We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
other traveller has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dellala
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this guesthouse more. This country house has modern comforts combined with the feel of an orginal georgian home (although there will be no wind whistling through any windows!).. ..the bathroom is equipped with a fantastic powershower and bed was so comfy.. the house was warm and comfortable and the living areas were furnished beautifully. Breakfast was delicious, and was even given a choice of newspapers! I think what made the stay all the more sweet was that I paid just 60eur for a single room.. I was there for a wedding at Kilshane and other "solo travellers" stayed at Kilshane where they paid €110 (payable in advance!) and the comfort levels did not come close from what I could gather.

If you interested in walking/hiking, beautiful hills are just minutes away .. I did not know there was such lush rolling hills in this part of the world.. I think it might be renowned for hiking as I saw some brochures at Rathellen house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bizzyb33
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 28 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

had such a lovely wk end here! me and my boyfriend decided we were sick of the normal city breaks in Ireland and decided to have a bit of an activity wk end in the countryside! Rathellen house is fab our room had a gorgeous view of the Galtee mountains. We had a jacuzzi bath in our bedroom! HUGE BED slept sold for 12 hours! we had dinner both nights in Rathellen house and it was just gorgeous good quality food, in a really relaxed atmosphere! there was a lovely living room with open fire where we sat afterwards drinking wine! The breakfast was gorgeous as well; freshly cooked with great quality food again. Theres a lovely local pub down the road which is run by a lovely woman. Theres lots to do in the area, we did some walks in the Glen of Aherlow,(the maps were provided in Rathellen house) we also did mountain biking in Balhoura Mountains (approx 45 mins away). It was great to come back and relaz in the jacuzzi!! We came back from the wkend totally relaxed. Would defo recommend the place, the service and food we got was really excellent and doesn't compare to any hotel breaks we've been on before in Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebHook
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Manor House perfection”
Reviewed 18 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us booked the entire house (yes, with reviewer below) over NYE and could not have picked a better place! The venue has all the mod cons with the charm of the old world. You couldn't fault the place.... but more than that Stella & Eamonn make your stay a dream, without feeling like they're hanging around - the house is definitely your own. It's the extra touches like scones on arrival, checking in advance what bed configurations we'd like, loads of lovely furniture and tea sets etc that make organising the trip so smooth and ultimately exceeded our (high) expectations.

I would defintely recommend the catered option. We couldn't have done it for the same price ourselves, and it was so luxurious not to have to divvy up chores or get up in the morning and cook breakie for 14!

Easy to book, easy to find, easy to enjoy, hard to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantham...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Destination for a Friend's Getaway”
Reviewed 6 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Rathellen over the New Year Holiday in 2010 for 3 days & nights. There was 14 of us in all. We hired out both Rathellen House (sleeping 12) and Cooper's Cottage (a smaller property on the grounds sleeping up to 6). We had SUCH an amazing time and have already provisionally booked it again for next year! The beauty of our stay was that we booked on a partly catered, partly self-catered basis. Stella & Eamonn kindly made us breakfast on each of the three mornings - and what a breakfast it was! Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit juice, home made scones, full Irish breakfast, tea, coffee, morning newspapers - everything you could wish for! They also cooked us a gala dinner on New Year's Eve - it was a gorgeous, 4 course country style dinner and was just a perfect way to start New Year's Eve. We were under no pressure to cook or be in any way organised - we just sat back and enjoyed a mulled wine reception followed by wonderful dinner. Perfection! On the other two evening,s we cooked for ourselves - Rathellen has a commercial kitchen that any foodie would swoon at and it made cooking for 14 people an absolute dream. Rathellen House has everything you could wish for, idyllic surroundings, plush accommodation, space, nature, marvellous hosts in Stella & Eamonn and the option of a catered or self-catered holiday or even a little bit of both as we did. We'd highly recommend Rathellen House for a group getaway be it a mini break or special occasion! We can't wait to go back....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themccart...
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning house with superb service!”
Reviewed 15 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

I can't say enough about how much I LOVE Rathellen House! I searched high and low, making many contacts before I (luckily) stumbled upon Rathellen House. After seeing the beautiful pictures and making contact with the owners, I knew this was the place for our destination wedding and family vacation. We stayed at Rathellen House for one week on a self-catering basis and also rented Cooper's Cottage, which is just down the driveway from the main house. The owners, Stella and Eamonn are two of the kindest people you will ever meet and are amazing hosts! They have created a blissful retreat in the beautiful Irish countryside. Stella and her daughter greeted us with homemade biscuits & jam, and piping hot coffee & tea upon our arrival. Stella showed us around the house after we settled in and did a wonderful job at making us feel right at home. The family lives in a separate house at the back of the main house, and Stella was always quite helpful with whatever we needed. We enjoyed the simplest things about our stay, walking with Murphy, their black lab and sitting in front of the fire. We also did lots of traveling about before the wedding, and Rathellen house is in a perfect location to use it as your home base while traveling around Ireland. A major reason we settled on Rathellen House was for our wedding. We married in the drawing room surrounded by our family and close friends. Eamonn made the most delicious food for our wedding reception and we haven't stopped raving about it since. Eamonn also went out of his way to purchase flowers for our wedding while he was in Dublin, and to top it all off he made gorgeous arrangements for our special day. Everything about our wedding day was wonderful and completely stress free thanks to Stella and Eamonn! Beyond the amazing hospitality, you will find yourself in a gorgeous setting with very comfortable beds and the cutest country house you will find in Ireland. Rathellen House is top notch and I can't wait to go back! Check it out, I assure you that you will not be disappointed one bit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoppingHi...
York Harbor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grace, elegance & comfort abound - in the foothills of the Galtee Mountains”
Reviewed 8 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed one week at Rathellen House and had a fabulous time. The house is set in the beautiful foothills of the Glen of Aherlow & the Galtee Mountains and we enjoyed many walks/hikes near Christ the King and through sheep-studded fields up to Lake Muskrie.
The home is beautifully decorated and very comfortable - down comforters and pillows on all beds - and a fantastic kitchen to prepare fun family meals. Our hosts couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating - so hospitable and welcoming.
From Rathellen House in Bansha, we planned daily excursions to Cashel, Kilkenny, Limerick, Lismore and Kinsale...and when we weren't traveling we enjoyed all of the baronial lawns and gardens that Rathellen House has to offer. A magical experience for the 12 members of our extended family - highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartys
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Rathellen is a perfect setting for a family reunion or celebration.”
Reviewed 6 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Although it generally operates as a bed and breakfast accommodation, my extended family of thirteen engaged Rathellen House as a vacation rental for a week in June, 2010. It was all we expected and so much more. We all enjoyed the comfortable elegance of the house and its amenities, and the children particularly enjoyed the ranging, well-kept lawns where they had their own Rathellen Cup games. Our gracious and genial hosts, Stella and Eamon Long, have seen to every detail, and made their beautiful home a welcoming "home away" for their guests. We had arranged a catered dinner for the beginning and end of our stay (Eamon is a Ballymoe trained chef) and each was outstanding! The house is an easy driving distance from destinations all over the south of Ireland, but one of the most breathtaking sights is in Rathellen House's own "back yard," the Glen of Aherlow.
Many thanks to the Longs for facilitating an extraordinary holiday experience, and our appreciation for their dog Murphy who tolerated all kinds of attention from the Harty grandkids.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;