We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and well run”
Review of Two Rivers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Two Rivers
Ranked #3 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and well run”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night on a family cycling holiday, the hotel was lovely, they were able to accommodate our bikes. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was nice. Only criticism is they do not do vege sausages for breakfast.

Service with a smile, and clean quiet rooms.

Room Tip: near the back of the hotel on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    75
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
91
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a brand new Marstons hotel with restaurant/pub attached. Everything is immaculate as you would expect from a new building, and rooms (in separate block to restaurant/pub) whilst not luxurious, are functional and good. Next to busy road but noise insulation so good with window closed you don't get any traffic noise whatsoever. Efficient aircon/heating in rooms. Even a good shower, which is one thing we often struggle to find!

Food in restaurant is standard 'chain pub' fayre but good and plenty of it. (Book the hotel online and you get 20% discount on food.) Good range of well-kept beers. Breakfast, included in room price which is unusual for this sort of hotel, is cooked freshly, but maybe not a lot of choice if you only want continental breakfast. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful, as are all people we met in Chepstow.

Chepstow, a really nice old town, is a 10-minute walk (downhill) from the hotel. Lots of pubs (including a Wetherspoon) and a couple by the river where you can sit outside in the evening. Cardiff is worth a visit (Cardiff Bay is excellent) and is around £12 return on the train from Chepstow and takes about 20 minutes, so no point driving.

Looking at other options to stay in Chepstow, you won't be disappointed with Two Rivers.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Second time of eating here as it's very local to us! First time was ok bit very slow rude service this time my food was totally tasteless and my husbands pork chops were raw! This place should not be aloud to serve food

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very nice and modern room. Tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable bed, good size bathroom and shower.
Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, good choice, quick service and not expensive.
Breakfast was really nice, full English.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Loads of parking places.
A really nice stay, can't fault anything.
I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvwinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me & my husband have just spent 2 nights at the Two Rivers & the room was so clean, modern & had everything we needed. Excellent!! We had breakfast in the pub attached to the hotel again 1st class service & food really lovely. We also ate there on our 1st evening - food really lovely & staff 1st class!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 overlooking the pub & we didn't hear any noises at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the Two Rivers back in November last year whilst visiting my parents who live up in Lydney. Whilst this is a pub chain restaurant you should not be put off in the slightest - the food is well prepared, tasty and good value for money. The steak I had was cooked perfectly and given the price, exceptionally good quality. The beer is well looked after and the staff attentive to your needs from the moment you arrive.

Topping it off, the prices are excellent, meaning you can go out, feel as if you have really indulged, and not break the bank.

Our son was such a fan that he convinced my parents to once again take him there this weekend whilst he was staying there - highly recommended if you're looking for food in the local area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Friends were staying there so we telephoned at short notice and they had a room
When we arrived checking was quick. The rooms are in a separate block to the pub and are of good standard. Large bed and good bathroom with good shower. Tea, coffee etc
The restaurant was busy but we found and a table. The waitress was excellent and the food very good at reasonable prices

Room Tip: Marston's pub with good beer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.6 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Rivers

Property: Two Rivers
Address: The Two Rivers Newport Road, Chepstow NP16 5PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Two Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Rivers Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing