We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our last hurdle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The First Hurdle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed 15 June 2014

we stayed at the "First Hurdle" on the last night of our week of walking on Offa's Dyke Path. The location was convenient for catching the train back to London, and also for exploring the town. We found a nice place to have supper nearby. The room was very small, and we were awakened during the night by a noisy altercation in the hallway—something that might have happened at any hotel. The room was clean, the staff professional, and the breakfast tasty.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked two single rooms and a twin at The First Hurdle via an online booking agency more than 2 months before our arrival date but cancelled the twin room more than 3 weeks before the day. We booked early to ensure we had rooms to come back to after the Heineken Cup final in Cardiff that evening. Two days before our arrival I telephoned to get advice on where to park and no mention was made about any problem with the booking at that time. On arrival we were told that they had received no booking in my name but nothing had been said during our telephone conversation two days earlier ! The proprietor asked who we had booked the rooms through and she immediately blamed the booking agency for cancelling the whole booking. On showing the email for the revised booking she did a very quick turn around and immediately offered us compensation for her failure. She claimed she had misunderstood the revision and cancelled the entire booking. I am not sure how an experienced hotelier could have done this as the revision email very clearly showed two single rooms along with the revised cost. What reason could she have had to make such a mistake? I'll leave you to decide. In her favour she did offer to try to find us alternative accommodation but was unsuccessful. After the match we were due to meet up with several of our friends who had travelled in from various parts of the U.K and Ireland but had to abandon this plan and leave early for the long drive home. A 460 mile round trip certainly took the shine off what should have been a great weekend. You will have guessed by now that I won't book here again and certainly do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: I can select no other ratings about this place as we only got as far as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

i stayed here for one night and i was not told that there was a building site outside my room.The landlady was very rude and everything seemed too much trouble for her.I had to ask for towels,there werent any.Tiny room you couldnt move it was so small.To add insult to injury i came back in at 1 am having lost my key and was locked out.She didnt let me in so luckily i stayed with a friend.She had major attitude and also when i arrived no one was there i had to go looking for the lady in the kitchen .Avoid this place,unless you want to feel that you are doing the woman a favour staying in her place.I have never stayed in such a dive!The shower didnt work either and the room was cold.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank truthteller88206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I would definitely recommend the bed and breakfast to friends and family and would definitely stay again and was given excellent customer service and food was fantastic the bed was really comfortable and the first hurdle was really close to the town centre which made everything very accessible

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room was very small with barely enough room to open a suitcase.
It did have an old TV but it was very small (to match the room) and the colours were a bit messed up.
Ok if you are only staying one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdRatherBeHiking2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is quite a basic place, more suitable for workmen on jobs rather than romantic couples. But everything you need is there - fairly clean and spacious rooms, breakfast ok. The tv sound was slightly squeaky, which was annoying. The owner was a bit brisk and businesslike, not at all chatty, but all in all it was fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 3 colleagues on a works day and night outing for the welsh grand national 28th december, check-in swift and lots of info given from the lady checking us in and keys to our rooms ready at 10.30am which was a bonus, rooms were abit cold but clean and had all the facilities you need for an overnight stay(however re-using/leaving half empty shower gel and shampoo for the next guests(us) is a tad unprofessional and looks very cheap), breakfast was good and served with a smile and tea/coffee & toast replenished (if I was being picky then the addition of beans and hash brown to your breakfast would be a great service standard)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bingobangobongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel Chepstow
The George Hotel Chepstow
#11 of 14 in Chepstow
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The First Hurdle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The First Hurdle Guest House

Address: 9/10 Upper Church Street, Chepstow NP16 5EX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: £59 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The First Hurdle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Guest House in a modernised and fully refurbished 17th century town house with 12 rooms each with en-suite bathroom. The Guest House is ideally located in the centre of Historic Chepstow at the bottom of the main restaurant and shopping street, and just 2 minutes from the castle and river. All rooms are beautifully decorated and contain HD smart TVs, coffee and tea making facilities. We serve continental and cooked English breakfast buffet so eat to your hearts content. We also house the highly rated Stone Rock Pizzeria which serves Artisan Neapolitan Pizza most evenings of the week. We hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The First Hurdle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hurdle Chepstow
The First Hurdle Guest House Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing