We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
fCarey201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Everything about the places was wonderful - the setting, the building outside and in, the views and the surrounding area. It was very comfortable, allowing for the special features such as the spiral staircase and low doorways in places, and extremely atmospheric. Lovely accommodation with very helpful information and guides to hand.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Gatehouse is a great place to stay because it is ideally located for trips out into the local area, whilst also being a peaceful hideaway if you just want to chill out. Clean, comfortable and charming with all modern conveniences, we loved are stay in this magnificent old building.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodgerF12...
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic birthday retreat”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a fabulous place to stay in..
I booked this for a 4-day birthday break and the Gatehouse turned out to be far more romantic, quirky, cozy and thoroughly fabulous place to stay than we ever thought possible
From entering the driveway where the bluebells were in beautiful bloom, the sunlight streamed onto the Gatehouse as we arrived.. the instructions were very clear and as we walked up the stone staircase we were taken aback by the stunning room where we spent 4 fantastic days
Well equipped, easy to live in, quirky dressing and bedrooms and brilliantly appointed.
Can recommend this to anyone wanting a romantic and secluded time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess6...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A spiritual retreat to help put life into perspective.”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This location was so serene and relaxing. The atmosphere allowed us to recharge our batteries whilst allowing our imagination to run wild. Whether solitude or activity is required the Gatehouse provides the opportunity to do whatever takes your fancy. It was beautifully clean and well equipped a pleasure to stay in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_fro...
Turvey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely and atmospheric place to stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We'd been looking for somewhere unique and preferably old for our week in Wales, and we certainly found it in the Welsh Gatehouse – it really is incredibly characterful and amazingly ancient, and we're so glad to have experienced it. Juliet and William have done an amazing job of providing all mod cons and making it totally comfortable without losing any of its atmosphere. They provided a generous welcome basket of food and wine, an unexpected but very welcome bottle of cava on the doorstep on Valentine's Day, a massive quantity of firewood, and copious literature covering everything we might need to know and more. A lovely place owned and run by very nice people, and we highly recommend it :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelB53
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This little gem is a beauty. The break was bought for us as a Christmas present and it was perfect, It was our own cosy little castle for two nights. Loved the accommodation, the Christmas decorations, the welcome pack and the roaring log fire. Spent time in Chepstow and Tintern and went walking on the Welsh Coastal path and the Wye Valley Trail. Lovely meal at The Millers Arms in Mathern. The perfect antidote to the usual stresses of pre-Christmas shopping :)
The Welsh Gatehouse is highly recommended. Please check it out - you won't be disappointed.
From Derek & Amanda Bayliss who stayed here 12-14th December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moanyminn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MAGICAL PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was fabulous. The gatehouse is beautiful and romantic. it is set in a lovely peaceful part of Chepstow. There are great local pubs and walks. We would stay there again in an instant and the basket of goodies which was left for us on arrival was a really good touch - chocolate and wine - a perfect combination. i would recommend this charming place without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: winding stairs and comfortable bed
Liked least: cant think of anything we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thanks.....really appreciate your lovely comments

Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing