We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place, idiosyncratic and extremely...”
other traveller has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
angussimp...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place, idiosyncratic and extremely comfortable.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It's a unique place in a wonderful setting, almost everything is provided for you and the standard of all the furnishings and fittings is very high. We stayed for our honeymoon and it was exactly what we wanted after the stress of the wedding, totally relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building.
Liked least: Perhaps the shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Getaway!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The Welsh Gatehouse exceeded our expectations! This property has been lovingly and tastefully restored with many thoughtful additions and provides an exceptional retreat, where you can kick back, relax and let the stresses of everyday life go. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property itself
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjt3
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the web descriptions are accurate”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

A great place to stay for holiday. Take notice of advice about narrow steep winding stairs - but what you get when you get there is worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the walks around the area
Liked least: perhaps the ventilation (or lack of) above the bed
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay D
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible.”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Great Service.
Beautiful old property which has been wonderfully brought up to date.
Lovely wood fire - really cosy!
Wonderful get away from everything, just the two of us, but close enough to shops etc.
It was like a 4 day indoor picnic!
It was both sunny which was lovely, and when it downpoured with rain we were so snug on the sofa with a dvd and the fire.
The kitchen was nice and modern and had everything we needed to cook the 5 different types of locally sourced meats we bought.
Magical stay, and I'll be back as soon as I find an excuse!

A perfect place for two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was incredible, beautiful, stunning, lovely.
Liked least: We couldn't connect to the internet but this just enabled us to escape from the world.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki S
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place ever stayed.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was absolutely the best place we have ever stayed. It was unique, comfortable, quiet. The owners are very hospitable. It truly felt like home. I would not recommend this for anyone who has trouble with stairs. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Su H
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A well-appointed historical property from which to explore southern Wales”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

From the time we first walked through the small wooden door into the archway until the time we left, we felt most welcomed (and privileged) to be staying in this historical property. Coming from Australia, we found the Welsh Gatehouse to be a fantastic introduction to Wales.
We looked forward to climbing the stairs each evening as it contributed to the feeling that we were entering our own castle. Stair-climbing was also an opportunity to stretch leg muscles after walking in the Brecon Beacons, Wye Valley and other historic sites in the region!
The property was well appointed and elegantly furnished.
The garden was spectacular and enhanced by birdsong day and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of history and mystery associated with the Gatehouse and the main house with which it is associated.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186346Lou...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

The Welsh Gatehouse is the perfect place to go for a peaceful getaway. We loved our trip and can definitely recommend it. The building itself is incredible, the spiral staircase, log fire and romantic cosy bedroom provide a really relaxing atmosphere. The views from the turret are absolutely incredible. The word unique it could be argued is used to often but this special place certainly is. The owners have left a wealth of information about local attractions and walks, often right from the door. There is a fantastic farm shop selling local produce less than a mile away. This area is certainly not short of castles, Roman ruins, and areas of historic interest; Tintern Abbey is worth a visit. There is also a fantastic book shop in Tintern called Stella's books which has over 50,000 rare and out of print books. A brilliant holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing