We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of Restaurant”
Review of Castle View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle View
Ranked #6 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

People please wake up to the fact that this is the best place to eat in Chepstow. I have never been disappointed here. Visited early August for a birthday celebration. Not the cheapest place, if your budget is limited, but is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Live locally, so do not need to stay, just go for the good food. Stayed many years ago (25 or more...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Castle View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I could not recommend a stay here. Firstly the room was damp and so dated and didn't smell too good. Secondly the breakfast was the worst I have ever had from a hotel/bnb, the bacon tasted like fish urgh! Very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely dog friendly hotel, staff all very pleasant and the food is lovely, i can highly recommend the Roast Beef and you get proper bacon for breakfast! and if you like Rod Stewart you will love this hotel he sings there morning noon and night! Thanks guys x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 it was lovely
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice hotel and very welcoming staff. My only complaints would be that the shower in my room had very poor water pressure and that the full english breakfast wasn't as full as I've received in other hotels.

Room Tip: "Rooms at the front of the property are quite noisy"
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeleneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lovely hotel staff, very good breakfast, friendly atmoshere. My extended family stayed here for 3 nights in 4 rooms and they loved it. They used the bar and had breakfast in the morning and can't talk about the staff highly enough. Rooms were cosy and clean. Late evening when we arrived and the kitchen was already closed, they organised some sandwiches for my little cousins who were hungry- excellent service.
We will be definately back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kata1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely welcome. Amazing old hotel with creaking Tudoresque stairs. Loved it. We had the lovely Garden room which has a bed settee in a separate part. Nice lounge which was quiet and relaxing. The evening meal was well cooked - everyone enjoyed the filet steak and the Moroccan Chicken was tasty. I have had better Pavlova, cheese very good and the cheese cakes were lovely. Wine ( Merlot and Pouilly fume) good at £20 and £26 a bottle. Breakfast buffet style with hot food cooked to order. Lovely bread. Walnut loaf especially. Parking is in the carpark opposite at 80p for the first hour and ££3.50 all day Mon to Sat 9am - 5pm. Location at the bottom of the town within a few hundred yeards of the castle, river and tourist information centre. We had a lovely time. Everyone very pleasant and eager to help. Even Lily the dog kept us entertained one evening begging for gin and tonic. Thanks Michael and team.

Room Tip: We used booking .com to book and it was a bit confusing. The hotel thought they were full and bookin...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had to make a last minute trip to Chepstow and came across this hotel. The person who checked me in was very friendly. The room was small but very nice. The only small issue I had was that because of the location of the room, the bathroom roof was sloped so it was more difficult to stand up in the bath for a shower. Other than that, the room itself was spotless and warm.

The staff themselves were very helpful as I had asked for a scissors and they went off to find one which they eventually located. Due to the small number of guests it did feel they 'trusted' me and so getting drinks, food and adding it to the bill was very simple and avoided the usual signing for things that you have to do in a bigger hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeMcDermottroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.1 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
2.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Tuns Chepstow
Three Tuns Chepstow
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.8 Accommodation
No.8 Accommodation
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Chepstow NP16 5EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established 1648 This Ivy Clad Coaching Inn sits directly opposite Britains Oldest Stone-Built Castle. Chepstow, a small border town resting next to the River Wye is a Must Visit destination if History, Horse Racing, Cycling, Walking or Live Music are amongst your interests. The Town boasts a variety of Drinking & Eating Venues and if your Staying the Weekend Our Sunday Roasts are not to be missed! 14 En-Suite Bedrooms share features of the Original Building 'Woodfield House'. Inlcuding Wall Murals and Exposed Oak Beams, unrivalled Castle Views & A Hand-Turned Oak stairwell that spirals you crookedly to the second floor or walk through our Listed Stain Glass Door and discover our secluded garden ablaze with colour during the summer, our tranquil fountain and pond, and our marquee Perfect for Drinks on a Summers Evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castle View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing