We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Great breakfast, Very friendly, Highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The First Hurdle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great town centre location close to bars and restaurants. Friendly atmosphere and great value,nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and well presented. Will definitely stay here again when I am in Chepstow. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The First Hurdle Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

As the first stop on our Offa's Dyke path we had high expectations for The First Hurdle because the name indicated that it would be suited to walkers. However, the room was cramped and not particularly clean. A very disappointing start.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemloupoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good location and clean comfortable room. Provision for cyclists with storage. No soap or shampoo provided with the shower facilities. Breakfast - shortage of eggs in a B&B with Tesco just down the road, otherwise average .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Enjoyed staying here at the First Hurdle, we were warmly welcomed when we had arrived (although we were two hours late) The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely in the morning. The guesthouse is in the centre of the town (although you'd never know it as it is so quiet in the guestrooms) so all the shops, bars and restaurants are on the doorstep-just perfect for us. Would we stay again-definitely, we've stayed a few times before and this is why we keep coming back! :0)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshinecarlota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you are looking for a plastic, sterile place to stay then this is not the place for you. However if you like staying in older buildings with a bit of character then read on.
The building is at least 150 years old which means the walls are very thick and soundproof. It was only at a pretty decent breakfast on Sunday morning that we found that we were not the only ones staying there.
We are a family with three younger kids and the owner was very considerate in the rooms she gave us, two adjacent rooms where the doors could be left open.
It is a three star establishment and was exactly that in terms of facilities, clean and functional. The location was great for what we wanted, everything in Chepstow town centre just a short walk away, and the stunning Wye valley just a short drive.
Would we go back? Absolutely, this is great value for money and has a lot more atmosphere than your standard chain 'plastic box'

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Nice stay,nice breakfast, nice staff.......says it all really

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great location, great breakfast except no orange juice, nice lady runs it. V good shower in the morning except no shampoos in the room. Lots of TV channels but TV remote not working. Lacks attention to detail but it's still not bad and good value. I would stay there again. Nearly v good.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilkenny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow
#11 of 14 in Chepstow
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Hurdle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Hurdle Guest House

Address: 9/10 Upper Church St, Chepstow NP16 5EX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: £67 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The First Hurdle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Guest House in a modernised and fully refurbished 17th century town house with 12 rooms each with en-suite bathroom. The Guest House is ideally located in the centre of Historic Chepstow at the bottom of the main restaurant and shopping street, and just 2 minutes from the castle and river. All rooms are beautifully decorated and contain HD smart TVs, coffee and tea making facilities. We serve continental and cooked English breakfast buffet so eat to your hearts content. We also house the highly rated Stone Rock Pizzeria which serves Artisan Neapolitan Pizza most evenings of the week. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The First Hurdle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hurdle Chepstow
The First Hurdle Guest House Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing