We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakgrove Cottage

A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Relaxation with views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
A rare rural retreat to absorb local wildlife and walks
Relaxation with views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect stay in a loverly cottage. Gina and Paul were very helpful. Wildlife was brilliant plenty
Of bird life and the high light was badgers every night. Could not have asked for anything more. Lots to do in the area Tintern Abbey well worth a visit. The Forest of Dean plenty to do
and see.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You want quiet ? This is quiet !”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival. We found the cottage to be clean and comfortable.
Whilst having lunch on the patio, we just wanted to sit for hours and enjoy the surroundings, and the birds. This cottage is tucked away and truly peaceful. Our thoughts on arrival - this is just great ! Our thoughts on departure- we would like to return !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
We're delighted you appreciate the unique qualities of our rural retreat and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postladyH...
harlow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect and Tranquil”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our 2nd stay at this lovely cottage.Its so peaceful with beautiful views and its very private and secluded.Beautiful walks locally and in the lovely Brecon Beacons.Many castles to visit,museums and lots of lovely towns as well.A week is never long enough and we would love to stay again.Love watching the birds in the garden and the Badgers of course.Its like being in another world and its a place that I would love to live as its just perfect in every way.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: The lanes leading to the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing