We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dream Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Two Rivers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Two Rivers
Ranked #4 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
blackburn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Dream Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we stayed at the Two Rivers 17th/18th Aug 2013, the room was comfortable and had all the amenities that you could want. we ate in the restaurant, and found the food to be good value for money. but the bonus was that the wife could order gluten free.the staff were very helpful. all in all a very enjoyable stay. would go again

Room Tip: have had to tick for swimming and fitness centre but there was none there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank certacitoBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    70
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
85
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Two Rivers is a newly built budget hotel. I think it has replaced an old hotel on the same site, which I have a vague memory of staying in about 20 years ago.

Check in was at the back of the pub next door. I recommend leaving your bags in the car until you have checked in to save yourself dragging them in and out of the pub.

The rooms are on the small side, but the quality was excellent. The furniture was good quality and in perfect condition.

My only gripe might be that if I was staying for work, I would have found the desk a little small.

Unusually for a budget hotel, 2 small bottles of water were provided in the room, which was a nice touch copied from more upmarket hotels.

There is food on site at the adjacent pub, but I can't comment as I didnt eat there. Breakfast is also served in the pub, but I skipped breakfast so again I can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickb414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were visiting Chepstow for a Wedding Party, and stayed 3 nights at "Two Rivers". It has "location, location, location".......in a commanding position on top of a hill on the main A48 Newport Road, just 3-4 mins from the Severn Bridge! It is a "new-build".....part of the Marston's Inns chain, open less than a year. The accommodation lodge (23 rooms) is separate from the Bar/Restaurant building......reception is rather oddly situated next to the main bar.
Rooms were modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Air conditioning was very quiet and double glazing excellent....traffic noise was minimal. Bed was large and very comfortable....hence a good night's sleep was guaranteed! Bathroom was good size and towels were very soft! Tea/coffee facility is provided and Wi-Fi is free.
Breakfast is free.....cereals, juices, yogurts and fresh fruit......cooked breakfast/toast was prepared to order.....ensuring a "good start to the day"!
The bar/restaurant was very popular and busy throughout our stay. The menu is extensive, reasonably priced and generous portions. Food was freshly prepared and delicious. Staff were friendly and attentive giving good service.
Weather was fabulous for our stay so it was good to enjoy a jug of Pimms (£10) outside and "watch the World go by"!
Our stay was "best available rate" at £69.95 per night. We loved Chepstow and would definitely stay at "Two Rivers" again!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and similar in size. Some rooms have disabled facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First impression nice new looking hotel....
Very clean, great room, nice shower and a fab breakfast everything you want for a nice weekend away...
Reception is across the carpark in the Pub which is unusual...
Definitely a places that I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms rest/bar lovely ,the only one thing I could fault was the fact that the reception was through the bar area , where people were eating and it was busy, us not knowing where to go carried our clothes through on hangers (embarrassing) please move your reception !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely clean room but a little on the small side. The bathroom also was very nice, very clean with a powerful shower. The two rivers pub is also great with not over the top prices for food and drink. The only little problem is the reception is located in the pubs bar area which means going into the busy pub/bar area to check in, not ideal. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. Overall very good.

Room Tip: Its a newish place so all the room are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and on arrival the staff were very friendly and informative, as were the cleaning staff in the mornings. The room was lovely and the layout is very much like The Premier Inn's, which I use quite a lot. Very clean, tidy, comfortable and being next to a pub it was remarkably very quiet. It was excellent value for money. Did not use the pub in the evening for a meal but the breakfast was lovely and nicely cooked. It was so nice, we stayed here again for one night the following week and this time we did use the pub in the evening for a meal. That too was nicely cooked, so overall I would not hesitate in recommending The Two Rivers to anyone and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
0.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.7 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Rivers

Property: Two Rivers
Address: The Two Rivers Newport Road, Chepstow NP16 5PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Two Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Rivers Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing