice was that most of the customer facing staff were not local. Perhaps it was just in the restaurants and the reception but it is noticeable. All the staff regarding of their nationality are pleasant and knowledgeable.
The receptionist on check out suggested we visit Caldicot Castle a few miles south, on our way to Caerleon. It was a lovely experience. Entry is free, the castle is interesting and they have a nice cafe.
I am not a golfer, but I will be back at the St Pierre for a longer break and to explore the area further.

Room Tip: Check if the room has air conditioning - not all do. Rooms in the Village are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. There's lots more to see locally, so we hope to see you again before too long. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the St Pierre two weeks ago for one night. First impressions of the hotel is really good when you drive through the arch. Check in was quick and easy. We did not have a room in the main hotel however the room was clean comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent.Plenty of choice and freshly prepared eggs of your choice. Fresh fruit and good choice if you require continental breakfast. Grounds were stunning and great place for golfers. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for the fabulous feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope we see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were excellent. Everything worked, very easy and comfortable stay.
The rooms we stayed in were good but just needed bringing up to date. We were there for 2 weeks in a suite with kitchenette and felt really comfortable. Great beds, good gym and pool area, easy parking and access.
Would recommend this place and have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ladderinthebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPierreMarriott, Exec Office at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your extended visit with us. Hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: St Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing